Embarrassing moments at work!

So today was another embarrassing day for me at work, I had another one 8 years back.

We had planned for a WebEx meeting with a client team from Asia. They had to dial in and join the meeting online – sema macollaboration faster faster. Hii meeting ilikuwa na participants 10. Boss wangu, a lady colleague, and the rest (client) from Asia. Kila mtu alikuwa na kompyuta yake, sasa mambo ni ilikuwa screen-sharing if you want to demonstrate something.

Sasa……just imagine, kufika kwangu….si nimechangamka. No sooner had I shared my screen than this post from Ktalk became the front runner in my Windows.
https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/nikunywe-gani.61663/#post-1316983

[ATTACH=full]136353[/ATTACH]
@uwesmek nawesa mwaga unga na mboga!

Sema kutafuta minimize na close button, wapi!..nikajaribu kufunga meeting session, wapi!..kujaribu kufungua my content, wapi!..nikabaki na ma eerrr, eeeer, as you know bla blah blah. Don’t even ask me what happened next. Niko na meeting na boss kesho saa nane. Just imagine…………

Back to 8 years ago, I was still a junior in my workplace. Yani nilikuwa na bidii kama ya mchwa, hata ukinituma floor namba 30 from ground floor nitaenda na stairs na nirudi mbele ya mtu ametumia lift. On that bad day, I was working with a guy from Uganda and one of my senior collegue, tukiwa kwa client. Tulikuwa tumepewa room moja pale second floor. At one point, my senior colleague alikuwa ameenda meeting na client within the building. Huyu jamaa wa UG akanituma niende nichukue files 10th floor from someone. Mimi na ujinga wangu, chap chap….Epoch akaamuka, akawacha kompyuta yake ikiwa open (not locked).

Wakati nimetoka, kumbe the guy accessed my laptop and sent a message to my senior colleague saying how he loves him, venye anamumiss, venye he’s thinking of him. Remember, all that was from my email account. Kidokidogo, nikapigiwa simu na my senior collegue……epoch kwani umekuwa mwenda, wewe ni meffi sana……

Returning to that room I was embarrassed kuona hiyo mail. To my chagrin, the UG guy was laughing all along. Just imagine!

Please share your low moments at work. Be happy!

meffi, you not there

i once texted my bae venye ako na fig tamu.bahati mbaya nika tuma text kwa boss lady wah na yy na monkey ni ma cuzo sema kupendwa na ape wah!!

My first job straight out of Uni I was sitting next to a guy we were in the same class. It was an entry level admin job with open cubicles so anything you say on the phone the next person could hear. I got a call one day from a head hunter and juu nilijua kitunguu itanuka, I left the room and took the call in the hallway.
A few days later my colleague was on the phone and I could tell from the conversation, he was talking to the same lady I’d been talking to days before. I acted like I was oblivious of what was happening.

Long story short, the guy ended up getting the damn job. :smiley:

always not there

one drunken night i texted a rather graphic statement of intent to someone of the opp sex only for the message to go to the first person in my phone book, a colleague senior to me whose name stats with Ab. needless to say i had a long morning debating whether to approach and apologize or pretend. finally when i brought the issue up he just laughed, saying such messages were common to him. since then the first ten contacts on my phone are always nonesense numbers.

I once sent a sexual message to a wrong lady, lucky she was a friend so she understood, from that day my text app must have a delay of 1.5sec

So happened later, promotion or kufutwa ?

epoch mine are too many but I will just quote 2.

1. On a working from home day a few years ago. I left my 5 year old nephew near my laptop with an incomplete email open and went to the loo. He got on with ‘completing the email’ by hitting all the keys and then hit send. It went to all the big dons. Ngaai, I gathered they were reading and scratching their heads. They did not know how to deal with it as we sign a doc every 6 months or so declaring that you will look after Gava IT in your care bla bla bla. I had to grovel to one woman and explain what happened and they all saw the funny side but weee never again.
  2. Organising the logistics of a huge high level meeting inc all the briefing packs. Agenda changed last minute. Missed it. Sent the Director off to chair the meeting with the old agenda. She kicked off the meeting, reading bull, oh the shame…she ended up chairing the meeting reading over someone’s shoulder. She came from the meeting and ushered me to a meeting room. Thought she was going to say well done. Errrr NOPE…:smiley:

Delay tena? Messages iko na io delay option??

Shait, noma…the path we go through!

Nangoja majibu

You’re going to make tons of embarrassing mistakes during the course of your career because no one is perfect. Forgive yourself and move on!

Sure, I normally laugh them off and even narrate them (selected ones) while mentoring others.

Unasumbua watu

Yep. Sis some of those Directors I am quoting are my BFFs and we laugh but it was not laughable then. It has made me so cautious as the Brit does not forgive all the time. They are mean.

My dear that’s the reality of life, kujikaza tuu…Lakini why can’t we marry reach husbands so we can be chillin at home, blogging and watching trash tv? When we get tired of that we head out shopping and get our nails done. Work is soo overrated, sigh.!

@Ka-Buda has offered. Ebu he finds us here. I like my wek…hizo zingine cannot handle. Kwanza shopping…

Huge kasheshe in the gava hia such that Westminster has now been been dubbed PESTMINSTER…don’t want to say much, google. Reke ngome…will catch you kesho honeybees and hope is all.

i recently mass texted my jubilee friends and family of how uthamaki ni yetu na venye hakuna mahali inaenda, accidentally inserting my boss’ number who is nasa damu in the process… the look he gave me in the morning, I knew he would never see me in the same light he saw me before