COME ONE COME ALL - CHAPO TIME

Folk, I am very tired of Kenyan politics, tired of lying BoJo over here and the circus that is Brexit, tired of being on the edge each time Chelsea is playing, tired tired tired:(. So I have decided to cook chapos for the household and stew ~(more of this later) once I establish Okiya is not in the building. I despise chapos and normally order them from a young Kenyan couple that is doing a roaring business around here but sometimes the leader of the household requests that I make them myself:mad:

Ingredients I use:
Flour white, brown whichever you prefer.
Eggs
Cooking oil, I use olive oil
Salt
Warm water

-Mix the flour, eggs, add the warm water by estimation and knead the dough by hand. I cannot tell you how many cups of flour or water to use as this largely depends on how many chapos you aim to make. So use your judgement. I knead the dough by hand, easier than using electronic gadgets, add some oil and keep going until it is all done into a big round ball that does not get stuck to the bowl. One thing I know for sure chapo cooking needs you to use your judgement.
-I then cover it with a duster and leave it for some hours.
-I then roll out the dough and cut it into some smaller balls (no pun intended).
-Then using a rolling pin roll out the smaller balls into round shapes.
-I use a proper heavy rugio (pan) imported from gikosh, so put the rolled chapos on it and keep turning, turn and add some oil, again use your judgement as go easy on oil.

• I normally make about 20 but you can make as few as 3. It is simple but annoying to slave by the oven for something you do not enjoy e
  • Serve hot with the accompaniment of your choice. Stew Njeri, Ndengus, beans and potatoes etcet…all best served with meat of your choice.
  • Today is footie mecca so I am distracted. BRB for part 2. In the meantime, I have a you tube clip for you to follow from my Okuyo sista. Enjoy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyzEs1mI_sM

Chapati + ndengu is my favourite, although I don’t cook them.

Never used eggs in Chapatis too…hmmmm

chapati nikipika alafu nikate piece zinatoa sauti .

Have you ever added mashed pumpkin into the chapo mix? Utapenda! It changes the taste dynamics into something amazing and the orange color becomes very appetizing to the eyes.

I would like to try this recipe. I love pumpkins.

Hakuna mbisha, your cooking words

@Mrs Shosho do not pull a @Gio on us…

Sema tu nikuletee chapo uwachie Insha kubwa

How do you make it round, I once tried years ago, and it resulted to a 7cornered chapo akin to kobole ya moi.

I have not tried that yet but I will sometime soon. Ate some in Kenya and they are v tasty too. I avoid making chapos as much as I can.

I already explained kitambo mbisha situmi mimi kwa sasa. I don’t know how to edit private data and I could trip bigtime. Besides follow the recipe…when I ask my friends for recipes i.e Jollof rice…they email it without mbishas and Ifuata. I already know how it looks like but it is the art of pulling it off that is exciting…

The written words are my own…nimeleta video kutoka Utube…

Told you BOJO is a BAFOON (akin to trump) even before he became PM. I don’t why the brits hate Corbyn but he’s your best bet on matters brexit.

Kikikikiki…this is a skill you hone as you go along. Secret is in how you use your rolling pin. Watch the video clip. She demonstrates how it is done.

We knew that …BoJo was our best bet then in matters BREXIT as he is not intimidated kule Brussels…but it is all systems go as in kicking him out. Corbyn is a creep. He still won’t say if he is a REMAINER or a LEAVER…hence our fatigue.

Thenks. I don’t really enjoy them myself but circumstances beyond my control forces me to make them. But leta tuu uki-come.:smiley:

@Mrs Shosho Kama hakuna picha then these are just imaginations.

Oki. Mbisha za kwangu siweki saa hii. I would rather not post at all. Follow the recipe. A pikcha will not help you cook. Following a recipe will yield results.

Picha za kwako? Kwani ukipika Chapo unazi frame una hang kwa ukuta?