Flora, a hekaya....

I moved to a new school when I was in class six. During those days there were boys who joined school late and because some of them were too dim they repeated so many classes such that they ended up much bigger than their classmates. i was always among the smallest boys in my class.
One such boy was Nyangaresi, a Kisii whose family grew up in our neck of the woods in Nyandarua. He had a sister in class seven; one of those very big-bodied girls. Flora actually represented the district in the discuss and shotput throws at the provincials…She was destined to be one of those huge women like Miss Trunchbull (in Matilda)…
I have always had this curiosity about other people’s languages and so when I met Nyangaresi (I had only heard of a people called Githii before but never met one) I immediately befriended him and never wasted time bothering him to tell me the names of various things in their language. Soon my curiosity took me from simple nouns to phrases and I wanted to know how someone greeted another in Ekegusii. My friend Nyangaresi, perhaps out of a malicious streak, told me that there were different greetings for men and women, boys and girls. He was quick to add that to greet a girl one told her “Nchoagotate”. In fact, he suggested, I could go see if i had learnt well by greeting the sister…
So at break time I timed when Flora was heading back to their class and called her, “Flora, Nchoagotate”. Flora turned towards me with a face that registered shock and disbelief and asked “Ati???”. “Nchoagotate”…
What followed was a very hot heavy slap. A slap that sent me flailing and whirling like a spinning top before I landed on a flowerbed…
When i gathered myself, multicoloured ovoids were slowly drifting before my eyes. Flora was just entering their classroom and I slowly walked back to our class (in shame at being slapped by a girl!) to find Nyangaresi dying of laughter. Kumbe he had been monitoring me to see how my greetings would pan out…
Anyway I got my revenge a few days later when I asked their younger brother what the greetings meant and I had to explain to him how Ihad known the phrase and what happened after. The brother reported Nyangaresi to the mother that he had told me to tell the sister we do tabia mbaya. Nyangaresi got the beating of a dog in a mosque…

44 Likes

When i read, “I moved to a new school when I was in class six.” …i knew it is straight out of 1948

…and so i stopped reading

I dont fancy history …men, i thought we only do hekayas here

Nice hekaya

If you were to meet her today what would you do?

:D:D:D:D:Dfriendly revenge…

Humble brags in this hekaya but glad you did not meet Fauna… Huyo ni mambo mbaya

The ‘f’ words are the first learnt in any language, when I dealt with chaagas at gikomba nilijua hii
‘ndi mbuti nkabakabe’

:slight_smile:

Ii upuss haijafikisha threshold kama hukufika cannan

nilikuwa katoi bwana…just 12…

\

:eek::D:D:D Izza bana.

Sasa weka avator uwache upuss.

:D:D una ufala sana.

Committee ya Mafisi itaangalia ii kesi vizuri, in the meantym keti huko…>>>>>>>> kwa kona ya group of scrotums.

Kumbe tunakuwanga wengi. Watu wa Nyiri. Wa kupigwa maslap… Ngaigua ringi ukinjira nindahurirwo ikobi @gashwin

Doesn’t meet the threshold of a proper hekaya. This is a tale of chameleons kama ile kitabu launched by Kalonzo juzi.

Hio ni game gani?

thanks, ni discus throw…ni kurusha kisahani…

Isorait :D:D:D kuna dereva wa lorry ya wahindi sitamtaja

ni christmas bwana…muenjoy na @Lola- …