eCitizen

[SIZE=6]Treasury now disowns eCitizen platform company[/SIZE]

It appears there was an underground scheme to siphon millions of public funds that are wired through the platform which is used to access almost all government services. Given that the KRA is the only institution that is mandated to collect revenue on behalf of the govt, it is confusing how a private firm by the name of Goldrock ended up being the one that has been collecting these revenues on behalf of the govt and the Treasury ends up disowning this particular firm. Since 2016, the private firm collected 5.6 Billion shillings, then in April - they were locked out of the paybill number. So now they’re suing the government for 126 million shillings. Also, given that e-Citizen was funded by the World Bank, how the hell did a private company end up in charge of revenue collection?

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Treasury-now-disowns-eCitizen-platform-company/539546-4185702-15ly2cq/index.html

Ile corruption iko Kenya wacha tuu. But this is by commission. Did kra just find out recently? They knew all along what was happening and where the money was going.

@LeoK , am not privy to whats happening at e-Citizen but this is a venture that was earning those involved millions per day…so the source of friction could be about sharing of the loot, seems like someone else wants in.

heri tuachane tu roho safi.

E-citizen is a very efficient platform. For a long time, I’ve been surprised that a government agency could be that efficient, kumbe there’s a private company involved? That explains a lot. So what if they charge an extra 50 bob per transaction? What is 50 bob? I’d rather pay that amount and receive instant service than pay the exact amount and wait hours, days, even weeks for my application to be processed. Before e-citizen, you had to physically go to these offices, queue for hours, bribe some idlers to “hasten” the process, and still wait days or weeks for results. So again I ask, what is 50 shillings?Government needs to contract more private companies to run our institutions, including prisons, customs, traffic department, ports and others that require smooth operation.
Let us look at the bigger picture.

Look at the irony. You can apply for a Cert of Good Conduct from DCI through eCitizen but kra apan tambua ? Waache kutubeba waana.

I dont think 50 bob is the problem here. The problem is that there could have been a conduit through which these funds were passing and hence the public has been hoodwinked into thinking it is legitimate revenue. Safaricon being one of these accomplices

50bob × ______users daily.

Enyewe kuna biashara ligi kubwa.

you’re the only kikuyu I like, lol

I have been going away from this issue .Waaaaah tunapimwa i see a brewing scandal .Yani hizi pesa za driving licence hawajui nani amekua akichukua …?

Ule jamaa wa mashamba ndio alipigania hii kitu.Uyo jamaa ni billio-nare. Sasa tegea aunde castle zingine ama anunue hoteli zingine na aweze kujifund come 22

Wacha my fren ajipange za campaign 2022.