Freesat, OpenView and Strong Decoders

I have embarked on a project to satellite-FTAnize my house. I have a solid dish kitu 12 ft across (not sure, but it refused to fit in my 10by10 store, someone had to dismantle it into pieces). Now I want to get a nice decoder that will never ask me for money in subscription, preferrably a combo (see am becoming technical :D:D:D:D). Halafu ninunue LNBs na cables na niite fundi. I want to be watching Diego maradona wa manU akichapa Ronado wa arsenal mambao bila hesabu. And kids stuff. And documentaries too. Movies peleka hukooo--------------------------->

Katika utafiti wangu, nikaona daktari @Luther12 alikua amesema hivi:
[ATTACH=full]40019[/ATTACH]
That left me confused coz I had already set aside some 6K for an OpenView combo. Plus some little money for an installer and wires and LNBs.

Sasa swali langu ni, which is the decoder that matches my needs- free for life, combo, itashika hizo channels?

cc: @Meria Mata

Following closely for a colleague.

get a strong decoder alafu hapo pengine get @Meria Mata can get you a good installer

Sitting n listening… I never get tired of FTA conversation…

Free-To-View >> you pay once and enjoy the channels for life. A good example locally is Bamba. The catch is, you usually have to buy their decoder.

There’s nothing like a ‘best’ decoder, only one that meets your needs. Each has its strengths and weaknesses.

That said, the one good combo decoder locally is Freesat V7 Combo. I however don’t use it, instead preferring Strong SRT 4950H.

Out of curiosity, is your dish solid or mesh type?

And the other hidden catch is that they will bombard you with adverts some time in the future and you will want to run away.

Strong haina hio kitu inaitwo autoroll, sio? [SIZE=1](Never mind I dont know what it is)[/SIZE]

So, the OpenView is locked to that satellite and can not catch any other?

So that thing is to be avoided like plague, ama?

My dish is solid. A treasure inherited from someone treasurable.
Strong is not combo, right? i am avoiding having multiple decoders (read more items to be broken)

Avoid Bamba kabisa. They will take control of you at some point and you will not like it, like slotting adverts mid-program.

Openview v7 combo is the one I recommend, iko na autoroll ya keys na pia inashika signet, bamba and pang.
Weka mbisha ya dish hapa,

1. If you truly want autoroll and dual-tuner, SRT isn’t for you. It’s a purely DVB-S/S2 decoder and you load software updates manually. Autoroll means that the decoder updates the software and/or provider details on its own over the air.

2. OVHD is a proprietary decoder that can only receive that specific provider’s channels.

3. The choice on whether to get it or not is entirely yours. I have both.

For the record, not many broadcasters can afford not to have adverts. They may not advertise commodities but they most certainly will advertise their other shows and channels. Even BBC, publicly funded as it is, does it.

I will get the OpenView. Hoping I wont get screwed later.

I will get a fundi to set up the thing this coming sato. Nitawawekea mbisha. The dish is currently a heap of metal after it was dismantled.

Nice info there. Am getting technical by the day.

I am a crusader of FTA on the terrestrial side. Ukinunua Scantech ujue kitunguu imenuka kwangu. Bamba is a failed project. I wonder what KTN saw in them to acquire the chieth.

hehehe…i like the way you talk at times

Si Openview ndio ovhd ya S.Africa? Ama you mean Freesat v7 combo? What other decoders have autoroll?

Thanks for correction, I meant freeview combo

Freesat. Nikii mani!
You need an import ;);):wink:
[SIZE=1](Nitakua coast friday)[/SIZE]

@aviator , ukiamua ganinya kubuy, uniambie na mimi ninunue hio hio. I always get lost in these convos…:eek:

Napigia jamaa wa pweza,
[SIZE=2]Autocorrect tings[/SIZE]