Driving a car from UK to Kenya?

I’ve got a friend who lives in the UK and is planning to move back to Kenya. He’s some cash and wants to bring with him a used 2007 Lamborghini Gallardo. What would be the process of him being able to register his UK car in Kenya? Is that even possible?

He’ll start his journey from London and drive towards the channel tunnel into France. Then he’ll spend a month driving through France, towards Italy and then hop on a ferry to Greece where he’ll ship the car to Cyprus and then Egypt. From there he’ll drive down through Egypt and into Sudan, and then into Ethiopia and then into Kenya.

Is this a worthy adventure in trying to avoid taxes? or he’s better off importing the direct from UK into Kenya…

Sudan? He needs a 4*4 not a luxurious 3’ height Lambo.
A Discovery, jeep or old school Landover with 4 spare wheels at the back.

Inshort that trip is not for a Lambo with the urrent roads in some parts of Africa.

[ATTACH=full]224702[/ATTACH]

Let him go for it. Kwani iko nene.

He should just ship it,akiamua kuidrive ataiwacha on the way.Anadhani Ku drive long distance ni mchezo…

Yr of manufacture 2007 haikubaliki,it’s not within 8 yr rule of importation ,hakuna special preference because it’s a sport car.

Ship it. There’s cost of servicing, spare parts, fuel, living on the road (hotels, restaurants), physical stress of driving long distance, border fees, asset depreciation due to excessive mileage/wear and tear, risk of motor vehicle accidents, robbery, terrorism. It’s not worth it!

Why does he wanna drive a Lamborghini in .ke so badly? How much will it cost him for that trip ?

Fake news or we are probably talking about a very ignorant person .

Tell him to ask Jeremy Clarkson.
…Then post Clarkson’s reply here.:smiley:

But Sudan barabara ni mzuri pia. Hakuna mvua iko desert.

I told him the same. He should just drive it through France and Italy. Then he ships in to Kenya from there and he’ll pay the whatever fees… But the government is changing the import laws.

kama anaitaka sana ivo aende ug ikue registered uko. halafu aingie nayo kenya na plate za ug

He’s moving back home. Sahii anajenga nyumba huko spring valley.

We were just talking about it if its something feasible. And we had a lively discussion. It’s his decision ultimately…

i thought there is a law that allows you to ship a vehicle you have been using abroad when relocating, regardless of year of manufacturer.

The only problem is imepita 8yrs. Atafute ya 2012 then he can pull that stunt

Aah yes, thanks for the reminder. He would be eligible for duty free importation; however the car must be less than 8 years since the date of first registration.

https://www.auto-kenya.com/duty-free-car-importation-into-kenya-for-returning-residents/

You are just exempted from paying duty but all the other conditions must be met. E.g must be not more than 8yrs, right hand drive,inspection imepita etc

Hehe, crossing sudan with a lamborghini gallardo is hilarious. Ataiwacha huko kwa sand dunes. Again, the journey could be more expensive than that car besides the fact that the car will need service along the way.The expanse of the sahara desert in sudan is what kept the greatest of empires from finding out the rich land that lies to the south. He needs a landcruiser, a drum of fuel, a toolbox and two spare tires. he might also need an automatic rifle. mwambie auze gari alete mpya zaidi na hiyo pesa. Na wewe ndiye huyo “a friend”

@Purple, nailed it above there. I don’t think if it worth it, by the time he gets to Sudan, his dashboard will be a Christmas tree.