Freedom/right to demo and picket. What powers do the cops have?

We have heard this ad nauseum that the cops have no right to prevent a person from demonstrating or picket. So, should the coos escort one as they demo and look on silently? Here my 2 zim dollar:
Before a demo the organizers need to give the local ocs a notice of intent. What is the norice for? Is it just for the cops to give security? No. The local regulator (ocs) is supposed to make a security analysis and advise accordingly. This means if the situation is not convenient for a demo they can advise against it and work with the organizers for a better time. The same applies for the location of the demo. For every right and freedom there is a responsibility.The organizers are supposed to kniw their demonstrators and prevent criminal activity failure to which they will be accountable. The cops during the demo have the responsibility of prtecting the protestors from the non-protestors, and the non-protestors fron the protestors. The cops can arrest individual lawbreakers as long as it is a manageable group of rogue protestors. In mature societies, the protestors ought to have identifiable markers like teesbirts ir refkector jackets, and marshalla to work with cops. Where a bigger crowd or alk the protestors become rogue, and lacking identifiabke markers, the cops employ ceowd control measures. So akina Nelson Havi should stop yapping that coos shoukd surround a supwrnarket and block looters. Waiyaki Way utablock duka ngapi? Miti ya jembe itembee. Mûrûme Koome, wewe ni engineer mbwana, can you reverse engineer omblangatas ndio giza kinembe ya Mûtuatî ishike.

well put… this mofos dont want to be told, as if everything they say is law and everything they are told mus be rejected. risasi itembee. miti ya jembe itembee, tear gas itembee RWNBPORK

Wacha watu wa demonstrate. You can as well change the law to ban demonstrations.

differenriate btwn demonstration na looting. destruction of private and public properties must and will never be tolerated by hard working kenyans. those mofos live in shanty dwellings, mbona wakuje kuloot waende Kolbi desert/Canaan wakademonstrate. ujinga hatutaki. end of RANT

I did not mention anywhere looting. That is another case.

Ati when more than 100 mofos are looting they exoect the cops to arrest them one by one, book them and draw a charge shiet

Just imagine… this guys sees cops and all is war. stones, sijui slings…SMH

Charles Owino told them clearly that there are always cops with live bullets to protect those with rubber bullets.

That is our Kenya, everybody takes advantage of a situation. Looters lazima wahakikishe kameshikana kidogo wapate afueni.

Our katiba is bure kabisa!! . Looters/hooligans/political brokers et al are all taking advantage of this katiba shit…its sad that Kenyans voted for such scum of a constitution… I remember Moi warning us -“Mkipitisha hio katiba mtakua mmejikaanga na mafuta yenyu wenyewe”…how true he was!

Additionally other than marshalls and defined route, there should be a time limit of when a protest will start and end. We can’t have idlers protesting the whole day in the CBD interrupting other people’s schedules and businesses then turn around and claim it’s their constitutional right. Kwani those whose businesses and schedules are being destroyed aren’t protected by the same constitution?

Peaceful Street demo NOT in Kenya, it can never happen . Police must use their tools of trade efficiently, with high precision !

That is how it should be: time, location and reason

They can depending on the behavior of the protestors. I watched the demos in kisumu today and the coos were heavily restrained watching guya burning tures on the road and taunting them and they didnt leave the cop station, then the rocks started landing on the cops’ heads

Honestly apart from zooming a long university way and seeing a few riot police, two patrols cars I know can’t say much

Just be honest with yourself, nurses have been protesting for now four months, have they destroyed people’s property, why are police not called to man them. Boss when you are cornered, respond with facts don’t postpone

Good point.

Everybody has a right but you can only enjoy them individually

Context please. Comparing the two cannot give us the right conclusions. My argument is that the police should ensure that the demos are peaceful.
I don’t understand your last sentence.

Political demonstrations in Kenya will never be peaceful