Gabon

Going by the standard of the soccer pitches and stadia, this country seems to we much more developed than most african countries, almost to the level of Seuth Efrica…(south Africa in khoikhoi)
I hear the tickets are being sold at 50 Bob each.
That’s why you can notice improved attendance to non hosts’ matches compared to previous tournaments when in such matches the stadiums were virtually empty.
Currently supporting bana ba Congo…! Already wanakamua nyoka ya desert.

True those stadiums are very nice, sijui zile za Jubilee zitakam lini

Morocco wamechapwa na DRC

Oil mjamaa, oil revenues ndio nasikilia its economy na MaBongo from junia to sinia

Yeap, oil. Once the President of Gabon was cornered, about the budget of his country, and the oil revenues.
His answer was simple, " it’s a state secret " , that’s when I realized Gabon was fcuked.

The price is low because the citizens had threatened to boycott the tournament. This is because despite decades of oil wealth, massive corruption and theft by their President and first family is the order of the day. Yes it’s developed but only a small fraction of the country. That’s why their government slashed ticket prices to a token so that people show up.

On Jubilee stadiums, I’ve almost given up now that campaigns have started. CS wario is a massive failure. He has been sitting on massive proposal on the stadiums with Chinese firms willing to fund its construction if they are given 99 years leases to use part of the prime land for commercial purposes such as mixed development (theme parks, malls, business park & hotels). Kwanza the Rugby/Football/Concerts Nairobi Ngong Road Stadiums has massive proposals. The best we can hope for is that at least the projects are awarded this year and construction starts to be completed in 3-4 years later. AFCON needs only 4 modern stadiums of 30000 capacity and above.

My pal went to Gabon when he was working for EABL when Kenya breweries were sponsoring harambee stars in the early 2000s.One of the players got very sick & he was admitted to a Govt Hosi kama Kenyatta Hosi ya huko.Ati hiyo hosi ilikuwa na kaa kama Nairobi Hosi hata mbagathi hosi haifikii.It was well equipped…But anyway i hear Gabon has enough Oil & population that time was low.

Three of those stadiums in Gabon are kitu 20,000 seaters. I think the country needs another good stadium in Mombasa halafu Eldoret and Ksm can have 20,000 seater facilities.

Gabon is a meffi country trust me. I’ve lived there once for a year.
There are no major roads between the cities, all food is imported and expensive as fuck, that is in spite of the country having massive arable land with enough rainfall. People live in wooden shacks.
What I’ve noticed is that most former French colonies are just screwed up.

The people themselves are not involved in any form of agriculture? Hata plantations haziko?

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Hao ni kama Angolans kimpango it seems. Overdependence on oil but population haina skills to diversify the economy.

Nothing at all. Nyanya, viazi, vitunguu all come from Cameroon. Kwa supermarket they come from France including bread.
Wamama wa sokoni all come from other Francophone countries.
Kazi yao ni kunywa tu, a 660ml beer costs around 60 US cents.
A meffi country kabisa.

Nilisikia commentator wa ile mechi ya Egypt v. Mali akisema most taxi drivers in Gabon are from Mali. Hii ni shida considering how that country has rich soils and other resources. Which jobs do the locals do?

The locals just want to work in the oil and gas industry. The population is very low by the way, thats why you see the per capita gdp is quite high. Hizo na kazi za uchiet za ofisini.
Our mboch was getting 500 USD equivalent.

Most of the oil producing countries have a problem with labour force. Over reliance on oil makes them lazy. I think our case will be different when we hit the market with our black gold

Stadia like this one in Gabobn that don’t have a running track are the wave of the future. A country only needs one stadium that has a running track

http://i.eurosport.com/2017/01/10/2000171-41998907-2560-1440.jpg?w=700

They have a population of less than 2 million and Oil wealth. Even Nairobi has a larger population. Imagine if Nairobi had oil. But I love the stadiums. They look beautiful and I hope we can have this in Kenya someday.