FAIL: Safaricom Big box update

Safaricom has slashed the prices of its Internet-enabled digital TV decoders by 50 per cent in a re-launch meant to address the low uptake of the devices dubbed ‘The Big Box’. The telco last Friday started selling the devices for Sh4,999 which is half the price the decoders have been retailing at since being launched in May.

Customers will now have to part with more money to load Internet bundles. Through a monthly data bundle option, subscribers could previously purchase 50GB bundles for Sh4,000, 20GB for Sh2,000, 10GB for Sh1,500 and 6GB for Sh999.

Bundle prices

The new monthly plans will now see users buy 5GB for Sh1,199, 15GB for Sh3,199 and 30GB for Sh5,999, a more expensive offering than the one Safaricom outlined in May.

“The new bundle prices have been adjusted slightly but still remain attractive and highly discounted compared to our regular mobile data bundle prices,” said Ms Mulinge.

“These bundles are exclusive to the Big Box only and cannot be purchased for any other device.”

I never see this thing progressing well, the internet bundles are too expensive taking into account the high consumption for streaming.

The problem is not the price of the box, the problem is the cost of internet especially for people living outside Nairobi.

Sell the box on the cheap, recover the moni through expensive bundles

I wish they could have just done satellite broadcasting, preferably on 17e or 5e . And also avail data allover the region via same satellites for those who wish to have iptv. Or else just lay fiber cables and give zuku competition…

I think it can, if they decide to pre-install softwares like XBMC/KODI
(hapa watakuwa wamemaliza sisi wakulima wadogo:eek::eek:)

wakae nazo

But what about the internet bundle prices? I think thats where the cash cow is, which is in my opinion too expensive for most kenyans. For those without cheaper ethernet sidhani watatumia hii kitu sana, and for those with it, safaricom doesnt reap as intended.

17e imepotea ki malaysian plane.

Bana. Wife ameleta shida aje, hawezi ona soap sasa. Nina hope itarudi soon juu ni V tu ziko off.

hahaha mwambie kuna nyesha China hakuna kitu unaeza fanya

hio sat immenda for gd, forget about it, i hope continental package comes to 7e of 5e.

You speak so confidently, inakaa una insider info…haha! Btw has 16e been affected too, sijacheki hizo na hapo ndio mi hubahatisha UCL kwa Vision tv na Oromia.

Lazima nikazane nizipate kwa sat ingine. Huwezi jua labda ASAS fever ndio ilimuingiza box…

go to 70e.
btw cant inbox you.

Safaricom have done their research and noted the increasing number of niccurs doing streaming using their bundles. THAT IS THEIR NEXT REVENUE TARGET.
They may have a fight from DSTV but, these fcukers will crash anything that comes their way. Hizo box siku moja hivi karibuni zitanunuliwa kama keki moto.

Zuku should come up with their own Android tv boxes with KODI pre-installed. Hapo watachapa Safcom 10-nil.
Beef yangu na Safaricom ni vile wanamarket device ya kustream via bundles. It is too damn expensive.

I dont see it happening anytime soon. During its launch, i was in attendance and i remember engaging a certain all-knowing dick-head from safaricom about their whole strategy as regards the pricing of the Big box. Niccur told me while trying to show me how smart he is about bei ya routers. Nikamwambia tungoje tuone.
What is obvious is the fact that this time round, safaricom’s targeting is poor. Those who can afford the Box as priced together with the attendant bundles already have options. Those who really need the box cannot afford it. Results; low uptake.

Am thinking of that, shida ni mahali dish iko, east kuna abstraction, but nimeona azimuth ya 70b ni 88.1, thats to the right of paksat 1R which is 46.5 (right??)…so comparing my two dishes in the photo attached the 130 might be able to nab 70b…ama? NB: 130 cm Dish is at 17e 240 pf iko Paksat
[ATTACH=full]21979[/ATTACH]

@Meria Mata Let me inbox you nione…

Nilikuambia uniuzie hii burungo ukadinda?

Hio building iko mbali sana, you will get it bro with the 180, just put marks on the dish ili uwe ukiswing huko wakati wa game, then add a ku lnb hapo for 70e.