Elon Musk goes full crazy with the 2021 Tesla Model S.

[SIZE=5]The Tesla Model S will have no gear selector. You have to TRUST the computer…:eek:

Huyu Elon Musk anajiamini a bit too much.

The steering wheel is also chopped off…

And is this the future of car reviews? Because EVs are essentially just smartphones on wheels are these the fellows who will be doing future car reviews?!

This guy is too lazy to even leave the driver’s seat and check out the rear passenger seats. What a lazy bastard.

Base price of the Model S below $74,490 .

(Si afadhali ushike BMW X7 which is in fact the same price or much less.)

This car below is insanely fast though. 0 to 60 in 0.99 seconds. Top speed 320kph.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHvkyrey3JE
[/SIZE]

on paper …
I’m jesus
anyone who went to an engineering lesson can’t support that posting…
99% that prototpye will fail spectucalry:D

It’s a masterpiece, I love it. I 'm a 9 to 3 driver and that wheel is perfect!
Also the plaid+ is way ahead of anything else. Pesa ingekuwa singemind.

It’s a prototype. But better than the X7. X7 is really expensive to maintain after 80k miles. The air suspension usually fails.

Mark Ass Brownie?

is he still South African au?

They want to eliminate the driver from the vehicle

Unabishana story za computer and yet unaskia hii gari yote ni computer more or less. The number of processors and sensors in this car alone are mind boggling. That technology and accompanying software is what you are REALLY paying for.

The ability for you to rev the motor to rotate the wheels from 0 to 60 in 0.99 seconds has little to do with mechanics and more to do with data transmission between your foot, to accelerator to computer processor via software interface telling the motor to rev up to full power. That is where the real ingeniuty is and Elon Musk is leading the pack.

And now he tells you to trust this car to shift gears for you. This is all about programming and microchip capability.

Has nothing to do with chips or programming.
Let me assist you so that engineers on this site quit laughing at you.
There’s a fundamental difference between an Electric Vehicle and a vehicle with a Conventional Engine.

In a EV, when you step on the accelerator , electrical energy from a battery gets transferred to mechanical energy in a motor which turns the tire. Think of a light switch. Speed of electrons( electricity) is almost instantaneous ( speed of light) . There’s “no time delay”.

In a CE, 4 things happen. 1st gas and air enter a combustion chamber. Then they get compressed by a piston. Then an ignition aided by the spark plugs takes place. This ignition pushes the piston away to a connecting rod to a crankshaft which powers the tire. Then the spent gas has to be expelled. All this has a time factor attached. This is what’s called the stroke of an engine. It will never match the speed of electricity. It’s the reason a T3 beats a Huracan initially.

I could explain torques ( why the Huracan catches up with the T3 after 300m) and the motor of a EV but this is clearly not for you. But to simplify, the T3 is at full power when you step the accelerator whereby the Huracan is not. In fact by design the Huracan cannot be. If you try rushing the cycle( with your microchips :rolleyes:) , you create what’s called a “knock”. I hope at least you are familiar with the term engine knock.

This is as simple as I can get.

an EV cannot “knock”. The motors are onthe wheels. It takes perfect software for such a quick launch

Concerning the ‘knock’ he was not speaking of the EV but yhe huracan

You only seem to know of the mechanical aspect of a car but you do not comprehend the electronic component of the car.

And electronics took over a long time ago. Cars stopped being mechanical and pneumatic in the 1950s. Bila electronics gari haiendi mahali.

Na gari zote ziko na computer leo.

In a conventional car for instance there is a computer called an ECU.

Engine Control Unit or Engine Control Module.

And it goes by many names EFI, VVTI, VTECH, CVT… etc.

Starting from the 1950s with the invention of transistors and then microchips modern cars started using basic computers to monitor all aspects of the mechanical engine.

An ECU computer can control many aspects of an engine & transmission. It can control the valve time, fuel injection, , air fuel ratio, and even the idling of the engine etc.

ECU inakuwaga hapo mbele na ikipata maji shauri yako.

You car engine is called by the ECU computer it uses. If it uses an EFI system it is known as an EFI car. Yaani Electronic Fuel Injection. There is a computer controlling the amount of fuel being injected by the nozzles.

There is an ECU computer that controls most turbo charged or super charged engines.

In fact it is a computer that removed the clutch pedal in cars!

Computer za gari zikiharibika hio gari haiendi mahali. It is the brain of the car and even stores the car’s memory especially in push button cars.

The Huracan you speak of is full of computers and sensors in practically the whole car even in the wheels.

The huracan is computerized in ever aspect from the braking system to the engine tuning to the steering… to even the seat belt tension and air bag system.

That is why to diagnose a modern car mechanics simply use computers because it is a computer talking to a fellow computer!

Sensors, ECU, dont change the basic principle by which an engine works. I have given you 2. There are others btw. And an Electric Vehicle works with a different principle. And those principles have not been changed by Elon Musk as per your arguments.

All this timing is being done seemlessly by your car’s ECU computer system.

For instance to rotate the crankshaft there is a crank sensor :

Crankshaft position sensor - Wikipedia

This sensor monitors the RPMs in the engine, sparking events and in some cars it also monitors the fuel injection.

All this information is fed back and forth to the ECU as you drive.

There is also an oxygen sensor that measures the air to fuel ratio :

Oxygen sensor - Wikipedia

There is the throttle sensor. Hii unajua. It controls air intake. And it is controlled directly by the ECU processor :

Throttle position sensor - Wikipedia

Etc etc.

Since the 1950s cars are not designed mechanically but electronically minded.

Cars are becoming more electronically advanced not mechanically advanced.

To repair a modern BMW for instance labda urudishe kwa duka because it’s electronic systems are highly advanced.

Principle hasn’t changed.

I think EV’s make more sense here in Africa than ICE, our sunlight can provide reliable energy off the grid, no need for crazy dust filters (gari ilichock ikasuffocate nikipeleka waifu ukambani) and the temperature is ideal for discharge. The problem is the tech-heavy side, but with drivers reporting only changing brakes, tyres and coolant it’s not a biggie in the long run.

Cars are faster and more efficient because of electronics so you can’t say that the principle hasn’t changed. In fact it has been altered by electronics.

All the different types of engine setups today are guided by the electronic system in use.

And now the combustion engine is out and and in comes the electronic digital motor !

Mechanic amerushwa nje kabisa. Mtu wa stima ndio amebaki. :D:D

In fact hata leo ukienda kwa mechanic, yule mtu wa stima na ile laptop yake ndio kusema.

Ukipea mechanic Mercedes latest hata hajui anaeza anzia wapi because everything is DIGITAL and COMPUTERIZED.

You have to start with the laptop guy.

The only disadvantage is that cars have become more expensive instead of being cheaper.

In the 1960s and early 70s there was the degree in Mechanical engineering.

Then came Mechatronics in 1969 because electronics ndio kusema. Electronics guide the mechanical aspects.

Even in the camera world the analogue film was thrown out and was replaced by an electronic chip.

The old engine is being phased out and replaced with an electronic digital motor. It sings via digital commands.

Very soon even that motor itself will be phased out by something even more “electronic” and “digital”.

Maybe it will be a simple microchip of sorts powering and driving an automobile.

4 stroke engine on 1885 Benz Patent-Motorwagen (“patent motorcar”), built in 1885 by Karl Benz. 4 stroke engine on 2020 Mercedes-Benz S560 AMG.
The principle hasnt changed.