Film makers or photographers.

Any one with an idea of what camera with good features to get for a beginner photographer and what cost and places to shop for them.

@Riva @AMB_Sunday

Red Dragon Camera

http://www.red.com/products/epic-dragon

Start with a Nikon D3200, it’s an entry level DSLR and you’ll learn using it. From there you can upgrade depending on your needs. You can order from jumia but prices range between 35k to 40k depending in where you buy. However, if you go to town am sure you can get a good deal in those camera shops.

Ama kama anazo achukue D5300; its one that namulika soon…

[ATTACH=full]81156[/ATTACH]

Wueh! That price :eek:

check a store - Universal Gift Center next to Simmers- U Kenyatta Avenue

iphone 7 plus will work just fine

Wueh! I learnt something new today.Wish I could give you two likes. Most guys here are mediocre to say the least.

wacha kuniangusha chini bwana. Hujui Red dragon? in Kenya I think only 2 guys own them.
Meanwhile leo wacha nikule peasant food Polenta na Nyama

i know

Iphone 7 wachia shosholites hakuna vile utajifundisha poa vitu zingine

hehe sasawa

For photos its good, the lens makes its still footages very clear, focus iko sharp and it has the strongest lense capacity. However, Nikon is only good for close up shoots. Iko weak kwa kupiga wide shots.

Its alittle bit on the high end, this one. Budget yake means you need to be a Proffessional, not one for rookies.

[ATTACH=full]81218[/ATTACH]
CANON 7D Mark II
It’s Go to Camera anyday for still footages.
Here is why

Battery longevity.
Its the one camera that you can use for a long time without worrying about the battery running out. The span of a new battery is a cool 24Hrs depending on the activity. Mostly kitu hudrain bat ya camera ni kuizima zima ovyo ovyo. Run it until the juice is out, it serves you well.
(Ofcourse, you do understand that a good camera person needs spares of everything when on location)

Focus
Canon 7D has very sharp focus for an entry camera. It is also preferred mostly owing to the fact that you can interchange the lens so upgrading it is very easy. This is why its regarded as a Beast for photo shoots.

ISO
The faster dual processors in the 7D Mark II provide a significant boost to ISO performance. The default ISO range is now 100-16,000 and expandable up to 25,600 and 51,200 (up from the 7D’s maximum native ISO of 6,400, and maximum extended ISO of 12,800)
*ISO deals with the light intensity and shutter stuff, its something you know as you use the cameras constantly.

The 7D Mark II’s buffer capacity also gets a considerable improvement over the 7D. The Mark II is now capable of 31 continuous shots in RAW mode and an insane 1,090 shots in JPEG, which is an enormous step up from the 25 RAW or 94 JPEG shot buffer depth of the 7D.

And finally,
One of the bigger professional-level advancements of the Mark II over the 7D is the addition of clean, uncompressed HDMI output, with audio. The 7D Mark II offers 8-bit 4:2:2 uncompressed video over HDMI with the ability to disable viewfinder information, allowing you to video with external recorders. Simultaneous internal recording and clean HDMI signal out is capable, though the camera’s rear LCD will be disabled.
This is like the best thing esp for those short motion footages done at random, very clear quality and compressable to any format you want.
PS. Ensure you have Adobe Premier or Vegus programs for after effects and your post production activities.

This is strictly for still photos. For any motion pictures, I would recommend something stronger. Canon is regarded very basic for any serious video shoot.

@Mchinku Mkenya,

If you haven’t made a decision yet, here is my advice.

Depending on what your needs are, you could go for the Nikon 3200 starter Digita SLR as suggested above. It usually sells with a basic wide angle lens, but some kits throw in a decent telephoto. My first one was the DX40 8 years ago, but still very useful. Here is a sample photo:

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?media/2014-01-19_cobweb.1658/full&d=1485891676

BUT, if your needs are not to get too technical but to take great photos, I have recently acquired a superb compact camera I would recommend to anybody: the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H90

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/846292-REG/Sony_DSCH90_B_Cyber_shot_DSC_H90_Digital_Camera.html

It will do all you need as a point-and-shoot, yet leave you enough options to take control as if you’re using a DSLR. It has two selling points: flawless 30X zoom, and extremely sensitive sensors that capture great shots in the weakest lighting conditions.

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?media/2017-01-06_houtribdijk-07.1624/full&d=1483742868

Robustly built yet compact and light, it could give you as many years of pleasure and learning as I have had from my Nikon. Read some reviews and see if it would work for you. In Kenya, probably 35 - 40k, but you can send someone to Dubai, no?