Digital TV - can I plug and play a Satellite Dish

Hi y’all. Got this digital TV that I used to watch Gotv on. I stopped paying the subscription (not due to peasantry, I realised spongebob, my son’s fav program had adult themes) and found out that that Gotv aerial worked standalone on the set, and I receive pang and bamba channels. Some premium channels appear, but they are scrambled.

So, with a dish and an LNB, will I receive satellite channels, even if they are foreign? (soccer is coming)!

On another thread, I read about an lnb jack in…what is that? Does that mean a satellite dish’s cable doesn’t go into the antenna in slot?

Please advise.

Sorry if this will be a repeated thread. Kindly point me to the related one and I will delete this.

@Luther12 , @Meria Mata please advice

Nunua dish, lnb, diseqc switch, decoder ile inaweza receive S2 signal the best at the moment ni freesat v7 (I stand to be corrected. Kodi damu) usijaribu kuweka kwa gotv

Ama ulikuwa unatupima akili?

Sio kuwapima akili bruh. What I meant is that hiyo aerial ya gotv nd’o nilifix jack ya aerial na it is working as my antenna. I receive the channels as attached (see pic). I’d been told that the TV has a built in decoder. So decoder ya gotv iko tu hapo. Situmii

So my question was, can I get the items you’ve listed (dish, lnb, diseqc switch) minus decoder, cos the TV has a ‘built in decoder’?

check your manual, is your inbuilt decoder dvbt2 (terestial) or dvbs (satelite)

[ATTACH=full]51619[/ATTACH] See the image. Some of the channels the normal antenna is letting me receive

Nothing in the manual mentions the type of inbuilt decoder. It is a Samsung series 4. Allow me to do a Google search bruh

[ATTACH=full]51622[/ATTACH]

A search shows it has a DVBT2 inbuilt decoder. What does that mean?

[ATTACH=full]51628[/ATTACH]

It means it can play hizi channels za kawaida bila decoder ya digital. Vile unafanya at the moment.

I
It can’t show satellite channels

That’s only possible if your tv has a built-in satellite tv (DVB-S/S2) receiver. Evidently it doesn’t.

Thanks for the info. So nizoee na antenna tu, or will acquiring a dish have any advantage? How can I get the most of the situation, at least by not buying a set top box? Also, is it possible to view the scrambled channels?

1. It’s impossible to view the scrambled channels without buying the STB and paying the requisite subs of the respective broadcasters. Signet is a purely FTA platform.

2. Acquiring a satellite dish confers no special advantage in DVB-T2 transmission/ reception. As a matter of fact, in that area it’s useless and a waste of money.

3. If you don’t wanna buy any STB, you’ll have to be contented with Signet offerings.

4. I will especially caution you NOT to buy any tv with an integrated DVB-S/S2 tuner.

Thank you for the info @Luther12 . I will now make an informed decision

What about DVB second generation as in #4 above?

Forget about it. Buy a separate stand-alone DVB-S/S2 decoder.

Thanks for the info.

the DVB S2 enabled Tvs are very few in the market. Currently only LG,Hisense and Skyworth have S2 enabled Tvs in our market. The S2 part has limited functionality so just get a practical decoder like STRONG or FREESAT.

On another note and for clarity
DVB-Digital video broadcasting
T/T2-Terrestial 1st generation and 2nd generation broadcaster using earth stations to transmit Tv signal and receiver using aerial eg Signet, Bamba
S/S2-satellite 1st generation and 2nd generation,broadcaster using satellite stations to transmit Tv signal and receiver using dish eg DSTV,Zuku,Startimes
Advantage of DVB over analogue in DVB you can transmit up to a 100channells on one frequency without loss of picture or sound quality.

all iz not lost bruh kama hutaki kununua decoder na tv yako si ni smart tv? sio? am sho iko na slot hapo nyuma imeandikwa CI slot. sasa nunua CAM card standing for conditional access module kitu inafanana USB bus card ile ya comp ni venye hii iko na slot hapo mbele ya kuingiza card ya subscription. sasa tumbukiza hio kwa CI slot hapo nyuma ya tv yako then ingiza card ya either ZUKU, startimes ama DSTV. najua utauliza GOtv hawana subscription card basi nunua GOcard yao yenye unaweka direct hapo nyuma ina cost 1500.

I would like to know if they are still selling the CI Slot aka Cam cards since you have to get them to do pairing/marriage of CAS card and decoder to permit opening of their services. Gotv last i checked had discontinued the sale. The only company currently selling CI cards is Startimes with THEIR IN-HOUSE tvs not alien Tvs.