Fish farming

Hey talkers…where can I get the fingerlings… Also any advise on the best fish species that will do well in this high altitude areas…sande sana

Following, 2018 I want to try dairy farming again and fish farming.

Ndio hio information hapo. http://www.farmerstrend.co.ke/category/livestock-farming/fish-farming/

You can get good advice from KEMFRI in Sagana and they also stock good quality fingerlings.

Thanks very much…so do they have those fingerlings all the time or do they breed them at specific periods?

:smiley: @muria.mboco and @pamba kujeni mbio . Advise our son.

Check out their website and that of Mwea Fish farm. You will get all the details you require.

http://www.nardtc.org
https://mweafish.com

Rather than buy all the 10,000 fingerlings I need for my big pond @ Ksh 10, I have decided to construct 2 small ponds in my backyard of about 6x5M, get mature breeders and do the spawning myself and then stock my big pond at intervals. I understand that fish produce about 200 eggs per spawn so with about 50 good breeders even with a 25% survival rate I will get about 2500 fingerlings every other month which I can then transfer to the big pond. So that I also learn about the biz slowly rather invest a huge sum at once.

Thanks …let me have a look at it

Bado sijajenga, nimenunua material peke, and the fundi will be coming end month. So pics in the next 2 weeks. Wacha nikutafutie the big pond

The big pond [ATTACH=full]140377[/ATTACH]

Am also in the process of constructing one…though mine is simple because it is next to a small river

You are lucky that you are close to a regular water supply, however also ensure that you secure your pond from birds, otters and off course shinny eye.

Hehe shinny eyes are not a threat because its just near our house. Maybe birds

Engage in palate training…to create a market for your product!

Tilapia has a ready market, however with catfish you might have to go into smoking as most of the existing bulk market for catfish prefer dried and smoked fish.

There’s a chap from Machakos county, Kamuthanga Farm called Tony, awesome chap kabisa. He’s the one who supplied the government with fingerings when the Gvt. was trying to get the youth to venture into fish farming. He sells in my view better fish than those from the lake side. Visited his farm like 1 yr ago and at the time he was making like 3.8m per month on fish alone. He has a very good concept. Build a tank and put in a water purifier something like the one you put on swimming pools. Each tank was like 6m in diameter and a height of about 10ft. Each tank was holding between [ATTACH=full]140409[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]140409[/ATTACH] 3000-5600 fish. He was at the time doing 8 tanks. He uses borehole water.you might want to visit his farm.The beauty is most of the water is recycled and waste used to water his farm. The guy’s even doing cassavas and bananas. And mind you, his land is no more than 3acres. Fish are fed by a automated system,after like 2 hrs feed drops in the tank

Impressive!!! @The truth would you share his contacts please.

Brilliant guy. Tony-0722 522169

Thanks man.

Just finished making the 2 tanks in my backyard. 5.5x4.5x1M. Planning to stock them in Jan.

Didn’t have much cash so I just have made these 2 tanks of 5.5x4.5x1 in my backyard. Planning to use them to get fingerlings for the big pond.[ATTACH=full]146961[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]146962[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]146963[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]146964[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]146965[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]146961[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]146964[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]146963[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]146962[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]146965[/ATTACH]