Dar ferry

Mambo bad
@spear what does Jubilee have for us up the sleeve?
[ATTACH=full]141384[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]141385[/ATTACH]
Gugu images, was too drunk to take pics, labda @pseudonym aweke zile ako nazo.
AZAM nimetii
Lakini it’s just coz we don’t have an island.
@Luther12 how many kms is it from mainland to Lamu and can a modern ferry break even in 4yrs?
Asking for a friend

Hiyo ni ferry mupya imeletwa likoni?

Just wondering, does the gaament allow private companies to provide ferry services, or is it that it isn’t such a lucrative venture? If someone started a ferry service and charged a certain amount, would they be allowed, ama the KFS would haul their ass to court?

MV Jambo is barely a few months old and another is due in 2018. Its carries more vehicles, people comfortably and safely.[ATTACH=full]141388[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]141389[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]141390[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]141391[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]141392[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]141393[/ATTACH]
The needs for Dar and Mombasa are different and therefore the vessels are different. Our ferries just travel a few hundred meters to connect Likoni and Mombasa Island. Dar ferries have to go further to Pemba and Zanzibar and are therefore ocean going ships. As for lamu. That’s a county of 50000 people. That number is so small to warrant such big ferries as they will barely be taking 50-100 people at trip. That’s why small crafts are used. However a public marina is to be built and thereafter the modern ships needed will be decided.

That’s a catamaran, two hulls joined together. Can’t carry much but on the upside super stable. The day I rob a bank I will not be arrested for buying a lamborghini but a yacht based on that.

My friend traveling in that ferry from Dar to Zanzibar is not a walk in the park especially if you are weak, the speed is astronomical ,the ride is usually bumpy, up and down.
It travels just once per day, ukichelewa Zanzibar anakuja na other type of boat.
It’s expensive, it’s 6K Kenyan money from Dar to Zanzibar

I agree the needs are different, the distance between the two case study is quite different, from Dar to Zanzibar is a far distance

tricamaran, you have taught me something new today.

Asante, didn’t know this as well.

Nice pics. Kms? I dunno, I’d have to consult uncle google.

What Lamu needs to start with is a small or medium size ferry like this Wave Shuttle 56 by Smart Own. A trip can can do 100 people but on average I see it carrying 50 people per trip. Lamu isn’t a busy place.[ATTACH=full]141400[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]141401[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]141402[/ATTACH]

Boss huoni hizi za TZ ziko made for deep sea, zetu ni kama toroli za kuvukisha kamzigo Tom Mboya Street.

Hiyo gear ya ferry inafikanga number ngapi? ni automatic kweli?

Ngui
@Supu don njoo uone hii noogle
Still laughing
Ngite

Sorry, meant catamaran, two hulls, trimaran 3 hulls. Pombe ni mbaya.

maybe bigger to cater for goods too. It’s traders with their wares who form the bulk of travellers on both the Dar and Msa ferries.

za lamu ni zle speed boat ndogo ndogo n then those big grumpy boats za kubeba mzigo…pale dar-zanzibar those things are beasts, but as said needs are diff