DO THESE GRANNIES NEED ELECTRICITY OR BETTER HOUSING? – PHOTOS

http://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/Untitled-1-19.jpg

On Thursday Deputy President William Ruto was in Kilifi County to inspect the progress of the Last Mile Connectivity project that is part of the State’s Energy Access Scale-Up Programme.

[B]During the tour, he visited several dilapidated houses and tried to emulate his boss by switching on lights in mud houses.

http://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/news/do-these-grannies-need-electricity-or-better-housing-photos/ [/B]

http://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/14064187_1355427421152458_1663874328133425929_n.jpg

Unlike the houses that President Uhuru Kenyatta visited, which had galvanised iron roofing, the houses that [B][I]Mr Ruto visited in Rabai were thatched with makuti.

The pictures, posted on the DP’s social media platforms, showed the houses in a state of disrepair and a potential hazard to the two grannies who owned them in the event of heavy rains.[/I][/B]

The question widely posed was whether the grannies were more in need of a better house or electricity?

http://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/14064123_1355425781152622_538125919300752354_n.jpg

Hehehehehe. The cart and the donkey and other stories

Halafu hizo bills za stima zitalipwaje ?

sioni mbisha…:(:frowning:

Egg vs chicken scenario?

Electricity is part of better housing.

Don’t worry, nature has a way of sorting out itself :slight_smile:

ur negative vibe is beyond hope

Sasa atasave pesa za mafuta ya taa. Wacha ujinga jakoyo hebu kwanza tuambie what makufuli would do

@Jakoyo have you ever been to the coast? I live in the coast and I can tell you this, most of these women have formed themselves into groups where they contribute 100/= weekly. Once they have built their savings to a certain level, there is a microfinance that’s predominately in the coast (@Meria Mata hio microfinance inaitwa aje?) which loans them solar lamps which they repay at approx. 16,000/=.
so, pray tell, why wouldn’t the women rejoice when they have been connected to electricity?

The point here is that electricity is a good thing , but can also kill. We have seen several cases of electocution in slums.

These house are are in a sorry state. They should have been told to rebuild/ repair them to certain standard ( kenya standard) of safety before connecting live electric wires.

Come rainy seasons all those granny will be electrocuted.

William Ruto , with his greed for power is play a dangerous political game with peoples lives.

But night fall to those who are in stone houses as well as those sleeping in the bush too.

Go ask darkness to avoid those in better housing and avoid those in thatched/mud houses.

I overestimate some people’s ability to utilize an iota of their brain. Very disappointing it is.
On now to proper news perhaps you would be kind to tell us where Tanzania mmefika kwa usambazaji wa nguvu za umeme

Electricity will trigger economic activities which will enable the youth creat wealth.
They can’t live in mud houses for ever !

For once Mr. mongoose I support u, though partially…

This guy has a point especially regarding safety. Some of those houses are so dilapidated kukianza kunyesha maji inaingia. So, there is a high risk of electrocution.