Donald Trump’s Huawei ban could backfire badly-FT

From the great guys at Financial Times.The fears of The law of unintended Consequences are real …Heheheh read on

At first sight, the recent US executive order blacklisting Chinese group Huawei looks like a classic Donald Trump move: brash, assertive, nationalistic. But look closer and it is clear that putting “America first” could ultimately mean the US finishes last. The US pushback against Huawei began with its 5G infrastructure business. Citing security concerns, the US made a concerted effort to convince western allies to drop the company from their 5G networks — with mixed success. The fight has now morphed into a broader ban that makes it near impossible for US companies — and any firm with US interests — to do business with any part of the Huawei empire. That includes Huawei’s up-and-coming consumer division, the world’s second-biggest smartphone producer.

For Huawei, it looks like a body blow. US groups such as Qualcomm must stop supplying it, but so must UK-based ARM, which has American ties. Then again, Huawei is the world’s biggest telecoms equipment manufacturer, and only draws a small, if important, part of its inputs from the US. The Chinese group could work round the ban, if it finds suppliers to replace the high-end mobile phone glass it gets from Corning. Any short-term benefit to Huawei’s US competitors will be offset by hits to the company’s suppliers and customers as well as reduced impetus for innovation. Further out, this protectionist move will encourage Huawei and other Chinese groups to develop their own technology. Given how far they have already come, that might wind up doing further harm to US suppliers and their dominance of the market.

However, devices such as phones do not stand alone. They are part of ecosystems, such as Google’s Android platform and related apps including Netflix, WhatsApp and YouTube. Devices, operating systems, apps, services and accessories come together to create a unified customer experience. These global ecosystems are largely managed by American companies, and the executive order all but forbids Google, along with US-based Android developers, from working with Huawei phones. In other words, President Donald Trump has banished Huawei from the Google ecosystem. Initially, losing Google’s ecosystem partners could hurt Huawei even more than having its supply chain upended, as customers may stop using Huawei kit that can’t offer the complements they know and love. But in the short to medium term we can expect Huawei to start building its own competing ecosystem, while protecting its position in China and other national markets.

This rival ecosystem might not overtake Google’s Android, but Huawei would be foolish not to try. The challenge is clear — and if anyone can overcome it, it’s the Huawei of 2019. If this had happened four years ago, the technology gap might have been too wide for the Chinese group to bridge. But today’s Huawei might rise to the dare and win — and that would transform the entire mobile sector. The Trump administration hasn’t just stepped up the trade war; it may have changed the future face of mobile technology. Without an external shock, Huawei could have profitably stuck with Google’s ecosystem.

But now the gauntlet is down: Huawei and others have been pushed to challenge Google’s dominance to ensure their own survival. Google understands the risk to its dominance. It has just asked for the Android operating system to be exempted from the export ban. But it may be too late. Even if the Trump administration agrees or it lifts the ban as part of a broader trade deal, the Rubicon has been crossed, and the risk to Huawei and other Chinese companies has become visible. These actions by the Trump administration have not only pushed us closer to a world split between a “Chinese-based” and “US-based” internet; they may also have dented the ability of America’s tech champions, especially Google, to maintain their dominance. This brash nationalistic trade policy may end up backfiring badly. The game is on.

https://www.ft.com/content/8fc63610-88fe-11e9-b861-54ee436f9768

I hope huawei dominates google in the world of tech , we will all benefit …
For anyone on USA’s corner , let me remind you that the western world has gotten to where it is by sitting on other peoples backs and pouring their blood . The opium wars is the best example of the western world’s modus operandi … China learnt from the best & i’m glad China payed attention .

Team China and USA this video has a great insight.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DxN12jzHrqI

Janitor @patco we need your MAGA analysis

They play the long game .

In 2013 I told people Chinese phones will replace Nokia, Ericsson etc. People laughed.

Sony, JVC, Panasonic etc remember them? In came Samsung and LG that pushed them from the top. Here comes Xiomi, Skyworth, Hisense and TLC.

Google is huge but now the challenge is coming. Huawei main advantage is China itself. A 1 billion market. Conquer home you are rich in the black, then move to Asia and you are in the top 2. Sasa fight over Europe to be the top and that is where Chinese win. Fair prices for same product.

Drumpf’s dumbness laid bare. If I were the Chinese, I would ignore any backpedaling by Google and the rest and work on truly independent technology.

Watch as the US firms that enjoyed supplying Huawei begin to lobby Drumpf, just as the soy bean farmers and steelmakers do after realising that tariffs and blacklisting cut both ways.

Well!
Level headed analysis here!

If or when the British leave the EEU, they might make their own mobile phone then things will get interesting.

[ATTACH=full]242705[/ATTACH]

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/mobile-phones/10429828/British-smartphone-maker-Kazam-launches-six-devices.html

The cell phone has been with us for at least 2 decades. Where were the Brits?

Having read the article, I see a company making phones based on 2009 specs. Ngai!

They were too dependent on the financial sector, looks like they have changed strategy and are returning to manufacturing. The phones will catch up.

The watches they are now making ha…, but one would need to win the lottery or be a thief to afford them.

They went back to making bicycles in a big way, and it is quality.

British made bicycles

[ATTACH=full]242712[/ATTACH]

You want an analysis faggot? I’ll give you an analysis my cock lovin’ friend.

It’s 1991 and everybody thinks the VCR is the future. It’s 1971 and everybody thinks the record player is the future.

What I’m I saying? You cocksuckers are too stuck up on mobile phones. Freaking smart phones.

Americans think next level shit. That’s why you follow their lead.

Matusi ya nini damsel

British watchmaking: The manufacturing facilities in this one is in a house. Here is an education for us, forget about building tech cities, use what we have - start small. In that Oak framed building, the are making magnificent watches.
[ATTACH=full]242714[/ATTACH]

These guys literally started the industrial revolution. You honestly have to give it up to them. Siwapendi lakini nawatambua

Trump2020

utashangaa …demons are awakening they have been sleeping for so long

The Western world has gotten to where it is by making inventions and discovering things.
Colonialism did not exist in the Era of Isaac Newton, Leonardo Da Vinci or Marie Currie.
China is an organ harvesting, speech suppressing, Droid controlling dictatorship.

-before slavery , europeans enslaved each other , or with arabs …they were burning witches and killing in the name of god.

• during isaac newton’s time , Europe was swimming in wealth juu ya the slave trade ,
  • before that portugal reduced population ya ‘KONGO’ mpaka the christian converted african king wrote letters saying soo many people were being stolen by the portugese ‘mpaka hakukuwa na watu wa kulima’…

DO YOUR RESEARCH MAMEN