Driving license

Wadau, are the old DLs still valid? Ama ni lazima mtu achukue ‘smart’ license?

If yes, when is the cutoff for using the old DL?

I have the booklet one, and planning to renew for 3 years pale Ecitizen.

Mimi bado hutumia the old one-na renew yearly, fear getting the new one as the govt seems confused on many issues, mara hujuma no mara census cnext utaskia kipande system imerudi…

Its still valid, just renewed mine on eCitizen last week for one year

Mimi until they cancel the old one sioni benefit ya kuchukua io digital.

The new one. Portability

Uki poteza the old generation the replacement will be the plastic one .I have been in this situation and I had to pay Ksh 3000 (July 2019) and just collected the Plastic DL few minutes ago.The new DL has 3 year validity .

Still valid. Love the new one though for being less bulky

Si hizo mzee pia zilikuwa na 3 year validity…

It’s automatic 3 years unlike the old booklet ,kumbuka ukitoka driving school the license had sticker validity ya one year .Then on renewal you decide whether unataka 1 or 3 years .

The New DL ,still has issues , for those who applied mid this yr, hawajapata, ukienda NTSA wanakushow sijui machine broke down. reason being the Gover has not yet fully infrastructured it use. e.g how to renew the card, Traffic police validations (for this one, each cop shld have a gadget) etc.

At some point I’m sure they will give a cut off date, mimi nangoja some time in dec. when I’m easy niende wachukue finger prints

How is this related to DL topic??

Wacha umalenge, when applying for tmthe new dl wanachukua finger prints

I get you now

StupidQuestion. What does one tell the traffic police after she enquires you your DL yet ushapoteza na umeapply? Nimeendesha bila 4 months now. From Nairobbery to Lakeside 5 times now bila kusimamishwa pia job daily.

Just go ahead and apply for the Old DL, I renewed mine recently and it goes fr 3yrs

Just ended up doing renewing via Ecitizen. Thanks.

But you have the abstract which you can produce when requested .I was using the same for sometime and i had also attached copy of ID and Ecitizen renewal just incase nipate officer mshiensi.

Ehh renew 2 io ya kitambo… Niliapply ya smart june, in november am still waiting

True dat