For those who miss moi

upepo

Village Elder
In 1985 foreign music was banned on the only national broadcaster. Tabu Ley had to appease Moi by composing a score for him.
It was not exactly a ban, just a presidential sentiment that people took seriously. You may also want to know that a similar sentiment discouraged Indians from going into matatu business. And no, I did not hear this from a third party. I was alive then.

0%_Omera

It was not exactly a ban, just a presidential sentiment that people took seriously. You may also want to know that a similar sentiment discouraged Indians from going into matatu business. And no, I did not hear this from a third party. I was alive then.
What happened to Indians and Matatu business

CatLady

Village Elder
Moi an off the cuff remark during a presidential speech where he said "wahindi wawachie waafrika hii biashara kidogo kidogo ya matatu."And that was it.Not exactly an official presidential directive.Just a minor remark that people chose to obey out of fear.
Fixed.

0%_Omera

Moi an off the cuff remark during a presidential speech where he said "wahindi wawachie waafrika hii biashara kidogo kidogo ya matatu."And that was it.Not exactly an official presidential directive.Just a minor remark that people chose to obey.
Would the said Wahindi, have the skills to, Navigate the murky matstu business ?