Fascinating Lee Njiru Dairies.....

[SIZE=7]Lee Njiru recalls day minister accused Mama Ngina of plotting to eliminate Moi[/SIZE]
Sunday, July 24, 2022

For 24 years, President Daniel arap Moi’s State House was a theatre of intrigues and drama as influential individuals rose or fell jostling for power and favours. In this second instalment of an exclusive four-part serialiasation of an ultimate insider’s tell-all book revealing the deepest secrets of the Jomo Kenyatta and Moi governments, Lee Njiru writes about a purge, paranoia and politics in his memoir, Presidents’ Pressman. Here is the gripping story of the plan to kick-out disloyal Kenyatta-era power men and how the new president’s mistrust after the 1982 coup attempt was a magnet for fraudsters bearing Shakespearean treachery plots with imaginary enemies — including one incredibly claiming that the former First Lady was training sharpshooters in a forest to target the Head of State

[ATTACH=full]452955[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]452954[/ATTACH]
Former president Daniel arap Moi and Mama Ngina.

When (President Daniel) Moi ascended to power (in 1978 after the death of Jomo Kenyatta), I feared for people like (Isaiah) Mathenge, (Geoffrey) Kariithi and (Bernard) Hinga. Early in 1977, vice-president Moi had, during a meeting in Machakos, called for reorganisation of Kenya’s taxation, saying it was punitive and was driving young entrepreneurs out of business. Kariithi (the Head of Civil Service) came out guns blazing. He issued a stinging statement blasting Moi for his views but Moi kept silent. He knew the best option was to bide his time.

[SIZE=6]RELATED[/SIZE]
[li][SIZE=5]State House secret keeper spills the beans[/SIZE][/li]Politics 29 min ago
[li][SIZE=5]Kenyatta was behind the bid to ‘block Moi from succeeding him’[/SIZE][/li]Weekend 29 min ago
[/ul]
Now, after becoming President, Moi summoned me to the Office of the Comptroller. He asked me to sit down over a cup of tea. After a few minutes, Kariithi was ushered in by security officers. Moi had a letter ‘written by Kariithi’ asking the Head of State to allow him to retire. Kariithi did not know anything about the letter. When Moi placed the letter in front of Kariithi, he tried to protest. “Sign here,” Moi ordered.

Read: [B][I]Moi perfected tossing pigeons to the cats[/I][/B]

[B][I] [/I][/B]A frightened Kariithi signed himself out of office. Moi then told me to announce the ‘voluntary’ retirement of Kariithi and the appointment of Jeremiah Gitau Kiereini, a Charles Njonjo ally, to succeed him. Police Commissioner Hinga, was treated in a similar manner. Both were not allowed to leave State House until the news bulletins were broadcast over the VoK (Voice of Kenya). The broadcasts were aired immediately. We had a radio set in the office. The victims also heard the news together with us.

The news item went thus, “Reports reaching us from State House, Nairobi, say that His Excellency President Daniel arap Moi has accepted the retirement request by the Head of Civil Service, Geoffrey Kariithi. Consequently, the President has appointed Jeremiah Gitau Kiereini to be the new Head of Civil Service and Secretary to the Cabinet.”

Hinga was replaced by the GSU Commandant, Ben Gethi (as police commissioner). Interestingly, Rift Valley PC (provincial commissioner), Mathenge, survived by dint of his close relations to the Kenyatta family. Moi allowed him to stay until he retired in 1980. He was succeeded by Arthur Njuguna Ndoro who believed that Moi was a passing cloud. Ndoro was removed in 1981.

As a teetotaller, President Moi could not stand the State House Comptroller, Gitau, an alcoholic. Gitau actually accelerated his removal from State House. Instead of realising that Moi loathed alcohol, or excessive use of it, Gitau continued with his old bad habits. He actually increased the rate of his drinking sprees. And he became careless with his tongue.
One day, Mzee Moi was being entertained by choirs and traditional dancers at State House, Nakuru. The entertainment arena was full to capacity. Then the unthinkable happened. Gitau walked across the arena and in front of the presidential dais where Mzee Moi sat with other VIPs.

Read: [B][I]How Charles Njonjo made Moi VP during limo ride with Kenyatta[/I][/B]

“You have banned corruption. That’s OK. Where do you expect public officers to get money to contribute to your harambee projects?” he asked Moi as he staggered across the floor. Moi did not answer him, but security officers escorted him out of the arena. That was the last question he asked Mzee Moi. He was lucky that Moi deployed him in government instead of summary dismissal.

He was replaced by Andrew Limo arap Ng’eny, who had worked in the Ministry of Agriculture with Cabinet minister Nicholas Biwott. It was believed that he was Biwott’s protégé. What Moi did not know was that the new comptroller was also an alcoholic.

[ATTACH=full]452953[/ATTACH]
President Kenyatta and Mama Ngina during New Year celebrations in the 1970s at State House, Mombasa
File | Nation Media Group

One of Ng’eny’s first undertakings was to set up a secret bar on one side of the upper floor of State House, Nairobi. Moi knew nothing about this establishment. As soon as Moi left the office in the evenings for his Kabarnet Gardens residence, Ng’eny would call the Nairobi PC (provincial commissioner) Paul Boit, and the managing director of the Kenya Posts and Telecommunications Corporation, Kipng’eno arap Ng’eny. The three would drink until 10pm and then move to the United Kenya Club where they caroused till midnight. This became a daily routine whenever Moi was in Nairobi.
Ng’eny’s day started with a glass of double vodka mixed with tonic water. This was dutifully served by a man called Ameda, an expert in mixing alcoholic drinks. He had been inherited by Mzee Jomo Kenyatta from the last colonial governor, Sir Patrick Reneson. Ameda always carried a cherished bottle opener with the British Coat of Arms embossed on it.
One morning, Ng’eny arrived in his office and asked Ameda to bring him his daily dose of vodka and tonic water. As soon as he made the order, he left the office and went to the washroom. Mzee Moi entered Ng’eny’s office and ordered a glass of water from another waiter. Before the waiter came back, Ameda entered carrying Ng’eny’s vodka. Mzee Moi thought it was his water, and stretched his arm to take it. In the nick of time, Ng’eny entered and snatched it from Ameda. It was then that the waiter with the glass of water arrived and gave it to Mzee Moi. The President noticed something and rebuked Ng’eny thus “wewe nyang’au”, meaning “you hyena”. It was such a terrible embarrassment for the new comptroller.

Ng’eny unfortunately died in a road accident in 1983 near the Stem Hotel in Nakuru. His death had a curious element. Whenever he wrote a note to somebody, he signed it ‘ALAN’, short for Andrew Limo arap Ng’eny. The driver of the lorry which Ng’eny’s car rammed into was called Alan Kamau.

[SIZE=6]Ministers who conned Moi[/SIZE]
The attempted coup (on August 1, 1982), and the fear it visited upon President Moi, became a cash-cow for greedy individuals who knew how to work the levers of fear. Most of them were super conmen. They studied the presidency and identified Moi’s closest friends. They isolated those who had limited capacity for analysing and interrogating falsehoods and especially when presented by smartly dressed fellows driving flashy cars.
Among the innocent friends of President Moi were Ezekiel Birech (the Bishop of the African Inland Church), Davidson Ngibuini Kuguru (the Minister for Home Affairs) and Timothy Mibei (the Minister for Public Works). I remember Minister Kuguru bringing to State House a man who had lied to him that he had been part of the Rwandan Patriotic Front (RPF) military force that had killed President Juvenal Habyarimana in 1994. This ‘RPF man’ cheated Moi that President Yoweri Museveni of Uganda had deployed a large number of troops in Mount Elgon with plans to invade Kenya.
Moi was very agitated. His escort commanders, Elijah Sumbeiywo and Charles Kimurgor, were always on the firing line “for having no clue about these evil plans”. President Moi at one time told me that he was losing faith in his intelligence officers. “Tutashikwa kama kuku!” he exclaimed, meaning, “we shall be captured easily like chicken”. This conman left State House with a briefcase full of money.

Moi later told me the fellow had also fought alongside the late Fred Rwigema (a legendary Rwandan military officer and politician who founded RPF). He had showed Moi his photographs wearing camouflage military fatigues and toting a general purpose machine gun. All these combat uniforms had been sourced from friends in the military. Bishop Birech was a highly religious, simple and forthright individual.
He was honest and loved Moi to a fault. If a conman approached him with tales about schemes of harming Moi, he would obviously be alarmed. The conman would ask him to arrange for a secret meeting with Moi. And Moi would never say no to Birech, his spiritual leader. The Director of Criminal Investigations, Noah arap Too, told me how Moi would telephone him with a trembling voice, accusing him and the Directorate of Intelligence for sleeping on the job when Kenya was about to be invaded.
Somebody had, through Timothy Mibei, who at one time served as a magistrate, Public Works Minister and MP Bureti Constituency, informed Moi that heavily armed assassins were on the prowl in a red car. Whenever we travelled, everyone in the motorcade, including the security, the Press, the valets and other domestic staff were instructed to be on the lookout for any red car coming towards or following us. We always lived in fear. But what was most disgusting was that certain politicians, including ministers, connived with conmen to extort money from Moi.
A Cabinet minister from Kiambu, who presented himself as rich and stylish, made malicious allegations against Mama Ngina Kenyatta. He told Moi that the former First Lady was training a team of assassins in a forest in Athi River. He said they were practising with sniper rifles using pumpkins as targets. When Moi narrated this story to me, I jumped off my seat.

“Your Excellency, that is impossible. There is no forest in Athi River. The army uses this area as their rifle range. Mama Ngina cannot do that. Your minister is out of his mind,” I told Moi. I promised to send a senior television cameraman from the PPS (Presidential Press Service), which I headed, to comb Athi River and unearth the truth. Moi agreed. We settled on Ernest Kerich, who later became the head of the Film Department. Kerich scoured every area mentioned by the offending minister but there was no such thing.
I convinced Moi to overfly the Athi River area and see for himself that there was no forest where assassins could practise as alleged without being noticed. We flew to Kathiani via Athi River in an Air Force helicopter, keeping as low as possible so that President Moi could make his own judgment. “Terrible, terrible,” Moi commented, showing obvious disgust.
The problem was that he was not willing, for political reasons, to discipline his minister who was immensely influential in Kiambu politics. He just ignored him. From then on, he held him (the minister) in utter contempt. Then there was another influential minister from Nyanza who at one time held the Foreign Affairs portfolio. He began capitalising on the fact that most of the planners of the 1982 abortive coup were soldiers from his tribe.
He assembled a group of about 30 young men whom he had coached to cheat the President that they were part of a larger group of angry former Air Force officers who were planning to undertake a bloody revolution in the country. He told the President the young men had abandoned their plans and were now fully behind Moi’s leadership. When I looked at those people, it was obvious most of them had no knowledge of military warfare. They were clumsy, devoid of any military poise or demeanour. I looked at them more closely, and listened to them more attentively. Moi was being conned in broad daylight. And by his own minister. I wondered why the then Presidential Escort Commander, being a military man, could not discern the deception in their presentations.
I even suspected that maybe he was part of the wider scheme to con Moi. Things changed when a new Presidential Escort Commander, Stanley Kiptum Manyinya, took over. He was posted from the elite Recce Company. When he reported, I told him about my reservations regarding these delegations conveying frightening tales and the colossal amounts of money dished out by the President in return. Manyinya and I approached the President and begged him to give us an audience. Moi agreed. I broke the ice.
The President shifted his weight, chin in his right hand. I told him, blow by blow, about the continual lies by his trusted friends. As he listened attentively, I became bolder. I was prepared for any backlash. As they say in Swahili, ‘kama ni mbaya ni mbaya’ that loosely means “I’m ready to face the consequences”. When I was through, Manyinya reiterated what I said, colouring it with military perspectives to great effect. “So, what are we supposed to do?” Moi asked us, his tone betraying a sense of frustration.
Manyinya told him that anybody brought to him claiming to have been a military combatant, in Kenya or elsewhere, should be tested on small arms handling, which is stripping, cleaning and re-assembling. These are the basic skills taught to military and police recruits all over the world. And it came to pass.
One day, a Cabinet minister from Kericho booked an appointment to see the President. He came with a group of young men claiming to have undergone guerilla training in Libya. The same young men claimed that the President of a neighboring country was planning to invade Kenya and that they had been recruited to offer critical information about their country. President Moi passed this information to me and Manyinya.
Early in the morning, before the young men were presented to the President, we assembled various types of rifles and pistols, and placed them on a long table near The Retreat, a building in the bush within State House grounds. This is where Moi used to retreat and unwind, and eat goat meat with close friends while reviewing political issues and gossip across the country.
Some of the guns we placed on the table were AK 47, G3, General purpose machine guns, FN, Israeli Uzi and Galil, Ceska, Beretta and Smith and Wesson pistols. The conmen who came to see Moi were five. They were ushered into the waiting room together with the politician who was leading them. Moi, as earlier agreed, asked Manyinya to process them. Manyinya asked the conmen to follow him to The Retreat. They recounted to Manyinya their exploits in Libya and Uganda. They even showed us their photographs donning military fatigues and toting machine guns. Manyinya was heavily built.
He was right-handed but used his left fist devastatingly. One by one, he called each of the young men aside. “Pick the gun you are comfortable with, strip it and reassemble, and explain how it is used,” he instructed. None of them understood any of the guns. One said he had been a cook, another had worked in a laundry. They all received Manyinya’s punches. One of them was floored. Another one spat blood. They could not run away as they were surrounded by presidential security officers. Later they were allowed to leave, their heads hanging in shame.
The politician who had brought them also left the State House terribly embarrassed. This measure by Manyinya reduced the incidents of politicians and gullible friends of Moi bringing conmen to instil fear and fleece the President.
But there was another man, a former mayor of Nyeri town, who contrived a different trick. He contracted some jua-kali artisans to fabricate rifles, and other weapons. Every week he would bring one, claiming it had been surrendered by converted criminals who had vowed to work for Moi and protect him at all costs. Manyinya unmasked this conman, stopping his shenanigans once and for all. © Lee Njiru 2022

Tomorrow in the Daily Nation: Why Moi chose Uhuru as his successor.

“You have banned corruption. That’s OK. Where do you expect public officers to get money to contribute to your harambee projects?”

This guy with his liquid confidence was a G :D:D

Hio kienyeji ilikua swafii buana…Mzee Jomo alikuwa anafikisha threshold kweli ama kuna bodyguard alikua anamsaidia kazi?
https://www.kenyatalk.com/data/attachment-files/2022/07/516477_81e3c68acd42dd20f12cb6b45ccd1ab0.png

Interesting

Mushene tamu sana.

Tamu sana and illuminating .
You can actually see why Kenya had no hope and regressed during his 24 years of rule.

Does he spill how he is Moi’s son? Quite an interesting read.

Wewe ghasia huoni Ûhuru ni photocopy ya Jomo?

Unaeza zalisha ata ukimwaga na 9 seconds. Swali ni kama mzee alikua anafikisha threshold. Elewa swali kabla ya kupayuka. Mushienzi.

Huyo manyanya really saved Mo1. @Gaza your folks must have made millions parading armed rustlers to Mo1.

Sisemi kitu …

Malisaaaa

Waah mushene iko on point. The book must be a great read, inapatikana wapi

:D:D:D:D:D watu wakate maji

Moi never used to drink, but to survive him you had to.

Enyewe Moi was just a goat from Mulot trading centre. We were led by a retarded dimwit.

[SIZE=7]Lee Njiru: How Moi settled on Uhuru Kenyatta as successor[/SIZE]
Monday, July 25, 2022

By Lee Njiru

One day, in 1999, while chatting with Moi, the issue of children succeeding their parents cropped up in our discussion. Moi expressed his displeasure that political giants such as Mulu Mutisya of Ukambani and Jackson Angaine of Meru had not been succeeded by their children.

As for Mulu Mutisya, we discussed his son Eric who had at one time vied for the Mwala parliamentary seat and fared dismally. We also discussed a few of Angaine’s children and concluded that none could match their father’s political stature.
“Fire begets ash,” Mzee Moi told me. He also told me that Angaine had once lamented that at times, a lion can give birth to a jackal. Then Moi shared with me what seemed to be a deeply held idea.

[ATTACH=full]453172[/ATTACH]

“I don’t want the name of Kenyatta to disappear from Kenya’s political landscape. I’m looking for Uhuru Kenyatta.
We must build that young man and immortalize Kenyatta’s legacy.”

After our meeting, President Moi instructed me to announce the appointment of Uhuru Kenyatta as the chairman of the Kenya Tourism Board. Things moved fast. Months later, Moi asked me to announce the nomination of Uhuru Kenyatta as a Member of Parliament to replace Mark Too. Before long, Mzee further instructed me to announce the appointment of Uhuru Kenyatta as the Minister for Local Government.
Moi later confided in me that he preferred Uhuru as his successor and that he was soon going to name him. I did not oppose or doubt Moi’s choice. I just suggested to him that he should make the announcement from Mt Elgon. I said so because in my interactions with the Kalenjin, I had learnt that this mountain was regarded greatly as the dispersal point of the community. Moi obliged. He eventually pronounced Uhuru as his preferred successor while in Kapsokwony, Mt Elgon. But something ominous happened.

Read: Inside plans to hand power to Gideon Moi
As we left Kapsokwony for Eldoret Airport, aboard a Kenya Air Force Puma, we encountered a very heavy storm. Musalia Mudavadi was with us in this plane. Visibility was almost nil. Mudavadi was gloomy throughout. I suppose he was feeling bad for having been sidelined as a Presidential candidate.
The pilot, with great skill, manoeuvred the plane and landed in a primary school in Nandi County. It was quite a big scare. We called members of the Presidential Escort who were at the Eldoret Airport. They rushed to the scene and took the President away.
A new theory emerged. Many people in our delegation construed this mishap to mean that Moi’s plan for Uhuru Kenyatta would stall, just the way the helicopter had stalled, and sure enough it came to pass. Uhuru was defeated by Mwai Kibaki in the 2002 polls.

[ATTACH=full]453173[/ATTACH]
President Uhuru Kenyatta (left) and former president Daniel Moi.

After Moi declared Uhuru as his preferred successor, he called me to his office. He instructed me to give Uhuru as much assistance as possible in terms of positive press coverage. I immediately picked some of my experienced pressmen from the PPS and tasked them to cover Uhuru Kenyatta, whenever he travelled all over the country. The team was led by Chief Information Officer Francis Mulinya. Another Information Officer, Geoffrey Bittok, was to camp at KBC and await Mulinya’s dispatches.
I would occasionally meet Uhuru for discussions about the strategy. He would often ask me in Kikuyu, “Nitugutoria?” meaning, “Shall we be victorious?” I always answered in the affirmative.

[ATTACH=full]453176[/ATTACH]
During the campaigns, NARC proved to be superior to KANU in terms of propaganda. Uhuru was cast in a very bad light. He was depicted as young, inexperienced and a Moi puppet. Propaganda posters were everywhere, showing an image of Uhuru Kenyatta and that of President Moi looming large and silhouetted behind him. This worked miracles for the opposition. When Uhuru lost to Kibaki, Mzee Moi told me “Lee, do not worry. By losing, Uhuru has learnt that the journey to the presidency is not easy. But he will win next time.” And it came to pass. Uhuru won in 2013.

After Moi handed over the presidency to Mwai Kibaki, I came face to face with monsters of jealousy, malice, hatred and witch-hunt. A new term was coined by Kenyans to denigrate all those who had worked directly under Moi. The term was “former regime’. Anybody who had worked for the former regime was treated as an enemy, or something that must be destroyed.

Read: From Jaramogi to Murumbi and Saitoti; tribulations of Kenya’s vice-presidents

As the Director of PPS, I had been allocated a house just a few metres from State House, Nakuru. Electricity and water supply were connected to the main house. When Moi left office, one of the messengers was sent to me with a message that I should vacate the house within 24 hours or else my belongings would be thrown out. I was told that it was an order from President Kibaki. I knew this was a lie. Kibaki could not stoop so low… These were people fired by hatred against the former regime trying to exercise their newly acquired political power.

Luckily, I had completed my house in Ngata, Nakuru. I hurriedly moved out to beat the deadline. The person who had ordered that I vacate the house within 24 hours sent a spy to establish where I had relocated to. She was told I had moved to my own house which was better than the one I was being chased out from. She then called me and apologised while blaming everything on President Kibaki. All this was hogwash. She was the author of my predicament, but I played ignorant.
President Moi always told me that one of the most effective survival tactics was pretending to be a fool. This is a strategy that served me very well.
In the new Kibaki government were two Cabinet ministers who were feared like the plague. One was from Central Province and the other from Eastern. They were big-headed, excessively domineering and vindictive. They were bent on crushing anybody and anything associated with Moi.

Read: Kenyatta and Moi made changes to suit their interests

Kiraitu Murungi, in particular, then Minister for Justice and Constitutional Affairs, insulted Moi by telling him to retire and watch television and learn how governments should be run. He also described Moi as a man who had reached political menopause. He, and many others in the new Kibaki government, rapidly called for Moi’s prosecution on account of real and imagined crimes.
The Goldenberg scandal judicial inquiry, which was covered live on television, and in which Moi’s name featured prominently, visited untold agony upon the old man. The only modicum of consolation was that his defence lawyer, Mutula Kilonzo, did a sterling job. I sat by Mzee Moi’s side as we watched the live broadcasts. It was sheer agony for him.

However, I was not overly worried because a Kenyan staffer in the American Embassy in Nairobi had assured me that the US would not allow the Kibaki government to mistreat Moi, let alone arrest him. Moi’s name became a punching bag for many leaders, both national and grassroots, who were seeking some relevance. But that’s where it started and ended.
When President Kibaki signed the Presidential Retirement Benefits Act in December 2003, Moi’s fortunes changed dramatically for the better. Moi continued to enjoy most of the privileges he had while he was the president.

When Kanu, which had been in power from 1963, was dislodged by NARC in 2002, certain leaders in the incoming administration had an irresistible urge to mistreat and humiliate senior Kalenjin officers in the public service. Instead of viewing the Kalenjin officers as Kenyan citizens serving their country, they labelled them ‘Moi people’ as if this was anathema. They were hounded out of office in their hundreds.
The incoming leaders, especially from Nyeri, Murang’a, Meru and Nyandarua, hurled unprintables at the hapless Kalenjin officers. The junior cadre who remained in the service lived under a barrage of tribal epithets. Among the Kalenjin officers who were ignominiously hounded out of office were Army Commander Lt. Gen. Lazaro Sumbeiywo, Air Force Commander Maj. Gen. Simon Mutai, the Vice Chief of General Staff Lt. Gen. John Koech, strike Master Pilot Maj. Gen. John Serem and Puma pilots Evans Sigilai and Joseph Lagat (both majors).

Read: Uhuru Kenyatta: following in his father’s footstep

In the civilian cadre, some of those removed were the Head of Public Service Dr. Sally Kosgei, the Permanent Secretary for Internal Security and Provincial Administration, Zakayo Cheruiyot and many others. It is instructive to note that President Moi had been insulted and pelted with mud when he handed over to Kibaki the instruments of power in December 2002.
As I had pointed out earlier, when the Shifta war broke out in 1963, the Prime Minister, Jomo Kenyatta, sent out appeals to Kenyan youth to join the Armed Forces to defend their motherland and national sovereignty. The Gema communities were not enthusiastic to join the forces. They reasoned that they had been exhausted by the Mau-Mau war against colonialism and the detention and brutalisation they had suffered. The pastoralist communities, especially the Kalenjin, Maasai, Turkana and the Samburu, joined the forces in great numbers.
To a large extent these are the communities who lived in the trenches in the harsh North Eastern province defending our national sovereignty while the Gema communities were doing lucrative business. The Kalenjin joined the Army, GSU, AP, the Prisons and the Air Force in great numbers.
The upshot of this recruitment of pastoralists into the armed forces is that in every administrative location in the Rift Valley, there are at least 100 people who are trained by the government in weaponry. Unfortunately, leaders from the Gema community know only the generals. Young men from the Kalenjin community who accepted Jomo Kenyatta’s call to join the forces and fight the Shifta menace … later rose to become generals. Those who were found by the Kibaki administration still in service were accused, wrongly, of being Moi people. They were humiliated. The Kalenjin people were angry, and they had a reason to be.
These generals had spent their youthful days serving the Republic of Kenya in North Eastern Province, exposing themselves to grave danger. And now, a few ignorant, vengeful and clueless politicians were on a witch-hunt. The victims took the humiliation in their stride.
The problem with most Gema political leaders is that they do not travel much within the country. They do not bother to learn about other Kenyan communities. They go to the primary schools in their respective localities, they attend such high schools as Kangaru, Kagumo, Mang’u, Njiiris and Meru and later University of Nairobi. They then are employed in Nairobi. They die before going to Kapenguria, Lungalunga or Lokichogio.
During the 2007 general elections, the entire Kalenjin nation joined Raila Odinga’s Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party. They did not do this because they loved Raila Odinga, but because they hated Mwai Kibaki’s government for sacking and humiliating, without any justifiable reason, their officers in the military and the civil service.
Retired President Moi, who sided with President Kibaki, suffered the wrath of his Kalenjin community. His sons who had sought elective positions were overwhelmingly defeated in the ODM wave. The Kalenjin were so angry that they even did the unthinkable against their traditional norms. They elected seven women MPs.
This community was resolute that the Kibaki government had to be defeated. They could not contemplate any other outcome. So, when Kibaki was declared the winner, all hell broke loose. The Kalenjin believed that the election had been stolen. Since they could not lay their hands on the person of Mwai Kibaki, they had to do it on his children, the Kikuyus in the Rift Valley.
That was the genesis of the 2007-2008 post election violence. The Kikuyu were wondering how the Kalenjin were able to mobilise, so efficiently and in military fashion, their young attackers. They do not know that the Rift Valley is the veritable repository of military genius. As a red herring, and to mask their iniquities, the Gema and other leaders who had carried out the sacking of the Kalenjins, blamed the violence on land issues. The overriding factor was bitterness on account of mistreatment. Europeans and Asians live among the Kalenjin. They own land there and are never molested.
Up to the time of writing this book, the government continually encourages people wishing to buy land and settle among other communities to do so. However, settlers have been encouraged to integrate and peacefully co-exist with their neighbours. They must resonate and gel with their hosts. They must also make effort to embrace the customs and traditions of the host community even as they expect their own traditions and customs to be tolerated.
When multiparty politics was at its peak, I met a politician from Kiambu. He told me he was planning to go to the bush and wage a guerilla war against President Moi and his government. I reminded him that there were no bushes or forests in Kiambu and that he could only do it in vegetable gardens.

Racial biases abound everywhere in the world but we must learn to accommodate each other unless our lives are imperiled. These racial biases are even practised at the highest level all over the world. Let me give an example.
On Sunday, 18th May, 1997, President Moi attended Church Service at PCEA Tumutumu in Nyeri. We later drove to Kianyaga in Kirinyaga for a public rally. From there … we took a buffalo aircraft and flew to Moi’s Kabarak home. From Kabarak, I went to a club in Nakuru town for refreshments. Luckily, I had told the State House telephone operator where I could be found if need arose.
At 8.30pm, the club’s receptionist told me that someone in State House, Nakuru, needed to talk to me urgently. The operator told me to call President Moi immediately.
His husky voice came on the line: “Lee, the American Secretary of State, Madeleine Albright, has just called me. There is an American who got lost in Mt. Kenya Forest. She was among a group of mountain climbing tourists but slipped and fell down a cliff. I want that girl found, dead or alive. The sooner the better,” he ordered me.
I telephoned the Defence headquarters in Nairobi, then Vigilance House, Kenya Wildlife Services, then Kenya Power and Lighting Managing Director Mr Samuel Gichuru and the Provincial Police Officer Nyeri. I told the Defence headquarters that their Commander-in-Chief had instructed them to scour every space of the mountain facing Nanyuki and use every minute of daylight until the girl was found, dead or alive. I also called on all of the above to mount a concerted effort to ensure the girl was found. This was over the VoK radio. It was repeated after every hour.
The following day … at noon, Mzee called me to his office. I found him very jovial and beaming with a smile. “Well done Lee. The American girl was found today, alive, at 10.00 am. The Air Force did a wonderful job. She is now at Nairobi Hospital and we are going there right away to see her,” he told me.
When we later travelled to America, I narrated the story to an African-American. He told me that Madeleine Albright would not have bothered if the girl had been black. He also whispered to me that Madeleine would not have given a damn if Jessica Loydquist was not a Jew.
When Moi retired from the Presidency in 2002, Jessica was 22 years old. I asked him if she had written a letter of gratitude to him. He told me she had not.
“Who cares about a black person except God,” he told me, adding “Tenda wema nenda zako” which means do good without expecting any gratitude or reward.

Kiptum sumbeiwo kipchirchir Mibei Arap Too
Kimurgor… But still alisafishwa mwosho mmoja despite surrounding himself with Tugen and close Kalenjins :smiley: almost zero protekshen. Akwende kabisa. Wasted 24 years

Where can one get the book? I have searched but nothing

[SIZE=7]Lee Njiru: Witchcraft and other rituals in State House[/SIZE]
Tuesday, July 26, 2022

Besides tribalism, some people that I worked with went to unimaginable levels to protect their jobs and other favors. Working for the State House was lucrative. Allowances were fat, foreign trips so frequent, influence so great, that it was devastating and degrading to be transferred from this seat of power.

To forestall such an eventuality, junior officers offered money to those who wielded the power to recruit and transfer. Some ladies, even the married ones, offered sexual favors to remain in the State House. Witchcraft and all manner of occult science were employed by those who believed in supernatural interventions.

[ATTACH=full]453470[/ATTACH]

Farts in the President’s office:

A senior lady at State House was caught with her pants lowered and busy farting in President Moi’s office.
She was directing her farts in all directions. :D:D:D:D

[SIZE=6]RELATED[/SIZE]
[li][SIZE=5]Lee Njiru: Moi said he would have fired Robert Ouko if he didn’t trust him[/SIZE][/li]News 4 hours ago
[li][SIZE=5]Lee Njiru: Day minister accused Mama Ngina of plotting to eliminate Moi[/SIZE][/li]Politics 4 hours ago
[/ul]
Read: [B]Lee Njiru recalls day minister accused Mama Ngina of plotting to eliminate Moi [/B]

Luckily, the farts were not productive; just a crackling noise, like that of gunfire. The lady’s loose morals were in the public domain.
She feared that President Moi might get the information and have her transferred. That is why she got the advice of a witch doctor.
She was lucky that she was caught doing this unpleasant ritual by a fellow tribesman. They settled the matter their own way.
Squirrel tail in the locker: In another incident, President Moi came to the office in State House, Nairobi, earlier than expected.
He received some guests who needed a photograph with him. Unfortunately, the photographer on duty had not arrived.
The Presidential Press electronics engineer, Wilberforce Onamu, and I were capable of taking photographs.
We broke into a photographer’s drawer to remove the camera. We were shocked to see that the camera was tied with the tail of a squirrel.
All the same, I used the camera and got beautiful photos. Onamu got scared and refused to touch that camera.

Read: State House secret keeper spills the beans

Juju from Zanzibar:

A senior security officer, part of the presidential bodyguards, also engaged in witchcraft. Every time we were in Mombasa,
I used to see him in the company of a light-skinned middle-aged man. I did not know his real name because he was commonly known as ‘Vespa.’
This is because he used to ride a ‘Vespa’ scooter. To me, he appeared to be a cross breed of an Arab and a black person. I could not figure out what brought these two together. At first, I thought it was because the security officer was half Caucasian and half black. The coastal fellow was semi-literate and uncouth.
The security man was also semi-literate but good at his work. He steered clear of the company of educated people because he could not stand any intellectual challenge. One day in Mombasa, ‘Vespa’ let the cat out of the bag. “Are you properly protected? I have brought fresh supplies from Zanzibar,” he impressed on me. “What supplies?” I asked him. “Paraphernalia to ensure you remain on the job.
It will also guard you against backstabbing. All evil plans against you will be rendered ineffectual,” he explained. “Have you succeeded in protecting anybody that I know?” I enquired. Without keeping a secret, he revealed to me that the security officer was one of his biggest customers. He also told me that the security officer received reinforcements every month.
I told him in no uncertain terms that my mother would curse me if I got involved in such revolting and repugnant practices. It appeared to me that the purveyor of these magic paraphernalia and potions did not believe in their efficacy, but was capitalizing on the gullibility of officers who felt insecure.

Muigai’s departure from PPU created a vacancy that had to be filled immediately.
Kenyatta instructed the then Director of Information, Edmund Matu, to do the needful.
Matu summoned the chief press officer, Tom Mzungu, and the chief information officer, Arthur Reuben, for deliberations.
It was in this meeting that the name of Lee Njiru popped up.
https://nation.africa/resource/image/3889164/landscape_ratio2x1/320/160/300f2d8b4ed1ca16222eab7e8053479/Ou/jomo2.jpg
President Jomo Kenyatta (right) issues instructions to Dr Zachary Onyonka, the Minister for Culture and Social Services at State House, Nakuru as Lee Njiru and Dr Julia Ojiambo (partly hidden) look on.

Courtesy| Lee Njiru
I was then 28 years old, working in the Provincial Information Office, Kakamega, Western Province.
When I received Matu’s orders to immediately report to Mzee Jomo Kenyatta in Nakuru, I trembled.
[SIZE=6]Anxiety[/SIZE]
My fear of Kenyatta emanated from the weird and frightening stories I had heard about him as a child and during my teenage years.
In the 1950s, when Kenyatta was in detention, the whole country was awash with accounts of his strange characteristics.
In Embu, where I grew up, my impressionable brain was inundated with such untruths.
One was that Kenyatta had a hairy tongue. The second was that his eyes were fiery, penetrating and on the forehead.
The other one was that he could read people’s minds.
We, thus, grew up holding Kenyatta, whom we had never seen, in great awe.
He was a veritable bogeyman until I met him physically. This is the man I was to work for.
My trip from Kakamega to Nakuru to take up my role was a nightmare.
My fellow passengers in a Peugeot 504 station wagon matatu christened ‘Wepesi’ thought I was terribly sick.
Beads of sweat were trickling down my face. On arrival in Nakuru, I telephoned my wife, Rose, who was a secretary in the Ministry of Works.

In my initial customary salutation, she discerned some unusual stammer and anxiety in my voice.
She asked me what the matter was. I told her I had arrived in Nakuru and was about to face the legendary Jomo Kenyatta as his press officer and that I could not succeed without genuine, sincere prayers from a person who loved me unconditionally.
I told her that person could only be my mother Grace.
We agreed that she should immediately travel to Runyenjes and plead with my mother to perform this divine task.
I took a taxi from Njoro House, Nakuru, at 2 pm.
I wished the journey to State House Nakuru could take longer to delay the torment of being in front of this legend, Mzee Kenyatta, but it took five minutes only.
[SIZE=6]First meeting[/SIZE]
Alexander Njoroge Gitau, the Comptroller of State House, was waiting for me.
On the left side as you enter State House, Nakuru is a small parlour where important guests are entertained.
Gitau knocked on the door. A husky voice bellowed, ‘come in’. It was Jomo Kenyatta, seated with his Minister for State and brother-in-law, Peter Mbiyu Koinange. I froze.
The comptroller introduced me in Kikuyu, saying I was the young man sent by Edmund Matu to replace Francis Kamau.
After the introduction, Gitau did something which I regarded as a betrayal.
He left the parlour and shut the door, leaving me with the two power men.
Read: Jomo’s near-deity status is under assault from DP Ruto
At first, Kenyatta was gentle when asking me about myself and where I came from.
But he got nasty when we discussed my posting. “Will you perform your duties diligently and to my satisfaction?” he asked me. “I will try, sir,” I answered.

I was convinced that I would not be accepted here. All the same, I mumbled, “I will do the job, sir.”
Kenyatta smiled and turning to Mbiyu, he said in Kikuyu, “Nikarainaina” meaning “the small boy is trembling.”
Mbiyu answered in English, “It is the right of every citizen to tremble in front of his leader.”
Kenyatta laughed loudly and asked Mbiyu rhetorically, “So sometimes you can talk sensibly?”
Mzee dialled a number and summoned Gitau to take me for further instructions.
I was taken to a building named ‘Angola’ where I had lunch.
This building was named ‘Angola’ because it was the one that Kenyatta used to hold a reconciliation meeting with Angolan freedom fighters in the seventies.
[SIZE=6]Mombasa, Nakuru State Houses[/SIZE]
In Mombasa and Nakuru State Houses, which had huge entertainment arenas, traditional dancers and school choirs would be ferried, even from far-off rural areas for Mzee’s entertainment.
The mobilization, transportation, accommodation and feeding of these entertainers were often logistical nightmares.
The provincial administration, the Ministry of Social Services and the Treasury worked together to make the program a success.

[ATTACH=full]453478[/ATTACH]
President Jomo Kenyatta leads wananchi in a call of Harambee at Msambweni, Kwale, after he had been entertained by traditional dancers and school choirs at the weekend. Also in the picture are the Minister of State, Mr Mbiyu Koinange, and the Coast PC Mr E Mahihu.

They accommodated students in cheap hotels. But subsumed under the seemingly innocuous veneers of entertainment was a monumental morass of debauchery, decadence, and corruption.
Many of the older schoolgirls, who were part of the choirs and other entertainments, were after the State House performances, isolated and shared among male teachers, immoral district officers, and other officials who were part of the scheme.

Some of the female teachers, including married ones, fell into the same trap with promises of promotions, beach plots, and other irresistible trappings.
It was shocking that the very people charged with the responsibility of looking after the welfare of the schoolgirls turned into predators.
This was an absolute betrayal of trust. It appeared that as long as Mzee Kenyatta was sufficiently entertained, nothing else mattered.
Nobody would dare to rock the boat since the rot was considered to be insignificant collateral damage.
You see, Mzee Kenyatta was deified. Nobody knew that he was at one time a carpenter and later a water meter reader with the Nairobi City Council.

[SIZE=6]Infallible superman[/SIZE]
He had acquired great charisma through his political success and the creation of a cult of his own personality.
He had deliberately nurtured the status of an infallible superman until Kenyans willingly accepted the outrageous estimation and glorification of himself.

[SIZE=6]Gatundu thugs[/SIZE]
As Kenyatta’s handlers got deeply engrossed in merry-making, the old man was left alone to contend with the vicissitudes of age such as arthritis, poor eyesight, a weak heart and incapacity to govern.
There was no resident physician, neither was there a cardiologist to respond to any medical emergency.
All Mzee was given by his government was a poorly equipped nurse, Isabella Wangui.
Whenever we traveled outside Nairobi, Wangui had to hike a lift from other departments.
In the presidential escort, there was a team of policewomen that had self-drive official cars.

These women were purely for decorative purposes. But nobody found it necessary to provide a special vehicle for Wangui, who was supposed to undertake the critical function of handling the medical needs of a sickly President.
The people around Kenyatta, especially in the later years of his presidency, were uncaring and spent most of their time moving around the country, looking for valuables to plunder, like rogue elephants let loose on a maize plantation.
His welfare to them was of no consequence. What a terrible irony! Mzee’s security team was divided into two cadres.
There was the professionally trained group seconded by the regular police and the General Service Unit.
This group was disciplined and guided by the Force Standing Orders.

[SIZE=6]“Gatundu One”[/SIZE]
Then there was the untrained group known as the “Gatundu One”.
When Kenyatta was released from detention in 1961, a group of young illiterate men from his Ichaweri village volunteered to protect him.
He was paying them from his pocket.
After he became the prime minister in 1963, he ordered that these young men be absorbed into the police force.
It was this group who, without shame, continued to commit atrocities against the people.
Sometimes in 1977, Mzee was invited to lunch at the Eden Rock Hotel in Malindi.
The host was the owner of the facility, a German lady that Mzee had nicknamed ‘Mama Maridadi’, meaning the gorgeous lady.
After the sumptuous luncheon, a section of the presidential security team did the unthinkable.
They ransacked the cloakrooms, the lounges and the unoccupied rooms.
They stole towels, bedsheets and pillowcases. One of them tried, unsuccessfully, to force a coffee table into the boot of a security Mercedes that was already full of guns.
It was unfortunate that the onlookers believed the loot was a gift to Mzee Kenyatta from Mama Maridadi.
Kenyatta’s Escort Commander, Bernard Njiinu, who later became the Commissioner of Police in President Moi’s Administration, viewed this cadre with utter contempt.
But he was powerless. They were a law unto themselves.

[SIZE=6]Kiano caned[/SIZE]
We kept meeting with Geoffrey Kariithi, the Head of Civil Service and Secretary to the Cabinet, and talked a lot about official and even personal issues.
When I joined the Presidential Press Service (PPS), there were numerous stories about how Mzee Kenyatta used to cane his ministers.
One day I asked Kariithi if that was true and he confirmed.
But he was quick to clarify that in Kenyatta’s mind, he was caning wayward children who did not undertake their chores seriously.
He told me that Dr Gikonyo Kiano, the Minister for Commerce and Industry, had suffered Kenyatta’s caning for taking bribes during the Africanisation of businesses in Kenya.
“You see, Kiano was born in 1926. Mzee’s firstborn son, Peter Muigai was born in 1920. Thus, Mzee was not only caning a minister but a son. Kiano was in the same age bracket as Kenyatta’s first daughter Margaret who was born in 1928,” Kariithi explained to me.

[SIZE=6]Sword and failing memory[/SIZE]
In 1977, Mzee Kenyatta began suffering from serious paranoia.
Read: Why it is time to open Jomo’s grave to the public or shift it to Gatundu home
One day in his Gatundu home, a man called Njoroge Nguyai visited him with the sad news of the death of a woman freedom fighter named Rebecca.
The old man sent for me. Since I did not know why he called, I took Mathias Agare, a photographer.
I entered Mzee’s house, focusing on the inner chamber where he normally sat.
But he was sitting at the outer chamber where I almost stumbled on him.
He, swiftly, like a fencing expert, drew his sword and charged at me.
The sword caused a minor laceration between my left thumb and index finger.
Kenyatta’s walking stick had been fashioned in a way that there was a sword inside. He then bellowed, “I am not a joker!” followed by laughter.
He summoned Nguyai and asked him to give me a rundown of Rebecca’s exploits in the freedom struggle.
I then wrote Mzee’s message of condolence.
With time, it became clear that Kenyatta’s health was deteriorating fast.
Mzee Jomo Kenyatta left Nakuru by road on Wednesday, August 2, 1978, for Mombasa.
The following day, Thursday, Mzee never left the precincts of State House, Mombasa.
Whenever he spoke, his speech was generally incoherent. His gait was labored.
When on Friday, August 4, 1978, he read the speech to officially open the Mombasa Agricultural Society of Kenya (ASK) Show, he ignored the final salutation at the bottom of the speech, which was ‘thank you’ and substituted it with ‘Amen’.
That, ominously, was his last official speech on earth, the land of the living.
On August 14, 1978, Mzee Kenyatta hosted his family at State House, Mombasa.
Although the event was to celebrate his release from detention on the same date in 1961, tongues were wagging that he was saying the final goodbye to the family.
And indeed he was. On Monday, August 21, 1978, Mzee Kenyatta had lunch at State House Mombasa with all the Kenyan envoys abroad.

[SIZE=6]Last hours[/SIZE]
It was after lunch that things became terrifying. Mzee missed his way out of the dining hall and entered the dingy caretaker’s office.
He caused a commotion among the junior staff as the room was littered with dirty utensils and leftovers.
When he was redirected to his sleeping quarters, the old man could not make it upstairs without a pause.
After a brief rest, he went to his private quarters. After witnessing all this agony suffered by Mzee Kenyatta, I was convinced that Koinange or PC Mahihu, or the Comptroller of State House, Gitau, would cancel the pre-arranged Msambweni function.
They did not. I believe that Kenyatta’s life would have been saved if immediate medical attention was made available.
We proceeded to Msambweni Primary School grounds, the venue of entertainment.
Halfway between the performances, Kenyatta went to the makeshift washroom, situated at the back of the VIP dais.
He overstayed. Mbiyu and Mahihu went in to check and found Mzee slumped on the toilet seat.
They lifted him, reorganized his dressing, and brought him back to the dais. A security cordon was thrown around him.
To hoodwink the people, the hoi-polloi, PC Mahihu asked Mzee Kenyatta to end the function with this clarion call of ‘Harambee’. I thought it was callous of Mahihu to subject Mzee to this ordeal. But it was the loudest roar I had heard from Mzee Kenyatta during the period I had worked for him. Unfortunately, it was the last.
At 4 am on August 22, 1978, Tuesday, there was a knock on my door at Mickey’s Hotel.
A telephone call from State House, Mombasa, to the hotel had demanded that I report to work urgently.
My fears were confirmed when, at the entrance to the main building, I saw an ambulance. Kenyatta was dead.