[SIZE=5]Equipment[/SIZE]
VW Golf MK5 GT(2009)
1.4ltr TSI
BLG - 170hp
Owned ~1yr
Driven ~14,000KM
Maintainer - DT Dobie

[SIZE=5]Background[/SIZE]
The internet can be a cruel place. Stories abound about the fragility of this little fun sporty car. Don’t listen to the doomsayers! Acquired as a project car(not to build but to own). Wanted a sensible but quick experimental car.

[SIZE=5]Experience[/SIZE]
Harder suspension than what you’d ordinarily find on other Japanese models. The 17inch wheels also add to this. However on smooth roads(which is where it should be driven), excellent handling with minimal body roll. A breeze to drive. The DSG(dual-clutch)gearbox is sublime; I find myself using it over the manual paddle shifts.

[SIZE=5]Maintenance[/SIZE]
I found DT Dobie very agreeable at 9,900 for a minor service and 26K for a major one. So far had 2 repairs done to the vehicle after loss of power under heavy acceleration. Intake manifold flap vacuum actuator had gone and 1 ignition coil on cylinder 2 was failing causing a misfire. DT Dobie diagnosed the first issue and fixed it(13K), but on later reporting loss of power above 100KPH , they took it back and diagnosed the second issue together with fixes(13K).
I’m due for a field campaign(a.k.a TSB) for FREE replacement of ABS/ESP package for my particular model(8 years later!)

I once took it to a “specialist” garage for a full service and the bill almost made me weep(~->60K). Decided to stick with the dealer, they usually give me deep discounts(upto 40%), though during busy periods, they can take weeks to finish up on your car. I also like the free car washes though I suspect they’re starting to wear on my wax polish(might need to get it buffed).

I have tried shopping around for parts(spark plugs, poly-v belts, shock absorbers etc) from the independents but NO ONE has been able to underquote the dealer(even before I ask for a discount). Their labour at 6K an hour though is quite pricey.

[SIZE=5]Reliability[/SIZE]
I don’t use it as a daily driver so this should be considered. In all, I found these cars don’t like to be driven short distances. The engine is a bit rough on cold start and the gearbox slightly notchy on low gears(1&2) in traffic with the suspension feeling stiff. However on a long road trip, the car comes to it’s own. Fuel consumption stabilises to an acceptable 14kpl on the highway and the car is very fluid and smooth. Suspension softens(do shock absorbers need warm-up?) with small potholes and general bumps on roads soaked up comfortably.
I have driven ~500KM with the engine light on and never once did it leave me by the side of the road. With an intake manifold flap stuck in the closed position and a misfiring cylinder, I’d say this is quite good. Just don’t do this for long!!! Get it fixed ASAP.

[SIZE=5]Resale value[/SIZE]
None to write home about. Depreciation is massive peaking at 20% per annum. But I have it for keeps, so not worried about that. Target is to drive it to 200K over a period of 4 years then write it off after that. Keeping it OEM(stock) to see how long it will last.

[SIZE=4]Pros[/SIZE]
[li]Excellent Grand Tourer(obviously from the name). Very enjoyable on long road trips. Great comfortable bucket seats.[/li]
[li]Great handling giving confidence in tricky scenarios like narrow passes and overtakes. Also has the power to complete those near-miss overtakes.[/li]
[li]Practical, can carry 5 people; but why should you?(Hint: people=weight=slow)[/li][li]Affordable service/maintenance costs.[/li][/ul]

Cons
[li]Difficult to stay within speed limit :)[/li][li]Kenyan erected (tall) speed humps are a pain to cross[/li][li]Terrible daily driver. Short runs before car parts have “warmed up” are terrible and harsh. All round visibility in crawling traffic is crap with blindspots around the B-pillars and the huge bucket seats obstructing rear-side view. Rear view mirrors are the size of pin-hole cameras, always jumps my heart a beat when I see a motor-cyclist at the very last second coming up on my wrong side.[/li][li]Recommended fuel is 95RON, so V-power(25/= more per litre) is an extra expense.[/li][li]Depreciation(especially in the Kenyan market) is brutal.[/li][/ul]
[SIZE=5]Conclusion[/SIZE]
I think the best way to judge a car is by asking yourself this question – “Would you buy it again?”. The answer is, given the same conditions; yes. However, given a choice, I would go for the GTI because I feel the GT(while quick) is just not fast enough for me. Also, it feels like a settled for a lesser version instead of the real deal(GTI). Kinda like Jacob settling for Leah instead of Rachel.

Good review.

Your post is confusing. You have owned the car for 1 year, its due for a repair 8 years later. I hate stiff vehicles. That alone can make change my mind.

Excellent review

It’s because he bought the car as a used unit. Probably had been used for years.

Hii upus ya resale value ungeacha ibaki Toyota

excellent review

What was the issue with the power loss above 100km/h? Was your boost even all through the rev range?

Forget this V-Power story. Shell cant vouch for the RONs they impute. I went excellium a few weeks ago. No complaints.

Placebo effect is a very dangerous thing. Makes you experience things that are really not there…my take.

Good review, good car. Ask me again about speed bumps. I take no one on my journeys except the children. If I loaded 5 fat Kenyans I would leave my exhaust pipes atop the first bump I have to negotiate:):slight_smile:

I’ve got what VW call dual-charging or others call 2-step charging.
Step 1 - Supercharger at low revs and high engine load
Step 2 - Turbocharger at high revs and high engine load

I was loosing power especially at the 2nd step. As explained to me by the dealer’s mech, at high revolutions, the ECU retards or advances timing per requirement(engine load & fuel type/quality). This timing is precise and so should the subsequent sparking. But the failing ignition coil kept missing it’s firing order at high revs, hence the misfire in cylinder 2. The ECU detects this and to protect the engine cuts power(many times per second) giving a jerking feeling.

Under boost(upto 2.5 bar), the tolerances are quite small exacerbating the problem. The boost was even through the rev range.

I vouch for excellium. Reduced the knock on my silly benz.

you’re boosting at 2.5 bar???

Yes, 2.5 bar. My Subaru friends maxing at 1.8 bar were impressed :slight_smile:

this sounds incredible. 36 psi??? i doubt your engine can handle that kind of load.
unless it’s heavily heavily modded.

I have the 2.0 MK5 GTI 6 speed DSG, same year, both are really good hatchbacks, quite hideous but ruthless - speedwise, effortlessly when taken to task. Hawa wasee wa Probox, Fielder Harrier kind of sprints kukunyima when overtaking hawatakustua. On the highway, gari za kukushtua ni kidogo sana, esp. those forced induction and displacing huge capacities.
I concur with you these are not cars to be driven on rough/ corrugated roads, you have to plan on the roads to pass before you embark on your journey. For start stop traffic, fuel consumption is RELATIVELY not good, 7-10.5km/l. Average is 13.0 - 14.0km/l for the GTI - highway but you have to watch your speedo cos you really have to struggle to maintain 100kmh, especially when warmed up cuz it will be like pushing you forward on slight pressing.
Be watchful for jack of all works- kind of mechanics, you gat to work with specialists, and most importantly do preventive maintenance. For these cars you have to be a car guy.
Treat it right and it will treat you nice.

Well said @Column We should do a run one of this fine days. You up for it? I know some brilliant twisty and smooth roads, no NTSA :slight_smile:

[ATTACH=full]96288[/ATTACH]

We should arrange for this. Let me work on my brakes and suspension first. Am looking at Porsche brembos. My ultimate is the Golf R though… wacha bei ishuke kwanza tu

I have an Edition 30 Mk5 GTI. Also eyeing a Glof R in the next 2 years.

this is absolute? has atmospheric pressure been accounted for? 2.5 ni mingi baba…:slight_smile:
you’re car can take off. literally.
when you’re planning your run let me know. this i have to see.