General Electronic Music Thread

Nimelook at the other pre-existing threads but they’re over 2 years old at this point and I made one with a different title from EDM to distinguish it from the negative associations of big-room EDM as a genre.

Ambient Techno, Kuduro, Dub Techno, Acid-House, Industrial Techno, Garage, Afro-House, Gqom, Kwaito, Italodisco, Micro House, Acid Techno, Deep House, French House, Chicago House, Outsider House, PC Music, DnB, Hardstyle, BreakBeat, UK Bass, Future Garage etc you get the point. Post music, events, mixes, house parties, memes, discussions, your drug dealer’s number etc

[ATTACH=full]280497[/ATTACH]

There’s an event in Westi this Saturday that I’m excited to attend because sijui what the electronic music scene in Kenya is like juu nimekuwa ng’ambo.

[MEDIA=facebook]576834369561630[/MEDIA]

Nilivisit Kampala kwanza kabla nirudi home na wakona a decently emerging electronic music scene buoyed by the Nyege Nyege/ Hakuna Kulala krew.

They have a Kenyan on their roster called Slikback (Freddy Njau) whose music due to a lack of better description on my part I’d describe as African-inflected-trap-deconstructed club music. Soundtrack ya your next anarcho-dystopic movie.

He’s getting quite a lot of international acclaim at the moment but anaget zero silence at home.

An EP he released early last year got an 8.0 from Pitchfork and one of his tracks from his collaborative efforts with future-bent Chinese electronic artists earned him a spot on Resident Advisor’s best tracks of 2019. He’s also played at world-class festivals like Dekmantel and Unsound. He’s probably Kenya’s brightest star in the electronic music conversation.

What do you guys think of our boy?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZC7VYQwLARw

Hakuna Reggae? :smiley:

Tukichukua reggae and make an instrumental out of it emphasizing the lows to get dub music and then tuki uhhhh fuse it with techno tunaget dubtechno so you’re very welcome here :wink:

Nimeboeka so nitapost my favourite tracks from 2019 niishie nilale

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPqdySiBpZ4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FundLlhlUgk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fI5Myc9Nt-Y

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLK1inMfCQw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dkxVRcNN5vc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e12c7j5Nnts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r_wwmmo6UGY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kZ3r5tG58w0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUTGTbJZTXE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBxmnfI4ryk

Tunapregame with this kabla we hit the club

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebRWUbdvtKg

Really enjoying this EP from Nyege Nyege’s sublabel Hakuna Kulala. Sounds like club music from 2050

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z1udBzPuReQ

Please if you have one hour free and want to test the waters with electronic music, I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend this african/western mix by this amazing Ugandan dj who is imo the best dj in East Africa right now (wachana na dj joe mfalme). This is someone that will drop on the dance floor that Zangalewa track (wachana na ya shakira) your parents played constantly in the 90’s and at the same time introduce you to underground electronic dance music from Ghana to South Africa being made RIGHT NOW as well as music being made by the African Diaspora from countries like Portugal. Her taste is off the charts. Maze kama huvibe hata kiasi uko beyond saving :stuck_out_tongue:

DJ Kampire - Sounds of Sonar

Kwanza aliniintroduce to Mina. Imagine mzungu ana dj music yetu better. Some things have to be seen to be believed

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5n4XNxdAl3o