EXPOSED: HOW NAIROBIANS ARE CONNECTING FOR CHEAP WITH DSTV ‘SAMBAZA’

[SIZE=4]Posted on Nov 7, 20154236 Views[/SIZE]

http://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/editor4523297296809590730-524x350.jpgA Police officer at a house where two suspects were arrested for illegal distribution of satellite TV signals in Umoja estate. PHOTO | NAIROBI NEWS
[SIZE=4]By Hilary Kimuyu[/SIZE]

It is an illegal connection to satellite television for most Nairobians that allows them to watch the latest sport, movies, series and reality shows. The upside of it is that its cheap, the ugly truth is that its illegal.

Yet ‘DStv Sambaza’, as it is popularly known, remains popular among Nairobi’s middle-class regardless of the legal risk. It involves the illegal distribution of satellite TV signals among neighbours at reduced monthly rates.

It is a multi-million shilling business where satellite TV signal distribution is done through cables connected to decoders owned by unscrupulous individuals.

http://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/editor5938921314566099407.jpg
Police bust a house where illegal distribution of satellite TV is done. PHOTO | NAIROBI NEWS

Premium entertainment that would otherwise cost households between Sh4,000 to Sh7,000 now costs between Sh500 to Sh1,000 depending on the location.

POPULAR IN EASTLANDS

The illegal connections are popular among households in Eastlands estates like Buruburu, Umoja, Kayole, Donholm and Embakasi. The trend has also spread to estates along Thika Superhighway like Kasarani, Roy Sambu, Githurai and Kahawa West.

http://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/editor4737942104594491997.jpg
Police in action during the operation in Umoja estate. PHOTO | NAIROBI NEWS

South African company MultiChoice is the biggest victim of this racket. Its digital satellite TV service DStv holds exclusive rights to broadcast the English Premier League and popular television series. But the company’s bouquets are well beyond the means of most households, and this has drawn many Nairobi residents to plug-on to the illegal connections.

Sources have explained to Nairobi News how the racketeers have widened their reach in estates using Kenya Power electricity transmission cables and electricity posts.

A single group or individual offering the ‘DStv Sambaza’ service can operate between 50 to 100 connections within an estate at a connection charge between Sh 500 and Sh 1,000. They reap a whooping Sh 100,000 every month.

FAMILY SECRETS

The illegal connections seem like well guarded family secrets among Nairobi residents. Many know they are unlawful, but don’t mind reaping the benefits.

“Besides, it creates employment for local youths!” a resident told Nairobi News.

There has been attempts by authorities to stamp out the illegal trade over the years. In 2014, an operation by the Kenya Copyright Board, Kenya Power, MultiChoice Kenya and Zuku raided households Umoja and Donholm estates.

http://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/editor6655878421173438627.jpg
Two suspects who were arrested in connection with illegal distribution of satellite TV signal. PHOTO | NAIROBI NEWS

During the raid, over 60 decoders for DSTV, Zuku, Star Times and GoTV were confiscated. Three people were arrested among them caretakers of the flats.

Nairobi News contacted Philip Wahome, MultiChoice Kenya’s communication manager, on why the number of illegal connections continue unabetted and whether the company’s advertising strategy is benefiting from the wider reach.

Nairobi News also reached Kevin Sang, the Corporate Communications at Kenya Power on why they allow the unscrupulous individuals to use their electricity posts.

Both individuals did not reply our emails.

Someone snitched!

Washabeba Jose ama bado?

Haiya!! :eek:

wakwende bado tutakula za bure

This will go on till kenyans realised that kuna FTA SATELLITE TV WHERE DSTV GETS ITS SIGNALS.

A few years back some fellows in Easich were nabbed in a similar manner. Last I recall, they were fined (?) something like 800k each.

Ambia hawa watu walikuwa wanajisifu na Qsat vile ukishikwa ni noma.

Niliwaambia nikaitwa mwoga.:slight_smile:

It has always been there. I know of a CID Officer in this business for over 5 years. Hizi crackdown Ni PR

Sadness of having new villagers ,sasa hawo maboys wame kuwa snitched.

thing is this. you’ll find there’s a customer enjoying dstv/zuku/startimes or whatever. then one day, his account develops a problem.
either there is no signal or some channel he normally watches is scrambled. he then calls customer care and complains about his problem.
customer care realize that there is an account discrepancy. next thing, arrests.
sometimes all it takes is for a customer to complain. its not necessarily snitching.

@Bingwa Scrotum chukua kazi

when you stupidly overprice your product and brand it premium, na maringo that it is for the upper niche, you open yourself to counterfeiters. we are not in 1995…

do you know what it costs to have all that content? you can’t pay peanuts for it. stop using the price as an excuse.

It is evident those packages are overpriced because of the monopolistic environment that company enjoys. Similar packages are priced lower in S.A. than in Kenya.

I really enjoyed that service awhile back for 800 Bob a month very good for watching EPL games and movies on fox, too bad where I moved to that kind of service would be frowned upon :(:(:frowning:

what could be the reason? Taxation? Govt policy? Remember, the govt is a major shareholder in Multichoice Kenya

if i was a decision maker for multichoice i would halve the price of the premium bouquet to about 5 k. this would make sufferers like me who are waiting for time to go watch chelsea to consider the cost of taxi and drinks i don’t need and upgrade, bringing in 10,000 (theoretical figure!) new customers served at no extra cost except account management which is automated anyway in place of 500 who are drinking their martels in golf clubs. 100005000=50m in the bank compared to 5001000=500000 currently. the idea is to be just below the psychological boundary where the customer says this thing is expensive…and hii mambo ya kupandisha tariffs every time obama sneezes is bad for biz image…

Our first president used to say in the magendo era ‘kanyoni gakwawihithahithe na wonwo nduri wakwa’
They get you are on your own.