FMCP Bomoas the Closet; Yes I Am Not (Whatever!)....................

Whenever I contribute here, I am frequently accused of being a tribalist. Specifically, I am regularly found ‘guilty’ of hating on Jaruos – my brothers from the lakeside.

But what is tribalism? What is the boundary between good-natured humour and ethnic prejudice? Should we shy away from pointing self-evident truths because they are politically-incorrect?

Let me use some examples.

When Gor plays at Nyayo, the whole area is engulfed with tension. Why? Because the club’s supporters who are predominantly Jaruo almost invariably cause chaos, throwing stones helter-skelter whether their team wins or loses. Random cars are damaged and pedestrians harassed. This is almost a hallmark of Gor supporters.

Now, in these circumstances when I make a comment like “Jaruos bana, what’s with you and stones?” am I stereotyping and being tribal? Or am I using proven events to provoke a discussion on social etiquette?

Let me use another example. According to the Ministry of Health and the WHO, Luo Nyanza has one of the highest HIV rates in the world. No sane human being can celebrate the suffering of others, surely, and definitely not me who has worked in this area. But we can use that unfortunate fact to raise awareness, and yes – controversially - score political points.

So when I say that Raila should concentrate more on helping ‘his’ people battle Aids before insulting Uhuru by calling a thief am I being tribal and petty? Am I stereotyping? Does it mean that I don’t have empathy with my brothers and sisters from across the valley? I don’t think so. In any case, how can we hope to deal with the problem when we don’t mention it?

I know I am walking a thin line here so let me use an example from the US, where Blacks are killing each other like there’s no tomorrow. Is it racist or tribal to point out, as some people there have, that far more Black men are killed by fellow Black people than are by White police officers? IT’S THE FERKING TRUTH, BUT SOME PEOPLE STILL THINK THAT IT IS RACIST! I don’t!

Let’s the deal with humour.

@Jirani has institutionalized the description of Kikuyus as shiny-eyed, meno-browned wakora here. Most of us Kikuyus find those descriptions funny, and we often repeat them ourselves. Why? Because life is short, and we can’t be serious all the time. We have to have the intelligence and wit to laugh at ourselves. Which is why, for example, we say that the average Luhya cannot do without “kaukali kitogo na chai mpirika tatu tu” although some Luhyas don’t even eat ugali.

Is this tribalism? I don’t think so. But wait until I tell @WuTang to go get cut and all hell breaks loose. Yet, traditionally, the Luo did not cut and performed a far more painful ritual of removing six lower teeth. To his credit @Tiriitiondo usually replies with two words: “Kihii wewe”. No chills, no catching. Why would a simple jibe based on a traditional fact elicit so much furore to the extent of one being taken to court?

Why do some people get all hot under the collar when we, for example, say Jaruo ladies have ‘hard’ faces, yet Kikuyu ladies are daily being told they have match-stick legs and no hips and they roll with it? Surely, anybody with any intelligence must know that this is harmless leg-pulling?

So what’s my point?

There’s a very thin line between North Korean kind of censorship and free speech. If @Jirani wants to call me shiny-eyed, let him knock himself out. It’s just like saying the Irish are drunks – people have always made fun of each other.

People also need to develop the maturity and thick skin to take what is dished to them. If I jokingly call you a baboon and you get all emotional and weepy it shows that you have esteem issues. You are emotionally immature.

It is not that I am a tribalist. It is that you think I am.

This must be you!!!

http://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/come-for-your-father-kabla-amwage.30867/

You missed the line… This is going straight south

One thing I find with your threads is that you are a great presenter and you articulate your points very well.Thats said in general talk, like lets say, the katiba People talk of the letter and spirit of the law. In your statements the spirit does not tally with the words. Its truth, but it’s presented na Roho mbaya or Roho mbaya presented in facts of truth.
I am kikuyu Btw and your facts about jaluos are carried in sarcasm and one can sense that’s though statements are factual kimoyomoyo you are laughing at them

@Wooi, where is that moyometre tuone kama roho yangu ni chafu?

well put. i am yet to see any of your accusers condemn @Jirani… but anything against the sufferers of wambui syndrome- or is it wangeci, whatever - is cause for mirth…

Guka unfortunately most things you would portray in the negative have jaruo connotation to them, begging the question, do you habour ethnic animosity against this group? The same goes to @Jirani with mungich view. I am not a jaruo.

@Willy Matadi, No I don’t. Though to be honest I have some trouble with their supreme leader, which somehow translates into the entire community.

Thank you. Almost anyone has a problem with one leader or the other and I believe you are eloquent enough to separate the two in your freedom of expression.

baba wa kambo wa @Mzee mzima kwani jubilee merger ilikufanyia nini??

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

THEODORE ROOSEVELT

I am cut.

Atleast you lied to yourself with good grammar.acha ukabila
hate a person for his/her characters but not a whole community just cz afew bad seeds cropped up.

I have read arguments where people ask, “can black people be racist?” Apparently, the answer is no, they cannot. Whites can be racist towards blacks, but blacks cannot be racist against whites. The idea is that subjugated people do not have power. Racism and perhaps tribalism exists only as an institutional phenomenon and black people /?guys in opposition are institutionally powerless.

For once can people think as individuals and not as a tribe, probably then we can get a leader who is generally acceptable across the boards and evaluate the ones we have on merit and not tribe.

I have only read the first four words of your title. Its not a surprise. You thought it’s a secret? Everybody here knows you are gay.

KUKA = GAY

Wee UwesKimwi umeona how many people are irritated with your upuzzi on the other thread? GROW UP NYANG’AU! GROW UP! Matako ya Matakwei wewe!

Cant help noticing,Why are your comments always laced with vitroil and hate. Go easy bro. They werent as bad in Klist as they are here. For your age you should be advicing and guiding the youngins here not engaging them in spewing abuse.

do you really know @FieldMarshal CouchP ?