Despite The Billions, Raila Junior Also Complains About KQ prices!!

Kenya airways has received its fair share of trolls and whatever garbage Kenyan could throw at it. This started immediately after the company announced it had made a loss of 26 billion shillings about a week ago.

According to a new revelations, the company has been making losses due to their expensive fares they charge which has let to most of the airplanes travelling almost empty.
And if you thought only the middle class complaining about the expensive KQ flights, you will be surprised to find even the billionaires feel it.

Raila’s son Raila Odinga Junior despite the billions the family owns also felt a pinch when he was asked to pay Kshs. 17,000 for one way from Kisumu to nairobi.
Here is what he posted;
"
The fact that kenya airways lost 26 billion during the last financial year is a testament to their dinosaur management, apparently as per an article in the daily hey we’re paying on leases of planes that were parked at the airport.
The other day we were looking to travel from kisumu to Nairobi as per chance one of the people we were traveling with wasn’t well and we suggested they fly rather than drive down with the rest of us, as it was midday the only flight leaving was kQ upon requesting the price we were quoted 17,000/= ksh for a one way, obviously this was not worth it at all and we ended up all driving down spending the night in Nakuru and continuing to Nairobi, Kenya .

You see here in lies the problem for I am beyond certain that the plane to Nairobi was empty for that 2 o’clock flight with not more than a handful of people. Kenya airways and its management still envisions flight travel as a luxury service and not a modern alternative means of transport, gone are the days when the only people who would jump on a plane to mombasa are European tourists on holiday, the elitist views of the management are what have trapped the carrier in its 17k per ticket syndrome.
Today the alternatives are Many and for KQ to survive they must change with the times
discount last minute ticketing, packaged tickets anything just get people to board the planes.
[ATTACH=full]11521[/ATTACH]

KQ From Nairobi to Durban, South Africa = kshs95,000
South African Airways From Nrbi to S.Africa=kshs 70,000
Rwnda Air fom Nrbi to S.Africa = kshs 48,000

Hata kama ni wewe, where would u opt?

KQ is very expensive just compare prices to any destination

After Fidel kufa this guy is now being proped to take over from his father. Interesting.

That said, KQ has shitty food for all that money they charge.

Junior has never had any interest in the politics game. And even his old man knowsvthat. If anyone will be prepared for that role, its his big sis Rosemary

Why Rosemary?

Luo’s are not yet at that point where a woman will be making the critical decisions for them. Junior has to carry the mantle apende asipende. Then again I am not really good in politics za Nyanza.

I agree with him fully. KQ has ensured their flight run empty especially on local flights ensuring their guaranteed loss

I gave up on KQ a long time ago

Rosemary is those people with that moto for politics. She doesnt mind being in the public eye. If you can remember her speech at fidels funeral in bondo you can see that passion.
Junior on the other hand likes to keep a low profile. His interests lie outside politics.

“… continuing to Nairobi, Kenya .”

Kwani Kisumu and Nakuru n all other towns are not in Kenya…

-Its true that Raila Junior has never shown any interest in politics but her siz Rosemary has a passion for it and IMO she’ll be joining the political arena soon.
-But despite their sky high prices, it still comes as a first option to many people just like safcom…

Raila Jnr…spot on… KQ will die a slow natural death.

If thats the case they’d be in profit

KQ behaves just like the many beach hotels in mombasa. They still believe that a beach holiday is for that european tourist who is to be milked dry. You will see it in their menu and prices. They have never africanised their services to fit the normal kenyan taste and budget. So in the wake of the terrorism crisis, travel advisories and reduced foreign tourist numbers many have shut down for assuming only foreigners love to holiday.

How much does the cheapest plane charge in kenya?

20 bob ---- Nduthi
http://i2.wp.com/500wordsmag.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/2012_04_20_Ojok_BodaBodaYei.jpg

Ogopa ndege ya chini

I don’t think so. Many beach hotels have off peak offers that are quite affordable. 25K gets you 5 nights, free meals and booze.

25K is per person sharing. How many people in kenya today do you think can spare 25k to go on holiday and spend that amount in only 5 days. Im talking of govt employees the teachers, civil servants, police etc. Hata sijafika kukuliza watu wa kuajiriwa na mhindi. Dont forget the 25K is accomodation, food and maybe drink only. There is transport and other excursions. Fact is very few people can afford that today and the few are still reduced further by the fact that not all are interested in holidaying as passions differ or even others would prefer to go visit relatives abroad. Now take this ‘few’ number against the hundreds of hotels and the thousands of hotel beds available and competing for clients.

Without even going to holidays, a lot of kenyans spend the weekend out with their families at social joints where kids can play and swim, you can eat nyama choma and drink to your fill and watch your favorite match. And a lot of money is circulated in the economy this way.Try doing that in these beach hotels and tell me if you wont camp at your employers office seeking a second advance. A soda will cost you ksh250. A beer same or more. Food, unreachable. And you will probably not even get the food thw way you normally get it at your ‘locals’ africanised joints. The choma, kachumbari, nice ugali etc. So people ofcourse opt to promote the localised joints. The hotels which have lined the beach are left with their two guests and a few wahindis but ultimately without sales costs eventualy run them out of business. I always find it ironical that the beaches or even mama ngina drive are full of kenyans walking or sitting about enjoying the sea but not patronising the hotels while the hotels are full of empty seats and tables and only a handful patrons mostly jungus and indians. Thats KQ mentality for you

@Dunya. Btw most KQ flights have more than average booking. Their problem is operational cost.