Fuack these kids. I hear they burnt my highschool dorm

A dorm I sweated to raise funds for its construction in form two. KES 1,650 (that was alot those days, 82.5 loaves to be precise) has gone up in smoke just like that. Hiyo ‘profoma’ kumbe ninge rarua tu.

These little arsonists should be held in jail for life. Bure kabisa.

Shule gani hio mblo?..

It’s in the Rift. Dorm was burnt a few days ago.

Manze una machungu na kama ungekua mzazi uko sahii? The thing you don’t realize is that depending on your salo you pay 10 times more in taxes every month. Tuliza makende msee unatusumbua

Sorry boss. Didnt mean to piss you off. Just expressing my frustratioin. Haujawahi tembeza ‘proforma’ holiday mzima ukiomba neighbors and relatives wakuchangishie pesa ya kujenga dorm. Taxes ni lazima.

Phantom ka hujawahi move on …bado unakumbuka dorm yako ya highschool …phantom siwezi ongea na wewe

My national school bado iko sawa.

Nyahururu boys? What year?

Nashuku alikua anapanga aende huko tution alale kwa hiyo dorm…

Don’t blame the kids. The same cartel that made you raise the money to build that dorm while they ‘ate’ the government funds meant to build that dorm is the same that has burnt it. The kids will pay just like you while all the money meant for disaster from the government will be eaten by the same cartel.

Burning schools is a symptom of general societal rot. School children have learned from a young age that impunity pays while hardwork is punitive, heck…they are preparing for the real world out there.

What we are witnessing right now is just peer pressure.

Nothing to do with mocks, second term extension, exam cartels, books supply tenders/cartels, Matiang’i rules etc its just that, its the ‘cool’ thing to burn some structure in your school which shall provide the students with an extended holiday as the school’s administration finds an alternative. By just breaking window panes like we were used to does not warrant the closing of a school anymore. The windows can be covered with polythene bags in a day and normal learning resumes.

I remember back in the day when a similar wave of unrest rocked secondary schools across the country, we had a kamukunji moderated by the school captain to deliberate on our ‘manliness’ after two neighboring mixed schools and a girl’s school went on the rampage and it was just less than 10 days from the closing day.

The rallying call was that " we have to prove that we are men too who can strike better and with more destruction than the sissies across the ridge!’ and so it was decided by a unanimous vote of eagerly excited pubescent boys that all the window panes in the school compound were against our well being except for those on our school bus which was revered , respected and an icon across the whole province.

Within 30 minutes into the rampage three lorries full of policemen ready for combat had blocked all three (one official and two panya routes) exits from the school. At around 2 A.M after aimless running battles (No one was chasing us and the policemen watched all the drama from the comfort of their lorries) and nothing else to break; we trooped back into our dormitories, packed our things and went to bed till 7 A.M - designated breakfast time.

After breakfast as it was customary we trooped to the the assembly ground, where we found the principal, OCS and the DEO. The OCS declared that we had to vacate the school premises within 5 minutes or else… we never got to learn what the other options were.

Fast forward to September, the third term has begun , all the other schools are back in session and still no communication from our school’s administration. Parents were not so amused with our extended holidays and rumours had it that some students were sent to the school to confirm whether the school had re-opened while the rest of us had to listen all day to KBC swahili service for the much awaited re-opening date announcement as some sort of punishment.

Three weeks after the official opening date, the announcement came through after the 1 P.M news on a Wednesday but with a few conditions: Reporting day was set on Monday the following week at exactly 9 O’clock in the morning - late comers were turned away for two more weeks, accompanied by your parent(s)/guardian, Kshs. 30,000 damages fees (Our annual school fees was atmost Kshs. 23,000), everyone one (Apart from the suspected ring leaders who were to attend a B.O.G meeting after two weeks to decide on their fate) to sign a new copy of the new rules and regulations and swear to abide by them with your parent(s)/guardian as the witness and to resume the exams we had abandoned the previous term immediately after lunch on the same reporting date.

After that strike; for the next two years I was there and upto now no other class has ever attempted to go on strike.

Sema tu jina ya hio shule na mwaka. I can relate 99% back 2003

Mzee mijinga una ujinga sana. I feel the pain hata kama Mimi sio mzazi

my International School still intact 8-4-4 system bure kabisa

Wakichoma my alma matta (Braeburn) mniamshe.

Back in our days in Pango girls, burning of schools was unheard of!

Njoro Boys bado hawajachoma??am suprised…

i hear one day pango raped a watchman

@fired

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9xruh1JEpY