FTA GADGETS???

A friend recently installed an FTA setup at his place… the technician who was installing it had this gadget that he was using but he was not willing to tell anyone what its and how it works. Gurus, what is it called and how does it work??
[ATTACH=full]66944[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]66945[/ATTACH]

Hii hutumiwa na peasants ku-locate a satellite i.e coordinates in the sky

Sasa wacha kusumbua on a friday.Meffi

Looks like a sat finder used by Professionals or Chronic ASAS victims like @Meria Mata and @Luther12 . Most sat finders are branded and the protocol indicated (DVB-S orDVB-S2). The gadget comes in handy when working on some elevated and difficult position. The installer probably wanted to milk extra coins by acting “mysterious”

The earth is full. go home.

This is a digital satellite meter/finder. The kind we use in installations. Zipo aina nyingi.

Have a look at this:

http://www.satlinkmeters.co.uk/satlink/ws-6980.htm

with a 120cm dish and 2lnbs how many satellites can one capture?
currently he has only 2…and some of the station in both don’t show.

Astra 1c,intelast 7/10

That’s a very difficult question to answer coz the options are as wide as the sky is. Ndio maana huwa tunauliza mtu what their interest is so that we best direct them to satellites that meet those interests as well as the equipment required to nab them. Keep in mind that the STB is very critical.

Is ‘your friend’ (wazuan parlance):slight_smile: on C-band or Ku-band?

And by the way, there’s nothing to watch on Astra 1C.

Huyo mjamaa anataka kuhamia kwa friend.

mainly his interest is in American channels, documentaries, movies and the epl… Astra 1c exists past weekend we watched some epl matches on HD sport 24 .

That’s not Astra 1C, even a casual google search will disabuse you of that notion. It’s either NSS-12 @57°E or NSS-7 @20°E.

What your pal requires is perhaps a simple combo of NSS & IS-20. If space/dish allows, one can throw in A-7.

Hehehe… huko siwezi hamia since he got it hatukai na Amani.I just thought it was cool that you can enjoy HD epl matches at one off cost. hoping to get mine soon.

Dagitari, what FTA decoder can you recommend one to purchase, estimated retail price and the sellers? Nataka kuanza kujipanga polepole… Kodi is fantastic but i also need a backup…

Mambo ya bei sijui, as I’ve said I don’t sell these things. I’ll however enlist the help of my friends @muzombozi & @Giggz for details. Currrntly, Freesat V7 Combo comes very highly recommended.

This is a digital satellite finder meter. A satlink Ws6950 Dvb-s meter. This thingy only assists you it doesn’t perform magic, the installer is the one who actually does the most work.

The installer just selected the first available satellite in the database. I bet he used a Freesat decoder or some of its close cousin autoroll stb’s.

Of course two satellites close together but 120cm isn’t enough maybe a 180cm and above. Then 2 lnb’s is vague as they could be either Ku band or Cband.

Haya, jibu swali langu hapo juu tafadhali…

luther and company am planning to put up FTA in migori county so as to watch all the epl matches over the christmas period will it work in shags as it does here am plannin to buy the big dish and the 2 lnbs am not sure which decoder so please mnichanue before i buy all this stuff and maybe it wont work properly.help a brother out guys

I believe we have addressed this question in all its variants before. When you say ‘the big dish’, what size do you mean?