Governor Sonko's garbage collection plans. Win or fail?

He plans to distribute these garbage skips/containers in strategic areas within the entire Nairobi CBD and Estates.

[ATTACH=full]151541[/ATTACH]
The exercise of changing the garbage skips to designated areas will be conducted on daily basis by workers from the environmental department & not residents.

This sounds like a great idea but haven’t we seen this plan fail before? Kanjo not collecting garbage, vandalism of the skips etc.

[ATTACH=full]151542[/ATTACH]
Your thoughts… Win or fail?

fail tunataka PK kama gavana

[SIZE=6]FAIL[/SIZE]

hoping Sumra will not find a better use for them…
are they jua kali made?

I am not sure whether they are jua Kali made or imported.

Sonko cannot disappoint me because I have no expectations of him.

Can you imagine how many youth would be employed just fabricating them? And how much skills transfers would happen to the vijana wa mkono youth at the fabrication sites who would move on to fabricate wheelbarrows and such other stuff?

You have a good point and great idea Sir. @gashwin for Deputy Governor to replace Igathe

Eeh, boss!

The reasoning of this man is just epic… People weren’t able to make use of bins which were everywhere and less than 100m apart now he thought this would work because they are bigger?? Smh!

Fail.

And while we are at it, the official name is County Government of Nairobi City.

Knee jerk reaction

Sonko should hire John Gakuo amfanyie hizi kazi. He was effective than a whole governor by far.

what will work?

He also said the collection will be further devolved to MCAs and MPS. Another opportunity for failure or success on on micro level.
As @Phylgee has stated Nairobians are partly to blame.

the issue of nairobians can be fixed by a proper communications campaign as it is a culture change thing. If you recall juzi tu tulikuwa tunalia the ban of plastic bags, we didn’t take long to adapt…

Nairobi will become the world garbage / crime / congestion capital within the next four years. Actually we should now be dealing with how to reverse the mess it will become so guys don’t waste time planning

It wouldn’t work… You think people don’t know it’s wrong to throw garbage aimlessly?? I think it would be better to deploy cleaners daily… It’s the only way. It’s done in westlands it can work anywhere else. Depending on people to be responsible is just a waste of time

Hii kitu iliwekwa in some major dumpsite in Rongai and people never used it. Ilibidi waitoe dec

Introduce fines to tbose throwing outside the designated areas, and make sure the garbage is collected daily