Common Sense Up North

“I don’t agree with Raila on demonstrations. Don’t protest. Just sit at home. If we demonstrate police will shoot you and we will destroy the little investment we have in our growing town of Lodwar,” said the MP.

-Gov. Nanok of Turkana

http://www.nation.co.ke/counties/turkana/Nanok-No-demos--Lodwar-poll-day/1183330-4148926-vaeh1bz/index.html

Uh huh. Today he is on your right side. Only question is, in terms of crisis, where are the parliamentarians? Or do they only hold emergency meetings to discuss pay raises? The country is at a critical time gdamn. There is room to fill everyone(within the constitution) even with 5 days to go. Playing hardline positions has never resolved any issue.

Your remarks are always so tangential. No need to respond if you cannot stay in course. Playing soft to bullies does not also resolve issues, because they will always demand more.

How can a bully be a little man? Minority?

i asked yesterday what the agenda of such dialogue would be but no one is ready to give me an answer. i posit that any dialogue should involve all adult kenyans - at the ballot as the Constitution says.

Hiyo hutapata answers, what can they talk about when you have irreducible minimum demands and the same have elections law amendments that they boycotted. Tukutane kwa debe

I am for the constitution. But for example Murkormen in the interview with Larry Madowo said Jubilee did not oppose removing any IEBC official. NASA is demanding someone step aside. Can a middle ground be found? After all, the two are the major players in the match and both have to trust the referee.

Isn’t it morally wrong for a lynch mob to profile people and demand their hanging yet the arbitrator (The SCoK) said it did not find anyone personally culpable for the illegalities? just supposing JP agreed to the removal of the identified people; wouldn’t that be interference with the independence of the IEBC?

What crisis are u talking about? RAT withdrawing without signing the prescribed forms? What is IEBC supposed to do? Is it RAT who was ordered by SCoK to conduct elections within 60 days? Who is playing hard line position? The one who is saying election will go on as scheduled or the one who has ‘withdrawn’ and still threatens violence on the citizens who will vote?

JP could do it in conjunction with the IEBC and NASA. An agreement can be made by all 3. Not everyone will get pleasure but a discomforting solution can be found. And the IEBC officials can simply stand aside for a few days. They do not have to quit or be sent home. Just for the sake of sanity in the country. No official is bigger than the country itself.

Funny thing with these guys is that they see their side as innocent. To them it’s the JP that’s playing hardball and threatening Kenya with violence. Hadi mtu unashangaa

RAT did not withdraw from what I understand. By hard line positions I mean changing election laws in times of crisis, stating only the majority vote ( and voice) matters and counts.

you are reminding me of the school yard, and being robbed of my lunchbox by a bully. it was not a nice experience when i ceded it but i was inexperienced and fearful. not again.

RAT has always been given special treatment like a spoilt child who need to be indulged else he erupts. If it was anyone else behaving this way, the only question on people’s mouths would be life sentence or the hangman. Time he was told he is not the owner of Kenya. No to minority tyranny

In a democracy the minority have their say and majority their way. In an election, the majority vote MATTERS and COUNTS! Wewe ulikua unatakaje? Minority to have their way?

How about dialogue? Yeah, majority rule is important. But that doesn’t mean stamping authority on the minority. Especially in a situation where consensus can be reached. Everyone can be left happy even with 5 days to go. A precarious middle ground can be reached by the three players.

Dialogue ya nini? Who started the prosecution of IEBC pers without evidence? Who was going against the SC directive? Isn’t the IEBC an independent body yet kuna mtu anawapea unrealistic conditions? Wewe stop trolling

You cannot use threats of violence to blackmail a whole nation into dialogue

There is no stamping of authority, there is following of the constitution and a court order.

Wacha tuone ujeuri itawafikisha wapi ,who will be on the wrong side of the law by attacking the rights of citizens to vote

You will not see nasa leaders on the streets on that day but many of thier blind supporters will be dealt with mercilessly, not by jubilee supporters but by state security.

M asking dialogue about what? The IEBC were ordered to conduct an election within 60days…there were no orders to JP or NASA. If IEBC think they can’t act as ordered, it is their duty to run to the SCoK who gave orders and request for more time.
Hii maneno ya eti oh Ouru should meet with TMT and negotiate ni upusu! Again I ask, what negotiations? Who is getting married?

I have also wondered what the agenda in the dialogue would entail. Those calling for a boycott want to dialogue with the ones who don’t have any demands.