Good news to those in CRB under 35

[ATTACH=full]171976[/ATTACH]

Helb sasa sitalipa hadi nihit 35 nkiwa birrioneare
Lakni wale mafala huforward jina zako kwa CRB ju ya loan ya 150 mshwari, huwa mamekula maffi?

Tutakopa hadi shimo LA tewa hiyo kitu ikipitishwa.

Hiyo ya Mshwari na izo loan apps zinaeza kumess juu ya pesa ingine ya uppussy sana. There’s a woman neighbor of mine, ako forty something years old, daughter wake wa 15 years alitumia details zake kufungua account ya Tala, akachukua loan ya 500 na of course hakulipa. Ni hawa watoto hujua mpaka PIN ya mpesa ya wazazi. So later on, her older sister needs to report to uni and the mother goes to apply for a loan, akanyimwa ati ju ako CRB. She had never even heard of Tala, app ilikua kwa phone yake but hana shugli, anadhania ni izo apps za game watoto huinstall kwa simu yake. Kabla a-sort hiyo mess some few weeks had passed.

[ATTACH=full]171981[/ATTACH]

:confused: its more of “something under discussion” than it is a definite thing though, yeah?

Kind of useless for anyone who might GASP get older over the next decade as they try to implement it.

http://allafrica.com/stories/201805230213.html

[B]"Young people will no longer be registered under the Credit Reference Bureau (CRB) for defaulting on loans, Youth Fund Chairman Ronnie Osumba has said.
Speaking during the Youth Economic Dialogues in Nairobi on Tuesday, Mr Osumba said his organisation was working towards getting people between the ages of 18 and 35 years removed from the CRB blacklist of loan defaulters. He said this followed complaints that the listing was keeping them from accessing the Youth Fund loans.
AFFIRMATIVE ACTION
During the event, one of the participants complained that even though he has tried to get a loan from the Affirmative Action Fund to start a business, he was locked out because he is registered as a defaulter by the CRB after he missed a few payments of his Higher Education Loans Board loan.
The young man said he did not know what to do as he had just graduated and was still looking for a job when he was blacklisted.

One is blacklisted after failing to pay back borrowed money by at least 90 days.
BANK LOANS
This applies to loans from banks, Saccos, Helb loans, mobile money loans such as M-Shwari and even borrowed airtime for mobile phones by telecommunication companies such as Safaricom and Airtel.
Mr Osumba also said the fund was looking for ways to ensure that young people in need of money can get it without having to put up something as collateral. He said that since youths do not have property, it does not make sense to ask them to produce valuable items as a guarantee when they seek loans to start businesses."[/B]

Kitambo kidogo thugs were on my neck and forced me ask for 500/- loan from mshwari. Kulikuwa na ugumu wa kulipa loan enye hukutumia, but izo jinga za mshwari kept bombarding my phone with those blacklisting threats. Getting 500/- during those days was hard, maisha ilikuwa imenilemea zaidi pale Landmawe. From hiyo day sjaikopa chochote mshwari, na stakangi kuona izo apps za mikopo.

Niaje M-Titties

:slight_smile: pour sana beibe cakes … utaniripia roan?

Bad idea. One doesn’t just get blacklisted. This policy if it sees the light of day will enable the youth to default on obligations.

Don’t start celebrating yet! This scheme can never help the youth. Let me explain.

Credit scoring is a system used to measure creditworthiness of an individual. If you borrow money, and repay as agreed you get a good score. If you default, you score poorly. Credit scoring is not restricted to bank loans only, it applies to other services that are paid for in arrears. For example, if you are a Safaricom post paid customer, and failed to pay your bills on time, they may refer your name to a credit reference buraue. Lenders will charge you a higher interest rate or refuse to lend you if you have poor credit scores.

Now back to the youth. Some of them may want to borrow from commercial banks. How will these banks identify habitual defaulters? Neck, some employers even use CRB services to screen potential employers.

Nakupenda sana Closed Tenderess. Rakini niitiche kitu Youth Fund haiwezi fanya, kama mapenzi na long walks on the side if the road.

I don’t remember the title of the thread but some good minded man had posted here about how those lending apps are here to destroy the future of the youth. looks like someone in ‘power’ got enlightened and did the necessary. Kudos

Time for the youth to eat, old geezers have had it too easy for too long. Chukua loan potelea mitini.

A good credit scoring system is a win-win for both lenders and borrowers. Lenders identify low risk borrowers. On the other hand, a borrower of good credit standing is not burdened with higher premiums meant to cushion lenders from losses caused by defaulters.

Why would anyone borrow more than they are capable of paying? There is nothing like free money.

People should be disciplined in meeting their obligations, if you borrow pay. Let’s have a responsible society.

I bet this is not a blind directive, scrapping or not blacklisting someone should follow a given criteria.

If it’s a HELB loan, the defaulter should be able to demonstrate that s/he is unable to pay. The penalties imposed should also not be punitive, this is not an avenue for them to make revenue. I am a beneficiary and I finished my repayments, paying HELB enables those disadvantaged economically to access education.

On mobile loans, easy is expensive. Go for one if you really need it, know the rates, and borrow what you are able to repay comfortably.

Not good news at all. Lenders will now be very strict lending their money and will probably not do it to below 35s unless u can secure the loan.

Not sure Osumba has any powers to make such drastic policy changes!

I thought so too. Can the CBK allow that?

Nikiwa kule mashambani one of my cousins from dala asked to use my phone. Dude took a loan of 5k on my Mshwari and blocked the messages.
Sasa me juu I don’t do such petty loans nikalenga…until last month when some fellas called Gilcherry debt collectors came for me…
Of course Mini Mbirionnare cleared the loan but still listed pale CRB for a measly 5k