Come back

Remember my Hekaya on being conned of my lifetime investments ? Well it looks like fate had plans to make me really taste the waves of my twenties. Nisiakiange tu stories. It seems like it is by coincidence that I am making a come back as I leave my 20s. This time I will be wiser. All I need to tell aspiring business men and women, take it slow always. Never push limits, with time, everything that was meant to be will be. If an opportunity presents itself and you aren’t ready, let it pass. DO NOT borrow money to invest in new business. Hata ukikunywa maji mtoni, yasiyo yako hukupita tu and yet you always have your fill.
I had this very dear friend, a senior at NYS.You get where this is headed, right ? I secured two tenders to supply rice and beans. I had stated in a previous hekaya that I sell rice in wholesale.
Long story short, since I didn’t have enough to supply 15k recruits with each 100gms of rice daily and 60gms of beans for each meal, I also secured an LPO. Things couldn’t look better. But fear thee the calm before the storm. We had to begin supplying on monday. And I knew owing to my closeness to the who is who, my payments would be prompt. Hell, I was even looking down at those who call section 58 a high end estate. I would be buying a villa in Milimani Nakuru within the year.
Monday morning, I loaded one FH lorry with 200bags of rice and 100 of beans. What does failure look like ? I would look out the windows and wonder why people don’t see opportunities and grab them. Those morons !
Kufika kwa gate wadau, we wouldn’t be let in. It was an executive order… I called my friend, ni sheria kutoka Nairobi. Someone had supplied a 5 year ration in trailers on sunday, the previous day. It is government policy that procurement doesn’t happen during weekends, but this someone made the director general call personally, and the officer who had refused to open the gate transfered to Samburu, or so I heard. Kitu cha kushangaza, ni eti aliyeleta hizo bidha alilipwa a total of 700million… My friend, was actually dumbfounded at the temerity of the said senior goverment official to not only bring excess goods, but also to influence prompt payment of such magnitude. We, as traders tried carrying out protests even to the DP’s office, all ge did was promise to look into the matter. These guys can be convincing, I was double sure hiyo biashara tungerudishiwa. Fuck him.
Needless to say, I had to seek a way of disposing the merchandise even if it was at a loss to cover for most of the loan and other costs…
Good news is that till today, supplies going back as far as 2013 have not been paid for. I find solace in thinking maybe I would have been one of the victims. Thank goodness…
This time, I know better, nitapanda polepole…

why are you jeopardizing their careers by being this specific?

They did nothing wrong.

Edited, on second thought

ted

I know the Somali guy who was supplying cereals to NYS, he was a personal friend to the DG. You were lucky.

Hii inaitwa Kenya. Unaenda KNH ukiwa na homa unajikuta umepelekwa theatre kufanyiwa operation ya mguu, operation inakuwa na shida unakufa!

hehe pole mzae!!

huyo diye alilipwa pesa ikaisha.

Let me stick to my salary. What I have lost in these side hustles is way much more than I have gained. And still paying interests on them…

yaani you are still around!

Sasa Jennifer sweetie. Hiyo h**a yako iko on point!

Who isnt supposed to be here?

You are lurking na hujatuletea hekaya in a while!

Which beans were those? Wairimu ama nyayo

Kuna beans za nyayo ? Anyway they were Wairimu

wairimu ya UG ama moyale

Thiî ûgakue.

I was about to say the same thing

How I hate corruption.

Yako ni yako