Con artists tricks and hotspots in Nairobi. These buggers seem to swarm near me.

I just encountered another con artist after meeting another one yesterday. They usually hang around 2 places.

1. Bus Station. If you sit on those seats in the bus station at Afya center for about 20 minutes, they show up. They come at you with a Lotto card and a phone. They claim that they have won on Lotto. They usually pretend to be looking for the building right behind you. Then they want you to talk to the Lotto guy while far away from the people around so that to hide the fact that they just won on Lotto. If you follow them to the Kichorochoro nearby, you will be fucked over and robbed off everything.
    If you agree to let them hold your phone for you so that you don’t call your friends to come and steal from them with the promise of that they will give you some money after they pick it up: you deserve them stealing the phone from you.

1b. A man comes and sits beside you. They strike a conversation. Small talk. They are usually holding a bag. They pretend to talk to someone on the phone never mind that the phones screen never lights up and you can’t hear a voice on the other side of the phone. They are talking about the person not coming for his possessions, the bag. Apparently, it is filled with money. The man is angry. He has been apparently waiting for 3 hours for this other guy. He opens the bag a tiny bit, and lo and behold! It is filled with money (actually not, it’s just 3 50’s and newspapers). He makes a suggestion. You could follow him to deliver this money and he will give you 3K. No, 5K. Ngeta in dodgy streets ensue. Your phone and money forcibly disappear.

1. University highway, UoN. You are carrying a bag. A man picks up a package off the ground. They make a show of what they just picked. You look. It’s an envelope filled with money(actually 50 and newspapers). They tell you that the old man in a suit in front of you dropped it. They tell you how they don’t have money since Helb hasn’t been disbursed . Coincidentally, yours hasn’t been disbursed too. You are a good person. You tell them that they should return the money as it might be school fees. You convince him to. You both walk to the old man. You ask him if he lost something. He makes a show of looking for it. He then exclaims that he has lost an envelope. He is scared. On the the verge of tears. The man gives him the envelope. He is elated. He decides to gift both of you out of kindness. Especially you since you convinced that person to return the money. The reward will happen near Huduma center. Ngeta and clobbering will ensue . Or he will hand you the envelope and you will hand him your phone. You will then walk into the Huduma toilets to get your 3K from the envelope while he waits at the door holding your phone to ensure you don’t call your thief friends on him. Either way, your phone is gone.

I don’t know how gullible I look, but these fuckers keep approaching me. I must look either very innocent or straight from Ushago. Or both. 2 in a week. Both times I pretend to call people on them and they bolt off.

“Ngeta and clobbering will ensue”
:D:D:D:D:D:eek:
@Motokubwa and the gang mmemulikwa

Just like pata potea, these are Vasco da Gama-era “tricks”. Anyone who falls for them deserves to be conned.

[SIZE=4]someone tried that trick of dropping an envelope.

step1 - drop the envelope as he crossed the road
step2 - guy comes and picks it up and tells me the way that guy has dropped an envelope
step3 - i tell him mpelekee… but he seems hesitant and starts saying hajui kuna nini ndani
step4 - i slow down my pace so that he can walk ahead. he slows down and i tell him take the envelope. still hesistant
step5 - i call out “boss!” the dropper anageuka and i flag him down. he slows down and i tell him “huyu ako na kitu yako amesema umeangusha”
step6 - they remain behind with the older man (dropper) saying asante
step7 - i walk ahead, and somewhere i wait for the lights to turn red ndio nivuke. guess who shows up?
step8 - the dropper begins to tell me asante, vile nimemsave, envelope iko na pesa ya county ya campaign … the lights turn red and i cross. he crosses as well
step9 - i tell him wazi at least sasa uko sawa. he says vile ule mtu alichukua ni mwizi na alikuwa anaenda kumpea kidogo lakini aligundua hana nia nzuri
step10 - he offers me at least kakitu lakini lazima tutembee mbele ndio nikuangushie. i tell him off and call out his scheme.
step11 - he leaves and i go to class.[/SIZE]

Step 12- ngeta and clobbering do not ensue

U are new in this ferkin city. I can tell. Stranger akianza story hii town, thats a huuge red flag. If they mention abt making extra money or sharing free money…a thousand red flags. If they mention abt being stranded jipe shugli, thats a ferkin red flag. Also fools mentioning abt a sick relative back at hme who needs to be helped financially, issa scam. I worked for 100bob per day straight from ocha some tens of years ago in this cirry, zile vitu nlionyeshwa na binadamu would make me commit suicide today for feeling foolish and unlucky.
U see, u gotta experience some of these things ndio ujue kuishi huku unfortunately.

I wish I were new. I think I do look new. Or gullible. I am definitely not new though. I did my Preschool, Highschool and Uni in Nairobi. And I still live here.

I think they target young people.
Halafu I am kinda asocial. I hate small talk. I loathe it. When I talk back to strangers (never my by own volition), it’s me being polite.

Nairoberry.

True they take u for being polite. Sura ya kazi as u answer pple helps put off pple, tena always avoid eye contact if u dont want to proceed with any convo. Its all abt body language, con artists look for those characteristics that they can exploit in you.

Wenye napatananga nao ni wale wanatafuta afya house ya green…

Ngeta and clobbering will ensue.:D:D:D

Cant stop laughing to this:D:D:D:D:D:D

Clobbering :D:D:D:D

My girlfriend alifanyiwa hiyo ya envelope pale moi avenue…Aliibiwa tu phone na bag ilikua na nguo…Luckily hawakumfanyia kitu ingine since kulikua na watu wengi…But I think hao majamaa hua wanajua mtu si wa nairobi by just looking at him/her…
Before ngeta and clobbering ensues…:D:D:D
Shait.

someone was telling me venye sometime back a shosho anaingia kwa mat sits next to you a few minutes later two men come and sit infront of you.kiasi the shosho tells you hana simu and would like to make a phone call na ako na simcard you offer the phone,after pretending to make a call she starts saying unajaribu kumuibia simu

unaanza kusema its yours walee the two guys wanaanza kuzua na kusema kama ni yako wacha we call your number tuone,na hivyo tu ndio mob justice inaweza kumaliza.

kuna hii ingine yenye an old shosho with a small kid wanakuja na story of taking the kid to KNH ama kutafta mama ya mtoi who lives in Nairobi.wanakuanga na simu ya button yenye haina charge and they ask for yours to either call the mama mtoto or withdraw some cash to buy the kid food.Ukiamua kua msamaria mwema ole wako.

RULE OF THE THUMB. “NEVER TALK TO ANY STRANGER IN ANY CITY AND BE ALWAYS ON FLIGHT MODE”

You must be new here (NAIROBI):smiley:

nimeisikia…they save some number on your phone next thing you’re being fingered as a thief…ni hiyo? ama end game ni gani?

ukiwapea simu wanadissapear into the thin air