DVB-S3 and DVB-S2 TVs

Thanks again @admin. Gurus I saw some post on availability of DVB-S2 TVs on luthuli avenue. Are there other places I could get a S3 tv as I am planning to upgrade my TV soon. Also with this type of TV do I still need the huge dish and how do I get to subscribe to international football pay TV with this type of TV. I visited the Sony shop (Anisuma) and they only have DVB-T2 TVs only. The support staff didn’t even know if there is anything like S2 or S3. Thanks.

@Meria Mata, @Luther12 @muzombozi kujeni chapa huyu 2 hot slaps kama @Jirani then m-msaidie

Firstly, satellite tv requires a satellite dish to receive, hiyo huwezi epuka. Secondly, to subscribe to and watch int’l sports matches (assuming you’re referring to beIN) requires you to purchase their decoder and pay a subscription to it. Thirdly, I personally eschew TVs with integrated tuners and advise against the same. Get yourself a proper HD tv then buy separate standalone decoder(s)/STBs.

Thanks. This makes perfect sense.

S2 and S3 are in few TVs at the moment. Some Sony Bravia TVs do have it but maybe those models aren’t marketed here. Some LG TVs also do have Satellite reception capabilities, of course alongside DVB-T2. You can get a DVB-T2 TV(hii haina shida) easily though. The TVs with DVB-S2 TVs usually have a PCMCIA slot where you slot in the pay tv card, like that for dstv decoders. But as doctor has said, for satellite TV you’d rather get a stand-alone sat decoder. Why? Because you’ll enjoy frequent firmware updates so you get more channels, more unscrambling of some scrambled channels through BISS codes…TV manufacturers will update the TVs firmware for better user experience, format support,…without giving a damn about satellite signal decoding.

Hapo sasa…this really helps. sengio

Not to mention the small matter of price, too. One with the integrated tuner is likely to cost way much more than is necessary.

I think I saw a poster here who said a 32 inch DVB-S2 TV costs 32K at luthuli avenue that’s why I was inclined towards buying a tuner integrated TV as it would be cheaper. Money to me is a big matter hehe but the points you and @danji1 have raised show that the quality could be compromised.

Hehe…this is how I look at it myself: how often would I replace my tv? Once every 10-15years? On the other hand, satellite broadcasting technology is always changing and every so often, new stuff comes up that renders old decoders (almost) obsolete. So, unless one is willing to change their tv every so often, you’re likely to be saddled with a satellite tuner that you can’t make much use of in a short while. Not worth it in my opinion. It’s always much cheaper replacing a standalone decoder/STB than the whole tv set.

Makes perfect sense.I already have a go-tv decoder that I bought last year but I wont feel a pinch when I pass it on to someone else. Thanks.