Executive, Parliament to blame for Kenya's failures -CJ Maraga tells the Oxford Union Conference in UK

While addressing an international audience in the United Kingdom. CJ Maraga accused the political elite, in the Executive and Parliament, for “cherry-picking” provisions of the Constitution, only implementing those that safeguard their personal or sectarian interests.
He said…

[COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]“Plundering pubic resources by the few elites in Kenya is the order of the day yet most Kenyans are living below the poverty line.”
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2001328644/maraga-executive-and-parliament-worst-enemies-of-kenya

Yet the people in jail are the chicken thieves. This man is one of our major problems in Kenya, mighty useless.

We shall revisit threat is this guys nightmare

CJ Maraga hawezi ongea kuhusu governance. The institution he leads is full of thugs. His DCJ is accused of very dishonourable things. His judges are excused by the Akasha brothers and yet he has not launched investigations

Unaniangusha sasa. Whose responsibility is it to investigate allegations of criminal conduct? Where a judge is presented with a weak case by the prosecution, should he jail the accused just coz that is what the public is calling for?
Take the case of Mwilu. The law is very clear on how accusations of misconduct by a Supreme Court judge ought to be handled. First by the JSC then after vacating office by the DPP. What does the DPP do? He decides to play to the gallery and disregards the law. Tufunge tuu? Who is the accuser? At what point does a civil matter morph into a criminal matter?
Saying that the Judiciary is full of thugs hence the reason why the country is suffering is oversimplifying a very complex matter. Is the judiciary the reason why the Eurobond is yet to be accounted for? Or is it the reason why buildings are collapsing all over? Or the reason why Matiangi is unable to control the matatu menace? Or the reason why Kibicho is still in office years after Ignoring a court order?

You have some varied point, but by now, The CJ should have constituted a panel to loook into akasha allegations.

Classic case of pot calling the kettle black.

When you have a leader who refuses to be held accountable, then you have a problem. It can’t be that everyone else is to blame.

I understand your frustrations but methinks they are misdirected. Gatheca has you where he wanted. He wants to deflect his ineptitude at other areas. Your head needs to be examined if you believe Gatheca is powerless in all this. The “mnataka nifanye nini” was directed at simpletons who don’t understand how the govt works and actually believe the constitution limits what one can do.

He is part of the problems in Ke254

i couldn’t have said this any better!!!

The Judiciary is not the issue. The Executive is. Maraga is right about the cherrypicking. You can’t expect people to be jailed tu hadharani. Unfortunately even the “guilty” have a chance to defend themselves. The complex set of laws we have are not created by the Judiciary, they’re created by Parliament. It is the case of the Judiciary to interprete those laws.

I’ll leave this here and then let’s dissect impuity

[ATTACH=full]241477[/ATTACH]

Kibicho must know that his bosses will do nothing…

Where exactly do you live?

He does not gather evidence, he just judges it. Laumu DCI, DPP etc.

funny how a chicken thief evidence is adequate, but for big thugs caught with their hands in the till, there is never enough evidence for the judiciary. This guy should just accept that the judiciary he heads are just as much thugs as the legislature and the executive he loves accusing.

Which has greater power\authority over the other? or which has oversight over the other?
The Judiciary and the Executive are both too compromised, both have serious weakness, they are at a stalemate, non-respects the other, which creates a bottleneck in implementation of Just Justice, correction of impunity and upholding accountability – safeguard for a safe and a decent society becomes broken.

if you bring me a useless file for investigation, i will judge it based on the uselessness of the investigation. this goes for kuku thieves and big thieves.

haiya sawa basi. alafu, you have big thieves taking good lawyers, seeking legal injuctions and bails, and then delaying the cases with one issue or another. these laws cannot be broken by the judiciary. Parliament makes laws and you’ve seen Executive-capture at Parliament.

It starts with the basics. Make the laws work for everyone the same way. But how the law works is also based on the file brought before the judiciary

You are not serious

His judgements have a predictable trend : he doesn’t just judge he judges and the outcome depends on the net worth of a nigga in terms of the 1000 bills banked in a mattress

The three arms of government are to blame

Seriously did he say “Pubic” ama Public…Pubic is related to “fudhis” bana …:D:D… Ati Pubic resources…