Finally nitaona hii hekaya coming to life,

A brand new bridge for Mombasa.
[ATTACH=full]11241[/ATTACH]
used to be a wooden bridge built in the 30s
[ATTACH=full]11242[/ATTACH]
this floating bridge used to go up and down with the waves, only the brave ones could walk across.
then we got the new Nyali bridge.
[ATTACH=full]11243[/ATTACH]
There used to be a toll station here.
lakini na jiuliza, mbona hawajengi bridge Likoni?

@Meria Mata it just don’t make financial sense … well, not for the stage at which we’re at anyway.

They would need a drawbridge to allow the ships to pass and they would probably need to take up LOTS of land on either side. The whole thing would cost more than you can even start to think and I highly doubt that we can afford to build it AND maintain it. Plus, it would put so many people out of jobs.

We’re not there yet. We can’t :frowning:

[ATTACH=full]11244[/ATTACH]

I heard some argument about bridge ya Likoni starting around Aga Khan ati ndo iwe high enaf for vessles to pass under it unhindered. I do not know much about bridges but I guess it wud be an expensive undertaking…
On the other hand,I would have a question to the KURA director. Have they taken measures to take care of the Lights - Pirates thru Bombolulu stretch while they were doing research for the second bridge.

Ama bridge ni watu wa Nyali seeing ni wao wamekuwa invited for the shindig?

Jobs have already been lost in South Coast, Hotels there are empty coz of the daily traffic mess caused by the ferry. Rent in Likoni has hit rock bottom and still guys are moving out.

Tukutane Flamingo kesho Bro, i think there will be a question and answer session after his speech.

Meant jobs at the “ferry” department mostly. Its a win-lose-win-lose situation. ¯_(ツ)_/¯

Gojea siku ya ground breaking utaona maneno, if the site to be revealed tomorrow is where i think it is, kuna hoteli basi itawekwa chini.

This project is a bit more complicated than that. They’re not just expanding an existing road which shoulda been a highway in the first place anyways.

If you go into what @le scumbag has posted, you will realize that they would need to change like 60% of the town’s/city’s layout before they can even begin working on the bridge. Apart from the money needed, there is a whole other level of politics that you need to overcome to even start dreaming about it…

This project is the equivalent of trying to eliminate Kibera as a slum. It isn’t impossible, but it also ain’t gon’ be no easy trip. Not at all.

Mimi nangojea ile Dongo Kundu ya Tsunza. It will be one hell of a beauty.

Ooh I’ve dreamed of a bridge across Likoni since I came to Mombasa! And people should aquaint themselves with documentaries to appreciate possibilities! Those who say that a bridge over Likoni channel is either difficult or expensive should know that it’s childplay to guys like the Japanese and the Chinese! They have done more daunting jobs! Expensive, yes, but worth every penny!

Then after all those developments someone will start reminding us that PWANI SI KENYA :confused:
:confused::confused::confused:

why not builb it and enter into annals of history.
africans with their limited ambtion

You have to walk before you can run.

Tz is doind a similar bridge linking Kigamboni with Downtown Dar. It’s high enough allowing ships to pass and dock at the port.

Their traffic is much lower than ours. They can afford to make it a low-scale operation. We can’t.

am quite sure with such projects the country builds it based on projected traffic over the next like 50 years, you can’t build the bridge based on today’s traffic

I beg to differ, traffic jams in Dar are legendary, far off worse than Nairobi. Anyway if this bridge is built, the benefits accrued will will outweigh the current ferry services many times over and open up huge areas in south coast that were unreachable before. Just look at what Thika road and the by-passes have enabled

lol I meant port traffic. The bridge you’d need here wouldn’t be comparable to the one needed in Tanzania … not unless ALL our traffic was re-routed there and they did a MAJOR overhaul of their port. If so, then we’d be looking at bankruptcy for Tanzania as a whole :smiley:

UOTE=“4makind, post: 116765, member: 1119”]Tz is doind a similar bridge linking Kigamboni with Downtown Dar. It’s high enough allowing ships to pass and dock at the port.
[/QUOTE]

Mombasa, being what it is, the most important entry point to East and Central Africa, should have had these infrastructure since like ten years ago! It would not be over-ambitious to imagine an over-pass that runs from Changamwe roundabout to land at Makande. The Changamwe to Miritini section of the Mombasa Nairobi highway should be a dual roadway as a matter of necessity.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
aaaaaaaah kumbe ni traffic ya ships!!!