Google Maps Gets Nigerian Accent

Let this be a lesson to Kenyan bonobos who get American accents after glancing at the US embassy for 3 seconds. If you’re proud of your culture, the corporations will have to customise their services to your liking.

[MEDIA=facebook]id=339232257005480;type=video;user=BBCnewsafrica[/MEDIA]

there’s nothing like cultural pride there. Are you saying we start speaking in an Ekegusii accent, or kimeru or kisomali so as to be considered proud? We are doing fine, I think…

thats some patronising BS

U can’t compare Arabs’ diverse languages to African languages

but your arabs speak English with a horrible accent.

Village idler, there’s also no such thing as a single English accent. Someone speaking English in Texas will have a different accent from those speaking the same English in New York. The same applies to England and Australia. This so called “American accent” that Kenyans ape is specifically designed for Hollywood. That’s why you might understand what a movie star says but have trouble understanding an actual American citizen. What I’m saying is, your environment shapes your accent.

Valid point

The other day I was trying to get to an address on Dennis Pritt and the voice and pronunciation were horrible. Imagine ‘Olenguruone’…

Back when I still listened to radio, I used to be annoyed by that mzungu who’s paid by all FM stations to do their announcements. Saying “Nigong” instead of Ngong, and we all act like the pronunciation is okay.

Yes Nigerians are indeed very proud, their diaspora in the west are one of few africans who won’t try to change their accent to recemble white people unlike other low IQ black africans.

@captain obvious. Those Kenyans don’t sound American at all. More like Irish.

Nigerians have the deepest accents. They can’t Americanize their accent even if they tried.

And they don’t try to.

No. Mtu kama mimi I speak good English. Nigerians hio mother tongue yao is so heavily accented and that’s why very few of them manage to mask it.

Inaitwa Nigerian Pidgin si Nigerian accent punda hii

Fact Ni kwamba Nigerians know pidgin English , Ni kama sheng yetu

Pidgin is a mixture of English and native languages. This is pure English spoken with a Nigerian accent, maliar wewe.

Point of correction, the word is “spit”

Reminds me of a book “man of the people”. literature style.