Climate change and the Ice Age: The perspective of Nyamgondho wuod Kombare backed by facts

We already know that the earth is currently in the quaternary glaciation period or what people call the “Ice age” a term that has been butchered by that Hollywood movie. A glaciation period has alternating glacial (Baridi na barafu) and interglacial (joto) periods. The last glacial period in this current ice age ended about 11,000 years ago. That glacial period had lasted over 100,000 years. The ice-age movie mostly refers to that glacial period (usiconfuse na glaciation period). We have been enjoying the Holocene epoch-an interglacial period (kumbuka joto)-which is unfortunately coming to an end. Naturally, we should be swiftly moving to a glacial period.

But Nyamgondho why should we continue reading this crap?

Well, because it explains climate change in your country and why the weather man keeps giving you some shocking news every new season. You see the earth has been warming up due to anthropogenic activity which has been evidenced by the melting of the Antarctica/Greenland ice sheets at a rapid pace. However, snowfall has also been increasing over time at the Antarctica; na pia hapa Kenya we’ve had our short lived experience with snow. Moving forward we might be getting regular snow in some regions here in kenya as the earth attempts to enter a new glacial period which has been held back by global warming. Lakini kusema ukweli, in the end, no one can stop raggae!

Volatile climate

The earth enters a glacial period when it’s axis tilts further than normal and when eccentricity happens (Earths orbit changes from a perfect circle to some sort of an oval shape) leading to accumulation of Ice on land. During the last glacial period the entire North America and Canada were covered with Ice as well as parts of Europe, South America and Canada for thousands of years.

If we continue to warm our planet which is akin to fighting with nature from imposing the next glacial period on us, then we should make do with volatile weather. Floods, tsunamis, cyclones etc.

We have been enjoying stable weather for a long time now. In 1910 CO2 levels were approx 300ppm (Hii inamaanisha ungechukua 1 million parts of the atmosphere 300 of them would be carbon dioxide) but today we are close to 450ppm. which is a very rapid increase. Tukiendelea hivi tutafika the mesozoic period when the lowest temperatures on earth were around 10 degrees Celsius and therefore no Ice sheets; joto kila mahali.

Hanyway, najua utakufa kabla hizi vitu zote hazijafanyika lakini omba tu isikuwe juu ya floods pare thika road. It’s good to understand your world though.

The only snow that has ever fallen in Kenya iko mt Kenya. Learn to differentiate btn snow and hail. Ata ile iko mt Kenya ime melt karibu yote.

11,000 years ago is a critical period, many environmental disasters happened around this time. Archeologist around the globe confirm there was also a major flood, recorded in the narrative of most cultures.

The events were unlikely to have been caused by human activities. The Egyptians and Sumerians have recorded a detailed account of something happening in the sky’s above.
Around, the same period the axis of the earth changed, tilted over, perhaps due the influence of high gravitational force.

The scriptures have mentioned that we be wise, keeping our eyes on watch in the heaven’s. Whatever happens or comes up there has consequences down below. The greater the climate change down below/Earth the closer the event draws near.

tunataka mvua…porojo na warogi hatutaki

Wewe ata unaelewa what is being discussed? The 11,000 year flood has nothing to do with the current global warming which has been largely due to human activity starting with the European industrial revolution.

AccuWeatherchieth inasema from monday iko possibility ya thunderstorms
[ATTACH=full]234522[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]234520[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]234523[/ATTACH]

Na vile kumenyesha huku! The whole week has been nothing but heavy downpour. The grass and the trees are green, the icy rivers have melted and just flowing with abundance of water. The whole time I’ve been wishing the same thing was happening in Kenya. Anyway, people have really prayed and fasted this Easter. It shall rain.

That what we need ! Positive hopes

Niko huku gichofo nakuru county , heading to kihingo, oooooooh how wish it rains . Nikumbaya ! Pray for us mami

It appears you have not grasped what I have tried to say.
There was a mini ice age in the 14th century, which resulted in famine, hunger and the death of millions. A generation and the Black death arrived. These events had nothing to do with human industrial activity, but external activity. The sahara was once with green vegetation, much of it turned very hot into a desert many years after 11,000 years -some of the great rivers change route in a big way.

Previously unseen changes on activities on some of the planet’s above earth and solar activity have been documented. There is no industrial activity that is currently known taking place up there, but scientist are already puzzled.

All I can say is that Earth’s climate seems to go in cycles. Whether its heading into a warm period or a cold period is debatable though. the icecaps could be the remnants of a very cold period or a introduction to an icy period. the continuous explosion of human population for the last 10000 years is also telling. Also the idea that we can hold climate at standstill is stupid. if we cant make the sahara rain and grow trees then this other idea of stopping or accelerating warming is a stupid selfish idea. humans are not a permanent feature here. tunapita tu.

Yes it will rain soon. Even here we noticed the spring season was a bit delayed than usual.

There was no mini Ice Age. We are still in the Ice Age and that event is part of the cyclical climate change that happens in nature. Scientists have accounted for that. The Sahara dried up because of a similar natural event. What is happening now can’t be accounted for by natural predictable causes.

Nimefika hapo kwa anthropogenic activity… hio ingine washana nae

I know the South Pole has remnants of petrified forests an indicator of a tropical past, so it must mean that our planet undergoes changes without the influence or interference of man and by the way what do we add or remove from our planet?

Does it make a difference? All are forms of precipitation. snow, sleet and hail are frozen. What matters is if they melt rapidly or stay frozen on the ground. In Kenya this isn’t usual.

Of course it makes a difference, the conditions that lead to snow are completely different from those that lead to hail. You can’t just brush them off for your convenience.

And which are those please Mr Mediocre? Educate me a little if you have the time please. And would you mind letting me know how that changes this discussion on climate change sir?

Hakuna miti ya kujikanga jua

Why would I educate you when you have Google. It changes because climate change will not cause snow to fall in the equator (outside the mountains), where hail regularly does.