Elections Related: Meanwhile Foreign Media Spin - The Economist

My bro just sent me this article…didn’t see the need of posting in the elections thread.

Have a look villagers…what do wazungus want to paint us as?

What are your objective thoughts?

[ATTACH=full]134998[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]134999[/ATTACH]

https://www.economist.com/news/leaders/21730643-even-if-he-wins-kenyas-president-will-emerge-less-legitimacy-bad-election-worse

A snippet:
"Start with the bad loser. Mr Odinga withdrew from the race on October 10th. He has been careful not to call for violence, but nor has he dispelled the view that the only way to prevent it would be to offer him unreasonable concessions. He has rejected seeking further redress in the courts, arguing that the crisis is a political one and requires a political solution.

Mr Kenyatta has been more irresponsible still. Parliament has passed laws to restrict the powers of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and the courts. Before the election on August 8th, it deported foreign experts hired by the opposition to monitor the electronic-vote count. The government argues that it is constitutionally bound to press ahead with the vote; postponing it would be illegal and reward the menacing actions of Mr Odinga’s supporters."

Just thought I’d share to add to the conversation…my bro thinks they seem to be echoing the opposition.

Economist articles block you if you’re not subscribed…just a warning. Had to go offline once the page started downloading.:smiley:

it was a flawed election. Kwani ni uongo? I second.

The problem with this and most articles, it all depends on who is their correspondent. Here’s another…

https://www.economist.com/news/middle-east-and-africa/21730657-it-will-do-little-improve-presidents-legitimacy-kenyas-fresh-election

Good to know.

why was it flawed? tuambie hata sisi tujue

I see what you mean…

Just been chatting with my bros online, the one who sent me this is in Shanghai, hence my usiku sacco moment; he seems to feel that articles like these from outlets like the Economist act as a signal, so to speak, sort of a forerunner to some sort of ‘political struggle for freedom’ narrative/action.
Not saying it is though.
If we look back at Ukraine, Libya, and arab spring countries, Brazil even, the media narrative is pushed this way…Kenya is definitely fair game geopolitically.

What do you think bro?

Not to sound ominous lakini. Just random thoughts…
Kenyans, whoever they voted for, need to be vigilant. Our prez needs to be very chonjo.
I just wish that there was some leaked, indisputable & damning info that could link these forces (soros or otherwise) to the opposition, if they do exist, and expose them.

Hehe, I see you’re afraid of ending up like MuBig on the other thread. I honestly think interpreting these international media outlets is very subjective. Ukraine and Libya in my opinion are totally different from what we are going through. This crisis is manufactured and may be, depending on who’s on Raila’s corner, as you mentioned it might start getting worse considering their aim at sabotaging the current government.

Ata mimi nataka kujua

Nobody cares what the white Devils think or say

My friend reason please for the love that is all good and fair please reason. His father was quietly sneaking socialism in Kenya. The country will move on. In 1992 Matiba was rigged out, arrested and due to torture became paralyzed and Kikuyus were killed in Rift. No Kikuyu formed a militia, burnt property or behaved in any senseless manner. 21 years later Kibaki became president. Not once did Kikuyus say they will revisit kales or such kind of moronic sentiments. My friend Kenya continued after the unfortunate deaths of TJ, Jommo, and others it will after this. Stop making it look like luos have sacrificed anything. The history of this country is riddled with other tribes that have sacrificed so much. We have the Maasai, Nandi, Meru, Indians, Kenyan somalis, Costal tribes…let reason prevail.

Reason will never prevail my friend. As long as people remain illeterate and lack tolerance…we will always go back to square one

But ingekuwa kuhusu RAO unge care?

Pwahahaha

In due time the Economist will change their story,am not sure where their current correspondent will be then

Mtamrevisit?:rolleyes:

Could be Akombe is their correspondent

He he

[ATTACH=full]135035[/ATTACH]

Yeap, huwezi shindana na y=mx+c

apan tambua opinion pieces. the author could be a Raila sympathiser.