Fair Usage Policy: Safaricom Vs. Zuku Vs JTL Faiba

Now that Safaricom have decided to fuack us, I’m looking for alternative wifi options.
So far, these are my conclusions:

JTL Faiba:
30 mbs at 5k is a good deal. But that’s their cheapest home internet deal.

Apparently, JTL Faiba has a hidden fair usage policy in their terms & conditions.

If you’re a heavy internet quota and you hit your monthly quota, Faiba JTL will cap your torrent speed.

According to Faiba JTL, if you hit your quota, the bandwidth won’t be affected except the torrent speed.

But what’s the quota? That’s the problem, Faiba JTL doesn’t specify.

Is it possible that Faiba JTL will only limit torrent speed, but leave out streaming?
I’m not sure.
I think they’re trying to sugar coat that they have a fair usage policy.

Zuku:

Zuku doesn’t have a fair usage policy…Or do they? It seems they do.

The Zuku Fair Use Policy automatically identifies the extremely heavy users and manages their bandwidth in order to protect the services to all our customers.” - Straight from the horse’s mouth.

That means, if you’ve noticed your Zuku internet speed has slowed down at some point, it’s possible that they’ve capped your speed.

However, Zuku reduces your internet speed (for extremely heavy users) between 11 a.m to 10 p.m. After that, you can continue with your usual internet speed if you’re past the monthly quota.

Basically, the more you use, the less speed priority you get.

Safaricom:
We’ve already discussed this so I will not go into the details.

But it’s not fair for customers who are paying 12k to be capped at the same rate and quota with customers who are paying 4k.

It makes sense to pay 10K for Faiba JTL Business internet (15mbps) than Safaricom Diamond Home package (50 mbps).

It’s not 2010 anymore, and 500gb and 1TB data is not a lot considering we’re moving towards 4K and 8K tvs in our home.

Let’s not lie to ourselves: The real reason why internet data caps exist on fibre optic cables is not because of congestion, but because ISPs don’t want to spend a lot of money to upgrade and maintain their infrastructure.

It all comes down to profits and more profits.
Not to mention, the fact that there is no big competition to the top 3 home ISPs (Safaricom, Zuku and JTL Faiba) means that they can fuack us when they want.

@Sambamba unatumia gani?

Mkiwa na mjaluo @Tom Bayeye kutoka Rang’ala.

@Wanaruona sijakuuliza. Najua unatumia 5mb daily bundle.

The normal fibre user with a LIFE doesn’t exhaust the data cap. The group affected by this unfair usage policies are the abnormal internet junkies.

There are people living in households with many people and TV sets. Mtu mmoja ako bedroom akiona Netflix, mwingine ako sitting room akicheza games.

Regardless, unlimited should be UNLIMITED. Internet sio kama maji ati inaeza iisha.

A typical household, especially with the changes covid brought about might find those limits limiting and affecting the online quality - working from home, the kids learning from home, streaming content, OS updates might force one to have a backup connection just in case.

True, for a single person that might be more that enough, but if you consider a family setup, the online quality will be greatly affected.

Internet is a limited resource. Remember your economics class. Water is also a limited resource unless you want to fetch 20 litres kibuyu in a whole hour.

Torrent ni ya kazi gani kwa faiba? imo it doesn’t matter, unless it is a different thing. The torrent of late 2000s, the one I know, ilikuwa download manager. Na kama ni hiyo unasema, just wondering why you would have home internet in this age and still want to download heavy stuff. Utamu wa mtandao ni kuona, kufanyia kazi, ku save/bookmark/cloud, na kuwacha huko.

Sawa muuza tako.

Kutoka shiny eye achukue ushukani Saf has become shittier.

Umesahau Torrent ndio tunatoa Windows, Adobe and stuff. Some things are needed offline. What works for you may not for someone else.

The only aim for Safaricom is to kick the Mtaani resellers that get 100Mbps at 10k and drop Lans to 10 ninjas for 2500 a month for 5-10Mbps.

I think streaming uses the same bandwidth as downloading if not more… Coz if the same item has to be rewatched then it has to be fetched again unlike an Offline download which can be watched over and over again without requiring additional data…

You do know there are people who work from home and need to download and upload large files, right? Ama wacha tu nikuwache juu ni kama your brain cannot withstand that level of reasoning :D:D:D

:D:D:D It is very silly at this day and age kuskia a whole village elder akiongea kitu kama hii,there are people like me who depend on good internet and enough bandwith for work, i am a motion graphics artist and a video editor, i download huge files every single day, i can download a 4k footage shot on a Red Camera for my work kitu ya 30minutes can go all the way to 80gb and i have to re upload the same files after color grading and applying visualeffects ikuje kitu kama 100gb…thats in a single day, my point is people who use alot of bandwith that doesnt mean they just torrent stream and play online games

Aaaaaand he’s back for another beat down. Aje aje patricia. Umenimiss?

Mimi ata nime-giff up!!!
The 2nd reply, he’s trying to compare internet with water in a river.
Ati watu wakitumia internet sana itaiisha :D:D:D:D

Kwanza hapo pa internet is a limited resource nimechoka mbaya :D:D:D:D

I think internet is not a limited resource. The means to deliver it may be limited or throttled. Lakini internet haiwezi isha.