Culture Shocks of moving from your home town or village to other places including outside Jamhuri...

For you guys who have migrated to other countries, what kind of things did you encounter that shocked you?

I have traveled too and in my short visits, these are my Shocks in some places:

Sunshine at 10pm in Paris.
In Abuja, eating meat that is not separated from animal skin that smells like rotting dead animal, and pepper has to be added by default.

Eating biscuits and sweets that ‘sweetened’ with pepper in Delhi, India.

Realizing that one cannot simply Slaughter a goat at home and one has to drive to a slaughterhouse to Slaughter a goat, in Houston, Texas

Eating 100% raw fish in Paris that cost an arm and a leg…

How abou you?

Eating omena at Dunga beach… Couldn’t believe how a fish’s body could be 3/4 eye.

Rephrase your thread title…Abuja and Delhi are not majuu

I will rephrase so as to capture other areas including outside your home town or village

1. Finding that people in a place as racially diverse as Coventry can genuinely think you’ve got lipfillers or some type of cosmetic surgery. They’re just normal lips which almost everyone in Africa has. Damn!
  2. Being in a largely homogenous society like Japan or South Korea and getting used to having your hair and skin stared at (and sometimes touched) by strangers. Also going for days at a time without seeing another black person even on the street.

Real culture shock there… my friend told me the same about Malaysia where he worked for a couple of years… so of these guys have never met a real African all their lives…

Wondering why Patel behaves like a mzungu but his brothers in Delhi shit on the streets. Hata pale Kisumu jaruo hakunyi sana in the open.

Not my story though, kuna jama kwa Kijiji ya @Meria Mata was narrating how he found himself in a communal steam bath in Thailand or I don’t know one of those Koreas, apparently those guys have never seen a real African anaconda, it was a show as everybody came to see it.

That is what I realized… very humble people while there… never look down on an African… very strange feeling… Or may be i never met the higher caste ones

Wait…Bingwa should own up to this.

I would guess that it would get you killed by jealous locals…

Hata story za Southern Sudan zikuje hapa…

Inaitwa Kala. Popular in Liberia and Sierra Leone too. Tamu sana

yeah… but stinky…

I have also heard that when somebody tells you that they want yo take you out for dinner or drink, they expect you to foot your bills… That people bring their own food or drinks when you have invited them for dinner… that if you visit family unannounced, they will serve themselves food and exclude you, eat in your presence without feeling anything… can somebody confirm!!

Nigeria is a weird place, hukupatana na the domesticated hyenas that travel around Lagos slums leashed to their owners with muzzles and are hired by parents to scare children out of peeing in bed.

Ungejaribu truffles ungeitana.

Where does this apply to?

Although, I’m a firm believer in going Dutch on bills.

US of A… I heard… not personal experience… I had excellent treatment by my Kenyan friends… who even called some other African guys to share with me nyama choma…

Hata sijui hat truffles are… i decided to be eating poulet and rie… coz I was told it was always cooked…