Golden Globes 2017 - Atlanta Wins , Westworld Fail

Atlanta was some good musical/comedy show. Been a while watching something fresh with a majorly black cast. Childish Gambino win was well deserved.

For the movies, the nominees are forerunners for the Oscars. Complete list…
[SIZE=4]
FILM[/SIZE]
Best Motion Picture, Drama
”Hacksaw Ridge”
”Hell or High Water”
”Lion”
”Manchester by the Sea”
”Moonlight”

Best Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy
”20th Century Women”
”Deadpool”
”Florence Foster Jenkins”
”La La Land”
”Sing Street”

Best Performance By an Actress in a Motion Picture, Drama
Amy Adams, “Arrival”
Jessica Chastain, “Miss Sloane”
Isabelle Huppert, “Elle”
Ruth Negga, “Loving”
Natalie Portman, “Jackie”

Best Performance By an Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy
Annette Bening, “20th Century Women”
Lily Collins, “Rules Don’t Apply”
Hailee Steinfeld, “The Edge of Seventeen”
Emma Stone, “La La Land”
Meryl Streep, “Florence Foster Jenkins”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture, Drama
Casey Affleck, “Manchester by the Sea”
Joel Edgerton, “Loving”
Andrew Garfield, “Hacksaw Ridge”
Viggo Mortensen, “Captain Fantastic”
Denzel Washington, “Fences”

Best Performance By an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture

Mahershala Ali, “Moonlight”
Jeff Bridges, “Hell or High Water”
Simon Helberg, “Florence Foster Jenkins”
Dev Patel, “Lion”
Aaron Taylor-Johnson, “Nocturnal Animals”

Best Performance by Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture
Viola Davis, “Fences”
Naomie Harris, “Moonlight”
Nicole Kidman, “Lion”
Octavia Spencer, “Hidden Figures”
Michelle Williams, “Manchester by the Sea”

Best Director, Motion Picture
Damien Chazelle, “La La Land”

Tom Ford, “Nocturnal Animals”
Mel Gibson, “Hacksaw Ridge”
Barry Jenkins, “Moonlight”
Kenneth Lonergan, “Manchester by the Sea”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy
Colin Farrell, “The Lobster”
Ryan Gosling, “La La Land”
Hugh Grant, “Florence Foster Jenkins”
Jonah Hill, “War Dogs”
Ryan Reynolds, “Deadpool”

Best Screenplay, Motion Picture
”La La Land”

”Nocturnal Animals”
”Moonlight”
”Manchester by the Sea”
”Hell or High Water”

Best Original Score, Motion Picture
”Moonlight”
”La La Land”
”Arrival”
”Lion”
”Hidden Figures”

Best Motion Picture, Animated
”Kubo and the Two Strings”
”Moana”
”My Life as a Zucchini”
”Sing”
”Zootopia”

Best Original Song, Motion Picture
“Can’t Stop the Feeling,” “Trolls”
“City of Stars,” “La La Land”
“Faith,” “Sing”
“Gold,” “Gold”
“How Far I’ll Go,” “Moana”

Best Motion Picture, Foreign Language
”Divines”
”Elle”
”Neruda”
”The Salesman”
”Toni Erdmann”

Best Television Series, Drama
”The Crown”
”Game of Thrones”
”Stranger Things”
”This Is Us”
”Westworld”

Best Television Series, Musical or Comedy
”Atlanta”
”Blackish”
”Mozart in the Jungle”
”Transparent”
”Veep”

Best Television Limited Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
”American Crime”
”The Dresser”
”The Night Manager”
”The Night Of”
”The People v. O.J.: American Crime Story”

Best Performance By an Actor in a Television Series, Drama

Rami Malek, “Mr. Robot”
Bob Odenkirk, “Better Call Saul”
Matthew Rhys, “The Americans”
Liev Schreiber, “Ray Donovan”
Billy Bob Thornton, “Goliath”

Best Performance By an Actor in a Television Series, Musical, or Comedy
Anthony Anderson, “Blackish”
Gael Garcia Bernal, “Mozart in the Jungle”
Donald Glover, “Atlanta”
Nick Nolte, “Graves”
Jeffrey Tambor, “Transparent”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Series, Limited Series, or Motion Picture Made for Television
Riz Ahmed, “The Night Of”
Bryan Cranston, “All the Way”
Tom Hiddleston, “The Night Manager”
Courtney B. Vance, “The People v. O.J.: American Crime Story”
John Turturro, “The Night Of”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Limited Series, or Motion Picture Made for Television
Sterling K. Brown, “The People v. O.J.: American Crime Story”
Hugh Laurie, “The Night Manager”
John Lithgow, “The Crown”
Christian Slater, “Mr. Robot”
John Travolta, “The People v. O.J.: American Crime Story”

Best Performance by an Actress in a TV Series, Drama
Caitriona Balfe, “Outlander”
Claire Foy, “The Crown”
Keri Russell, “The Americans”
Winona Ryder, “Stranger Things”
Evan Rachel Wood, “Westworld”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Actress in a Series, Limited Series, or Motion Picture Made for Television
Olivia Coleman, “The Night Manager”
Lena Headey, “Game of Thrones”
Chrissy Metz, “This Is Us”
Mandy Moore, “This Is Us”
Thandie Newton, “Westworld”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Series, Limited Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Felicity Huffman, “American Crime”
Riley Keough, “The Girlfriend Experience”
Sarah Paulson, “The People v. O.J.: American Crime Story”
Charlotte Rampling, “London Spy”
Kerry Washington, “Confirmation”

Best Performance By an Actress in a Television Series, Musical, or Comedy
Rachel Bloom, “Crazy Ex-Girlfriend”
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep”
Sarah Jessica Parker, “Divorce”
Issa Rae, “Insecure”
Gina Rodriguez, “Jane the Virgin”
Tracee Ellis Ross, “Blackish”

http://thesource.com/2017/01/09/childish-gambino-thanks-migos-tracee-ellis-ross-makes-history-at-the-golden-globe-watch/

Only goliath makes sense there

Alafu

Nominees from shows I liked who came close; Lena Headey, “Game of Thrones”, Winona Ryder, “Stranger Things”,Evan Rachel Wood, “Westworld”.

Usijaze Server na Meffi, shoga mzee.

C’mon man. You must be kiding.

I just finished watching the Crown yesterday and that lady easily takes the best actress.

I was also hoping John Lithgow would win.

La La Land is perhaps the most obvious winner here since it is so ‘oscar themed’. Not sure how to put it. It’s acted in such a way you know they are definitely chasing for an oscar the way those slave movies usually are.

I am very disappointed Hell or High water did not win though since for me it is my best movie of the year.

The best actor section is the toughest one. I was hoping Riz Ahmed from the Night Of would take it. The way he embodies the transformation from a nerd to a ‘gangster’ is something I have never seen in a movie or series before.

I am very happy for Atlanta though and especially on the comedy category it comes of as a very clear winner. The first season of Blackish would have been able to contend but definitely not the later ones. Goliath was a very nice series but the director sought of tied his arms since one is left wondering what would a season 2 entail.

For the Oscars however I think Mel Gibson will snatch the best directorship if he is put up against the same opponents. Americans love a good war movie

¾ of these titles i have never heard of or never got past the 1st episode

I wrote the script for Masters of Sex just so you know. #RoysambuSexSymbol

You’re getting old

I AM THE ONE WHO KNOCKS!

Haha… Byran Cranston was good. It’s just that he wasn’t a nerd. Just a smart good person who went into crime.

If you watch a Night Of you will understand. Innocent Pakistani kid gets falsely accused of murder and rape along with a litany of other offences. Goes to jail as his case is being tried. While there you have to learn to fed for yourself lest you get killed. Remember that rapists are generally hated in prison.

The Night Of is definitely not on Breaking Bad level but is surely the best detective series I enjoyed in 2016.

On that note, you should definitely watch All the Way by Bryan. If you love House of cards you will love that movie.

I just downloaded the first season. Let me watch.

By the way Goliath was really good although I could seem to reconcile the main character from the guy in Fargo. They are so similar yet so different.

The last Time I watched a movie was 3 months ago sijui watu wakiwatch movie huwa wametoa time wapi Na wanatafta nini