Does it make sense to pay off your mortgage early?

There are so many opinions on whether or not you should pay off your mortgage early.

Some say that paying off your mortgage is a bad idea because you could make a lot more money in the stock market. With the bull market over the past decade, there’s a lot of truth to that.

And others appreciate the peace that comes with not owing anything to the bank each month. The benefits that come with that freedom are hard to deny as well.

So, what’s the right answer?

I’m not sure there is one. I think only YOU can answer decide what’s best for YOU.

In 2013, my wife and I decided to pay off our $200,000 mortgage in less than 5 years. It was an aggressive decision and one that required a lot of partnership and dedication. But we did it … together. And we’re so glad we did.

That was a personal choice and it was best for our family.

If paying off your mortgage sounds interesting to you, here are 10 compelling reasons to consider it.

[SIZE=6]1. Decreased Annual Living Expenses[/SIZE]
According to the US Department of Labor in 2018, the largest expense in the typical American family’s household budget is their mortgage or rent. Imagine that being completely wiped from your annual expenses. What a weight off your shoulders!

That would leave you more money for fun, vacations, investing for the future, contributing to your kid’s college funds and so much more.

Since our mortgage and extra principal payments were around 35% of our living expenses, we are breathing MUCH easier with our mortgage gone.

[SIZE=6]2. Makes Saving for Retirement Easier[/SIZE]
Before paying off our mortgage our annual expenses were around $75,000 per year. With that type of lifestyle, we would need to save around $1,875,000 to retire comfortably using the 4 percent rule.

By removing our mortgage from the equation, our annual expenses are now around $60,000 per year. In theory, this means we only need to save up $1,500,000 for our retirement to live our current comfortable lifestyle.

Now there are a lot of factors that can throw that convenient math problem off (inflation, lifestyle change, etc), but when all is said and done, it’s going to be easier for us to retire. $375,000 easier!

[SIZE=6]3. Increased Savings Rate[/SIZE]
With no house payment, we’ve been able to save around 50% of our income. That is huge for us.

At the beginning of our marriage, we were living for today, spending what we wanted and we were happy … until we realized we were broke.

Having a large cushion of savings, built up retirement accounts and a development of income-producing assets will also make us feel happy … just in a different way.

[SIZE=6]4. Increased Net Worth[/SIZE]
When you don’t have debt, you avoid the negative drain on your net worth. And without a mortgage, this is doubly true!

When we started our journey of financial betterment in 2010, we had a -$50,000 net worth. (Yes, that’s a negative symbol).

We owed A LOT more than we owned. I owed more on my home than it was worth, had $30,000 of student debt and I was spending more than I was earning. I even bought my wife’s engagement ring with my student loans!

[SIZE=5]5. Have More Fun[/SIZE]
My wife loves to do design projects in our home. I love vacations. With more available cash flow, we’ve been able to enjoy life and reward ourselves more lately.

Nicole has been able to update our laundry room, buy new furniture guilt-free and we even got the big screen TV we always wanted. This home now feels like a palace and it’s ours!

We’ve traveled a lot more as well. Disney World, Cabo San Lucas, Los Angeles, Ft. Lauderdale and many trips to Northern Michigan have been some of our favorite destinations since paying off our mortgage.

While some of our trips were supported by credit card rewards, having the extra cash available has helped us travel without restriction. Getting out-of-town during our Michigan winters is now a must for this family.

[SIZE=5]6. Reduced Stress[/SIZE]
I don’t know about you, but I really stressed out about the size of my mortgage. Having such a large payment each month made me feel worried.

“What if I lose my job and we’re not able to make the payments?!

“Or what if I get a new boss and he’s a complete jerk, but I can’t leave because of the mortgage?!”

These were real reoccurring thoughts I had. And I couldn’t just tell myself to calm down or not think about it. (Believe me, I tried. The Calm meditation app has become a good friend of mine lately!)

When our $1,300 (w/o taxes and insurance) payment was gone, my stress level decreased dramatically.

Sure … There are still other bills we have to pay for the rest of our lives, but none will ever be as large as our mortgage.

(FYI: We worked with LendingTree to secure on our 15-year mortgage. Having a shorter-term mortgage helped a lot because the principal payments were much higher each month).

[SIZE=6]7. Never Worry About Refinancing Your Mortgage[/SIZE]
You know when the interest rates drop and all you hear is chatter about refinancing your mortgage? Well, when you don’t have a mortgage, you don’t even have to wrestle with the decision of if you should refinance your mortgage or not.

That is one less decision you have to make FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE!

There are major benefits to reducing the number of decisions you need to make in your day. You’ll be more productive, your mind will feel more clear and life can feel easier.

[SIZE=6]8. Ownership Pride[/SIZE]
The fact that Nicole and I own our home outright fills me with so much pride. The peace of mind that comes with true homeownership is incredible.

https://d3eh3svpl1busq.cloudfront.net/EpKozjrcWHKvRPKJyWkpKTnaKmToHStI/assets/static/optimized/rev-3de803b/www.marriagekidsandmoney.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/5f1457c787ec7f17f992152c56a76fbb.Why-We-Started-Marriage-Counseling-After-Paying-Off-Our-Mortgage-with-Andy-Nicole-Hill-Wordpress.jpeg
I’ve even found myself standing on my front lawn staring at my house and saying, “That’s our house. We own all of it. My kids will always have a place to call home.”

Those statements are REALLY fun to say.

[SIZE=6]9. Design a New Lifestyle[/SIZE]
I’ve had the chance to interview dozens of families on my podcast who have paid off their mortgage. One of the most impressive things I’ve learned about how mortgage freedom has changed things for them is with their overall lifestyle design.

Many have gone from working full-time jobs to just part-time jobs. Now that they don’t need as much money to live, they don’t want to work as much. How cool is that!?!

Others completely changed career paths altogether. It’s as if they now had the confidence and financial cushion to make bolder lifestyle decisions. That’s what mortgage freedom did for them.

[SIZE=6]10. Easier Path to Financial Independence[/SIZE]
With a paid-off mortgage, you don’t have to save as much money to reach financial independence. Your expenses are now significantly lower.

For example, if your family spends $60,000 to live each year and then pays off your mortgage with a $1,000 payment per month, your new annual living expenses are only $48,000.

That means, you now only need to create $4,000 of passive income earnings to become financially independent.

How can you get there? Here are 3 of my favorite passive income-producing routes:

[ol]
[li]Buy-and-hold rental real estate[/li][li]Investing in a taxable brokerage account[/li][li]Affiliate or advertising income through a blog[/li][/ol]
I’m not insinuating that people shouldn’t focus on passive income before they’re mortgage-free. In fact, I’d highly recommend it!

If you want to get into rental real estate, more power to you.

Have a small business idea that allows you to follow your passion and provide for your family? Go for it!

Nicole and I have had a lot of trial and error to get where we are today. The knowledge that we’ve gained from that trial and error has been priceless.

In the end, the plan to pay off our mortgage has worked out very well for our young family. Being mortgage-free at 35 was a family tree changing moment for us.

I hope you find a path that works well for your family too.
https://www.marriagekidsandmoney.com/8-compelling-reasons-to-pay-off-your-mortgage-early/

Nko na deni ya @Wakanyama ya miezi tatu

Alafu utoe io advert hapo chini
Nii akili haunanga ama?

If you have nothing to, do don’t do it here. You and your twin ghasia @Nanyundo. Mumesikia? :D:D

Toa io ad inaudhi

Mimi siwezi lipa mortgage. Nyumba najenga na cash. Na nikichukua deni nalipa in less than 4 years.

Kama budget iko tight, unaweza jenga nyumba mzuri sana na 3 to 5 million hapa Kenya. That’s $30,000 to $50,000.

Why take a 15 to 20 years mortgage? Mimi sipendi stress ya madeni long-term. Wacha ikae!

Ownership pride ndio ingekua number 1 kwa hio list

4 Reasons Not to Pay Off Your Mortgage Early
[ol]
[li]You have a low-interest rate on your mortgage. [/li][li]If your credit was excellent at the time you applied for your mortgage, you probably snagged a great interest rate on that home loan. …[/li][li]You have other high-interest debt. …[/li][li]You don’t have emergency savings. …[/li][li]Your retirement savings could use a boost.[/li][/ol]
Bonus:
You have the advantage to borrow off your equity any time you need an investment startup.

I own my house and don’t pay morgage. Pay your morgage early and have a peace of mind. Then you have money to save, spend and for retirement.
Hawa hapa juu can’t pay off one time to buy a house in full. Madeni ndio zao
Upuss thread

mortgage ni upuss ukiteleza kidogo saa zile uko karibu kumaliza nyumba inachotwa

Purple nitumie ngiri tano kwa mpesa dadangu.

Yes, if you can afford it. I am hoping to be done with mine in 3 more years to come and will be able to save more cash towards retirement and investing. Also, peace of mind knowing that my kids have a roof over their heads with no debt. I have a 15 year with a 2.75% and bought my house for 200K in the Bay Area in 2008 after the crash and my equity now is beyond my dreams. Tempted to pay it off sooner but at the same time need to save and invest too. If you can afford it, please pay off your mortgage, the interest you save is a phenomenon.

Totally. It’s such a nice feeling.

You are mad lucky coz that house must now be worth a fortune. Bay Area hmm…How come you were not afraid to take on a mortgage during the height of the crisis? You got an amazing deal, even the interest on your mortgage is great. Telling your kids they now have a home in America will be worth it.

I guess this is a question for those living in the diaspora… wenye tuko kenya we don’t need convincing… in fact if you cant afford to buy a house and pay it off within less than 3 years then it does not make sense to buy the house since you will lose so much on interest expenses given the exorbitant loan rates we have here.

When I looked at the house in 2007, I even missed the lottery to get into the buyer’s list and the prices were in the upper 400’s. A 30 year was 5.5% and I didn’t want to just work to pay a mortgage so I decided to back off. By the end of 2008, the prices had crashed and with no buyers, the developers were willing to take a 20% deposit plus the banks wanted to cut their losses. My mortgage was also similar to the rent I was paying for an apartment so no matter what happened I wouldn’t take a big hit and could always recover. It was the best decision because if I was still renting now or trying to buy with a family I would be spending most of our income on housing. The same 2 bedroom apartment I used to rent in 2008 for 1000 goes for 3000 which is almost 2 times my mortgage including property taxes.

I remember that time period very well. You made the bestest decision to “buy low, sell high.” If you ever make the decision to sell you know buyers will flock like a nonsense. Sweet!
I’m on the east coast. It’s a new development but it’s under HOA. HOA’s are great coz of the amenities but it’s just another cost you have to think about even after paying off the mortgage.

Toa hio ad ya umeffiiiii.

Why don’t you like it?

Hii wekea watu wakusalimiana. Some of us are married na we don’t plan to cheat on our wives.