Fencing with Kei-apple

To enclose an area of 190000ha i need more than 200km fence. And this would cost me atleast $3,5 million USD. The crisis is also in the conservation world. And so I have to find an alternative. And the only good alternative is a natural fence with Kei-apple ([I]Dovyalis caffra). /I

https://media.licdn.com/mpr/mpr/shrinknp_400_400/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAKCAAAAJDQ3Mzc0NWQ1LTIxMGEtNDY1MS05YmRiLWFlYmEzNTQ4OGRhYg.jpg

Kei-apple is a thorny plant which when well maintained makes a formidable hedge. The plant has been widely used for fencing around Nairobi and the suburbs. The plant has proved ideal in keeping off thieves and is highly recommended. Due to the numerous thorns, not even small animals as rats or hens would penetrate through. This therefore proves that dogs or even people wouldn’t make through it, thus providing maximum security as burglary becomes more of a concern than luxury.

https://media.licdn.com/mpr/mpr/shrinknp_400_400/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAOPAAAAJGJiMTk1NjE4LTJlMjUtNDc4Yi05ZTU2LTcxM2NmYzlmNmZkYg.jpg

The plant will last as long as you wish and remains green even during dry spells when most other plants wither. Apart from its ideal security purposes, kei-apple is also green enough to make your compound more beautiful and attractive. And unlike other security measures as live wires or barbed wires which can be climbed over, it’s impossible to cut or pass through a hedge of kei-apple plants. For the best results, it’s recommended that you plant it in intertwined rows. The hedge matures in 3-4 years.

Plants are planted on 6cm distance, in single, double, triple or four rows. For the fencing of my reserve (perimeter fence sanctuary + internal division), 300km (300.000m) plant material is required. So this translates in 5 million kei-apple plants (single row). This would cost me Ksh. 15 million (or $152.263,20 USD).

https://media.licdn.com/mpr/mpr/shrinknp_400_400/AAEAAQAAAAAAAAJqAAAAJDRmNTE4YTczLTI0NWUtNGU4OC1hMzQ0LTExNmVhZDdiYjVhYg.jpgPrice Guide (Runda, Nairobi, Kenya):

[li]1 Single rows, 6cm apart: (1000 plants @ Ksh. 3) = Ksh. 3,000 ($30,45USD)[/li][li]2 Double rows, 6cm apart: (2000 plants @ Ksh. 3) = Ksh. 6,000 ($60,90USD)[/li][li]3 Triple rows, 6cm apart : (3000plants @ Ksh. 3) = Ksh. 9,000 ($91,35USD)[/li][li]4 Four rows, 6cm apart : (4000 plants @ Ksh. 3) = Ksh. 12,000 ($121,80USD)[/li][li]Packets (mitumba) of of 25-30 plants at a price of Ksh. 30 ($0,30USD) per packet.These however taker longer to hold on the ground after planting.[/li][/ul]
https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/fencing-nature-reserves-kei-apple-jean-db

Hehehee. We call it keiyaffer

Kariabar

Boss, ni wewe ulinifanyisha kazi ya ufala majuzi ya ku do proposal na nikutafutie Q.S twende Marigat tuangalie vile tuta fence shamba then ukaingiza China ya waba the day we were to travel?

Hiyo ni copy na paste. Mwenye anajiita Jean DB, na si mimi!

Ubaya wa hii kaiyaffa ni ikishika moto ni ka mbao zmemwagiliwa petrol. Burns like hell

True! Halafu Na hiyo kazi ya trimming after every now and then!

Hii kitu woven fine kuku haipiti

But hio huweka tunyoka twingine hapo wana

That’s a smaller type of cactus that makes a splendid fence. Plant them close together in three German rows and you are sorted.

Mbisha?

Zimejaa Naivasha na Narok