DRC's EAC aspirations… Kieleweke vizuri!

@spear usiseme sikukuambia.
Congo wanaingizwa EAC na Kagame na Magufuli. Kama vile S.Sudan waliingizwa na Museveni na Uhuru.

Tanzania’s key port to handle large cargo vessels after Chinese firm’s expansion project: minister
Source: Xinhua| 2019-06-15 00:27:24|

DAR ES SALAAM, June 14 (Xinhua) – The government of Tanzania said on Friday the expansion of the Dar es Salaam port by China Harbor Engineering Company Ltd (CHEC) will enable it to handle large vessels ferrying up to 6,000 containers when the project will be completed.

Isack Kamelwe, the east African nation’s Minister for Works, Transport and Communication, told the visiting Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) President Felix Tshisekedi that the port was currently handling ships with a capacity of ferrying between 3,000 and 4,000 containers.

“But after completion of the project, the port will have the capacity to handle vessels carrying more up to 6,000 containers,” Kamelwe told the visiting DRC leader.

The minister said expansion of the port will not only benefit Tanzania but also its neighboring landlocked countries, including the DRC.

The project being undertaken at the port by China Harbor Engineering Company Ltd includes improving the port’s capacity by expansion of berths, he said.

“We are doing all in our capacity to improve the port’s efficiency,” said Kamelwe.

Wakuje tu hakuna shida… we’re all Africans

Kenya Ports Authority feted as Port of Mombasa emerges best transit port in Eastern and Southern Africa
Livingston – November 24, 2017

The Port of Mombasa has been declared the best transit and supply logistics Port in Eastern and Southern Africa at the African Ports Awards ceremony held in Livingston, Zambia on Thursday.
In this category the Ports of Durban and East London under the Transnet National Ports Authority of South Africa took position two and three respectively in a hotly contested competition that featured 12 Ports from the region.

https://www.kpa.co.ke/Pages/Kenya-Ports-Authority-feted-as-Port-of-Mombasa-emerges-best-transit-port-in-Eastern-and-Southern-Africa.aspx

[ATTACH=full]242985[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]242988[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]242993[/ATTACH]
We have been handling those Post pananax ships here since 2013 when berth 19 was dredged to 13.5 meters depth under former President Kibaki.
[ATTACH=full]242994[/ATTACH]

In 2016 two more berths of the second container were launched by President Uhuru and they can handle 2 more such ships at a go. This has taken our container terminal capacity to 1.1 million TEU’s a year. That has put Mombasa port as number 2 in Africa in container handling with Durban as 1st. As we speak another 4 berths with a further 500000 TEU’s capacity is being built by the same Japanese contractor in the $750 million phase two of the second container terminal expansion. So congratulations to Dar port but we are chasing Durban now and not looking behind.
[ATTACH=full]242995[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]242996[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]242997[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]242998[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]242999[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]243000[/ATTACH]

Ukowapi @Soprano na yule kaka yako @Mahekaya ?

Just a week ago we were reminded that Magufool will have nothing to do with Shainaman. Schizo.

Imagine…ma-kelele za huyu @Mgisu Tz niwazuri sana kwa mahekaya… More talk than any tangible action

This thread has reminded me to check out skyscrapercity Kenya and I found this 2032 KPA masterplan for Kilindini port Mombasa. The ongoing construction is aimed at putting it at par with Durban port.
[ATTACH=full]243005[/ATTACH]
We finished building berth 20-21 in 2016 on the first phase of the second container terminal. In the second phase that started Jan 2019 and to be completed in 2022 we are building four more berths. Berth 22-23-24-25 and their necessary storage space for handling them. People forget our port is 21 berths against Dar 7 berths but its okay, now you know.
[ATTACH=full]243007[/ATTACH]
If you look at the port map, across the channel in Kwale County is their own Dongo Kungu SEZ multipurpose port that is four large berths D1 to D4. They will.mostly be exports from the Dongo Kungu SEZ manufacturing hub. Construction starts in Dec 2019. This is because CCCC is awaiting Ketraco to build a power substation and high capacity line. Dingo Kungu bypass road construction phase 2 and 3 funded by JICA as well. Construction is ongoing with by a Japanese and Chinese firm. All three projects will be built at a go. That triangle of Kilifi-Mombasa-Kwale is primed for massive infrastructure upgrade and modernization in the next 3 years.

@Soprano have you not noticed the pattern whenever you come to tout Magufool’s many blueprints? The future plans always fade when contrasted with reality in Kenya.

Sawa Spear…pewa 5 on my bill…Imagine 21 aganist 7 berths navile kijiji imekoseshwa peace juu ya kelele za yule @Mgisu

I’m trying to caution you, @spear, and all those of you who are mistakenly thinking that Tsishekendi is coming to the EAC as Kenya’s friend. No one is disputing here that Kenya is more developed than Tanzania in superlative terms. The article I highlighted above was intended to show that the DRC president visited the port of Dar because that’s where their interests are. Perhaps he will visit the port of Mombasa and our SGR in the future, but for now he seems to pay more attention to Tanzania than Kenya.

Let’s not be disappointed once again like we were with the Hoima crude oil pipeline!

Do you remember how Magufuli snatched the crude oil pipeline deal with Uganda from our armpits? Kenya has never recovered from that shock.

You missed my point.

Magufool is driven by jealousy and an inferiority complex that makes him announce grand projects or hijack Kenyan ideas and plans, but he lacks the financial muscle to realise them.

How is that alternative oil pipeline PERFORMING after he’d paraded Museveni the way he’s now parading Tsishekedi?

Good question : where is the alternative oil pipeline?

Dar es Salaam
An initial plan for Tanzania and Uganda to have first oil flow in 2020 through the Uganda-Tanzania crude oil pipeline is under threat as investors have been delaying to make final investment decisions, the Ugandan minister for energy and mineral development, Ms Irene Muloni, has revealed.
“Indeed, the plan to have the first oil by 2020 is under serious threat because it takes about three years of construction… As I am speaking right now the final investment decision has not yet been made yet,” Ms Muloni said.
It was expected that the companies would have made their final investment decision last year, meaning by now they would have started constructing the pipeline, which was scheduled to be ready by 2020.
Total Oil of France, China National Offshore Oil Corporation and Tullow Oil of the UK are the companies involved in the project.

Tanzania-Uganda oil pipeline project faces delays - Business Daily

But Magafuli has rejected the expansion of the Dar es Salaam port by China saying that only a mad man coughs Uhuru would accept that contract.

Which shock?

[ATTACH=full]243014[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]243015[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]243017[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]243018[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]243019[/ATTACH]

So when he goes to Tz that’s is where his interests are? Well he has already been here lakini we didn’t shout to the roof tops like you Tz. We are also not chest thumping that Mombasa port handles all cargo going to Eastern Congo for decades. Yaani its not even guess work. Lastly we can never compete in talking and bravado with Tz, they win in that department hands down. Lakini doing is the hardest bit there while we constantly do our part. Watch out for SGR phase 2A Nairobi-Naivasha-Narok launch in August. You will know what M7 has to say about the road corridor from Ug to Kisangani in DRC. You will know the agreements between President Tshesekedi and Kagame on Goma-Bukavu on Rwanda border and the wider East Congo using the current road corridor. Lastly you will hear about the upgrade of the current Meter gauge railway from Naivasha to Gulu in North Ug. You will finally hear about China plans for all these northern corridor roads, Meter gauge and SGR corridor from Kenya, Ug, Tz and East DRC. We are not just talking, its something being used right now. What is to be agreed and signed is what will be upgraded and how they will all be interlinked. Its not theories and wishes.

It was the port of Bagamoyo

That Hoima oil pipeline build decision has been pushed to 2022. Tz will not want their citizens to know and Ug is studying that report before it responds. Stanbic Bank SA was tasked in getting financiers for the same but 2 years later no one has signed to it. The reason is clear, investors are weary of megafools and his overnight decrees that are law in Tz. The sovereign insurance guarantees quotes needed for such large infrastructure projects are high. They are being asked to pay an insurance premium of 30% of the cost of the project. This is because of the new term called magafuli scalp. Anyone investing in Tz has to factor possible nationalization of their projects or contract disputes with megafools who is the state and courts in one. That 30% insurance quote takes away ROI on the investment. So nobody want to risk their $2 billion in a risky venture. What also surprises me was that since 2015 to present when they shifted to Dar, they haven’t even done the paperwork. What were they doing all those 4 years. They launched the project on both ends but in Dec 2018 that’s when they sat down to agree on technical and financial agreements. That is when Total and China oil said arbitration must be in London not Tanzania. Simply because everyone know in Tz megafools is the law. No court will rule against him. M7 flew Total MD to Kampala in May to intervene and some of us were expecting announcements after that meeting in State House Ug. Its a big deal for him to leave Paris and travel to meet head of state in a country of Total operations. They had their meeting and went back silently. That silence is very loud. M7 is now going to his third elections talking about Uganda oil without a drop in the international market.