Good argument about IEBC

[li][LIST][/li][li]These are sentiments from some participants in The Star disqus[/li][/ul]
[li]http://a.disquscdn.com/1461263052/images/noavatar92.png[/li]Patriotic Kenyanan hour ago
IEBC is a constitutional office and CORD co-principals should show
leadership and use legal means to remove the commission instead of
causing unrest in the capital. That’s
what democracy is all about. Let’s be
responsible citizens who abide by the rule of law.
[li]0 [/li][/ul]
[li]Reply[/li][/ul]
[li][URL=‘https://disqus.com/by/disqus_rmlSsI4Sf2/’]http://a.disquscdn.com/1461263052/images/noavatar92.png[/li]Joe[/URL]an hour ago
It is easier to dissolve cord than IEBC cordoo brigade should know that

http://a.disquscdn.com/uploads/users/6572/8064/avatar92.jpg?1437977517
Gathuruan hour ago
If the current IEBC is legally disbanded will the new one have enough time to prepare for the 2017 elections? Hardly! This country is being set up. If we go to the polls with Hassan, the opposition will cry foul and refuse to accept the results. The same will happen with any new but ill-prepared polls body. So what happens? Another nusu mkate government. I believe this is the larger scheme of things.
[/LIST]
I agree with them. What do you think?

Gathuruan apewe Crimea

My take without taking sides:

Constitution requires disbandment of a constitutional body to be done through parliament
Cord doesn’t want to follow that route stating parliament has tyranny of numbers
Cord says they will storm IEBC and eject the commissioners
If the current commissioners are ejected, new ones will have to be appointed very fast
The same new commissioners will have to be approved by parliament as per constitution.
The same parliament with tyranny of numbers.

My Conclusion: ( see image below)

[ATTACH=full]38497[/ATTACH]

26 Likes

Am also very unsure of this drive to disband IEBC at the 11th hour.

Why now, just 18 months to the elections? And the Supreme Court as well, its supposed to be dissolved…

The Nusu Mkate conspiracy is not far-fetched. But I don’t think Uhuruto will settle for such, so fasten your seat belts.

We are in for a bumpy ride. And not a few corpses.

NO WAY IS JUBILEE GOING TO AGREE TO NUSU MKATE. NO WAY.

HERE’S WHY.

To push for a nusu mkate you must unleash destabilising violence a la 2008, bringing in the West.

The Kambas are not violent, so Eastern will be quiet. The Rift will be quiet, for obvious reasons except at the borders with Kavirondo. Central will be quiet. NE will be queit, as usual. Watu wa Mulembe will be too busy eating ukali to care.

The only flashpoints will be Coast, Luo Nyanza, small sections of Gusii land, and Nairobi. With more than 100,000 police officers, Uhuruto will manage to crush any upstarts here.

Without the Rift, Babuon is powerless really. A few headshots will do the trick, sad to say.

I still do not understand why IEBC officials are still in Office after the chicken gate scandal. The below quote from the IEBC chair was unbelievable.

Mr chairman, on behalf of the entire commission, we feel that the law has been applied selectively. We have appeared before this committee and other constitutional commissions and have not been asked to take oath,” he said adding; “In any case some of us are fasting and cannot lie while under oath.”
Read more at: http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2000088769/iebc-chiefs-stun-mps-after-defying-house-orders-to-take-oath-before-justice-committee

Wewe ndio umejua, CORD ni mkate nusu wantafuta, nothing else. Unakumbuka ile trick ya kupatia IEBC fake signatures, hapa pia hakuna step that will be taken to satisfy CORD. Disband IEBC and let paliarment come up with a new IEBC act, of course paliarment has Jubilee tyranny, and immediately the guys are appointed IEBC = Jubilee will be the new song[ATTACH=full]38503[/ATTACH]

Why wasn’t the disbandment of IEBC not pushed for like 2years ago with the ‘seriouness’ being witnessed now? Convenience! To suit those who think they are entitled to the leadership position of the nation. If any chaos erupt, they’ll be foolish chaos with rowdy, empty-headed youth hired to make noise. Let the constitution be followed to the letter and may all citizens eschew buffoonery for their own sake. Ile damu ilimwagika 8 years ago ilitosha.

A whole 5 years, nobody thought it wise to bring such an important motion like disbanding the IEBC. They that constitution is full of anomalies, none suggested that we change it honestly. And by honestly I mean selflessly, not like the way they want Okoa Kenya done! Why must it be done today?
How long would the whole process take? I mean sending the commissioners home, advertising for the positions, shortlisting, vetting, and having them in office?

@Da Vinci, it would take virtually all the 18 months remaining.

NUSU MKATE NDIYO WANATAKA!

How now then:)? And I understand that almost all of them were suggestions from the same opposition and the civil society?

my reading is that these are just antics to make us forget some embarrassing incidents of the last few weeks; key among these is the throwing of stinkers at a “brother’s” wedding and missing the wedding altogether, mediocrity in the management of okoa kenya, which was set up to fail anyway, and emerging cracks of a fallout.
in the fixing world one of the rules we work with is “if the Principal is embarassed quickly create an outrage to remove his shame from the headlines”…
Anyone still storming Central Bank Governor’s office?

NGAI!!!

Are you insinuating that if you eject the commissioners from their offices, physically, you revoke their appointment and legal capacity as commissioners?

in nairobi ,we will not need the police

You beat me to this question…

Mwenye amesema nusu mu-roaf ndiye purofet wa kweli, wachana na mwenye alikuwa anatabiria water meron…lakini ma-first body raundi hii watakubali ifike extent ya kugawa mukate kwery?

Babuon is ready to unleash all the foolishness he can think of to destabilize this country, Ati “…We are capable of stopping this country from going into elections…” NKT!

Eh, na si watu wamepiga hesabu hapa nje!!!

Desperation has set in and it’s not a question of winning - that idea has evaporated into thin air, rather it’s all about “hata nusu mkate” Is better than nothing. Remember a case of somebody being so desperate to the extent of begging to sit on the throne for even 2 min?

State Hous (or Shell-BP House) by force, 2008 redux. What would an IEBC acceptable to JaKuon look like?