Googling professionals

Case 1:
Recently I took my last born to a local hosi a he was a bit under the weather. Coughing, fever and lack of appetite.
We went through the normal rituals with the nurse(weight, body temp etc) and were ushered in to see a doctor.
She was a yellow yellow in her late twenties.
The mother gave her the kids symptoms above, as she keyed in details on his comp.
I thought she was recording the details in the hospital’s system but upon looking closer at her comp and to my utter shock, she was googling about the symptoms so as to get an idea of what the kid might be suffering from and the best medicine to prescribe.
Had to take the kid to a different hospital.

Case 2:
A scanner/printer in our office couldn’t network with one of the PCs.
So we called this young IT guy to resolve the issue. As I stood there to supervise, I couldn’t help but notice how he resulted to googling to resolve the issue.
He did not succeed.

Case 3:
I approached an architect to…
never mind.

Anyway you now get my drift.
Google is slowly turning some of our young professionals to, for lack of a better term ‘robots’ seriously limiting their imagination…

Swali wadau: Should Professionals Google for information and knowledge that they are supposed to have acquired during training? Is this ethical?

Definitely. Even before the era of googling, doctors would still refer to their medical texts from time to time. Googling just makes the process easier. For example, if I go to say Dr Gikonyo and see him googling, I wont be worried.

The thing is, you should have some training in that field and you should know how to google and only use websites known to have quality info. I am in software and believe me, googling is the order of the day. Also, IT and most other fields keep changing and what you may have learnt in school may be obsolete after some years.

There is one who consulted a book that was thicker than my waist when I went to her clinic. But I liked the fact that she needed to confirm that whatever I presented had a recommended treatment regimen…

But google is making them lazy. Won’t keep them sharp…

And the main question is they are googling from whom…?
It could be Dr. Quack from kayole and then she administers overdose as happened recently in machakos.

WebMD

[ATTACH=full]244763[/ATTACH]

I think it is neither here nor there.

I think it is v relative, neither here nor there. I used to feel bad when my Dr googled in my presence but not anymore but it also means that she will send me for so many tests as she does not want to miss anything.
I felt bad when the guy repairing our lift googled for something yesterday. I did not enter the bloody thing. I am on the 10th floor. Moved quickly to another one.
The generation we are raising regard googling as foolproof information. They even talk to someone to check the weather for the day…ateeee ‘siri, is it going to rain today’…siri the bot’s name answers ‘yes at exactly this time blablabla’…always accurate. Homework for secondary school students is done online!

on the doctor’s case.lemme say that a good doctor will know your ailment or atleast know what to supect and investigate upon seeing you or getting your history and taking notes on your complains.But when it comes to treatment options,they are allowed to refer…they also get to research on what medicines are convinient for you.they are also allowed to check what meds might react with other meds you are taking…or what combination not to give…The referring thing is from zamani,just that zamani doctors had books to refer to

Academic professors do not like this

They like it very much! Its called “Triangulation”. Using use of a variety of methods/sources including your past experience to come up with a concrete and well informed treatment regime based on evidence from multiple sources

After analyzing the symptoms a qualified doctor should send for lab tests and at least start googling from the tests. hii bahati nasibu ya kugoogle hapana. What is the need of going to see him if I can google from my house. Secondly most talkers have admitted that google often brings wrong results hadi kuna mtu alidhani ako na brain tumour kumbe sijui ni eye issues.

Sometimes you have to. What you learnt in class may not be sufficient to cover all real life challenges faced. Last month I had a disengaged clutch coupling. (For those who understand huge motor safe coupling will agree clutch coupling is not a very common thingy). I googled, downloaded the pdf and in 5minutes I had re-engaged the coupling from the information thereof. I’m now wiser

Tech is a binary field. The response is either 1 or 0. If someone googles and fixes the machine, then the solution works and his method was okay. Otherwise, it is a fail. So what’s the problem? Even doctors call other doctors for a consult.n

Mmmmh think times/things have really changed. These includes surgical equipments and medicine to be used. We cannot diagonise ourselves at home as we are not experts. But I am stating this from a different platform. You cannot buy any serious medicine like antibiotics, insulin, HBP medicine and a horde of many others over the counter here. Some painkillers yes and even then have your id with you. The serious ones lazima ukuwe na Dr’s Prescription.

A mix of googling/professionalism will help a certain individual.

Search engines should only serve as a reference point and not the hallmark of one’s profession.

Not today…if you googling from creditable engines.

I had interns at my workplace the other day and it was funny how you ask them anything and they google.I was talking to my nephew the other day and he told me that in uni today they carry phones to the exam room just to google…I did engineering in UNI and he is doing a business course and i wonder.[SIZE=1]What is the essence of going to school if you will google everything?[/SIZE][SIZE=3]THINKING KAMA MTU WA MATHARE

which are?[/SIZE]

Most examiners are aware of this weakness and cramming and to catch them off balance they twist the question in a manner that is not direct. watu wanashinda wakipiga dafrao

I can’t tell you which ones they are as it all depends on the profession. If you push for an answer, I will google hihihihi.
Nota bene, I also did not mean my Drs google every 2 mins. It is when they are stumped.

A lot of information is now at our finger tips. Why the need to memorize things you can quickly lookup? Times have changed. Why struggle to memorize directions from A to B when you can enter the details in maps and easily find your way there? Why carry physical maps any more? This isn’t '93.
Tech has simplified a lot of things by making information readily available. Having said that, and especially in most professions its always important to have a solid background and understanding such that tech is complementary to what you already know. I worked in IT at a high level for 11 or so years, and can assure you that Googling alone will not get you out of the majority of tech problems you encounter.