GPU prices (lord help us!)

I wanted to build a gaming/vidEditing PC so I went and checked the components prices on amazon and was left astonished.

Prices have doubled even tripled in some cases. Below are some screenshots I took.

Gtx 1060. Starting price should be about 250USD. now it is being sold for over 600USD.
[ATTACH=full]152087[/ATTACH]

Gtx 1070. starting price should be about 380USD. It is now being sold for over 800USD.
[ATTACH=full]152107[/ATTACH]

Gtx 1080. Starting price should be about 500USD. It is now being sold for over 900USD
[ATTACH=full]152098[/ATTACH]

Gtx 1080Ti. Starting price should be about 700USD. It is now being sold for over 1300USD.
[ATTACH=full]152104[/ATTACH]

Just… Shiet! At first I thought the prices were in Australian dollars , had to make sure I was on Amazon US:D.

After futher research on google, I now know why the prices have hiked.

Apparently its due to crypo currency miners buying several GPU’s and other PC components in bulk in anticipation of new crypto currency bulshit!.

Kama we we ni miner, ferk you kabisa!

Yeah ,used for setting up mining rigs.

Crypto miners wameharibu market kabisa, Ngojea mid year ndio ujenge

RAM prices have also doubled juu ya phone manufactures

Mwanaume ni ploti sio gpu

looks like bitcoin may crash soo i think zitarudi chini somewhere in future

$3,400

[MEDIA=twitter]950879097776820224[/MEDIA]
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DTMb05vUMAAMpzA.jpg

Meff… Kama haujui importance ya high end PC nyamaza

Nunua last gen second hand bro. Current gen achia wale wanaishi California.

next gen GPU’s might be introduced soon so this is a bad idea

Mimi naanza kununua parts polepole. Gpu nitanunua ya mwisho. 1080ti ikifika 600 nitachukua.
Wacha nikaze rasa

hapo either crypo bubble to burst or Nvidia releases new Gen GPU

Yeah, it’s not bursting any time soon sadly.
But new generation zinakuja any time from March.
Before they are bought in bulk, there’ll be like a month or two to speculate whether they are any good at mining.
So just save money before then, and buy as soon as they arrive. You might not like the green NVIDIA blower style cards, but by the time partners like MSI, EVGA or ASUS start shipping it might be too late.

I’m also building a gaming/productivity PC (Hopefully start a twitch and/or YT channel).
Here’s the barebones link → https://pcpartpicker.com/list/7nksHN
Here’s the complete build → https://pcpartpicker.com/list/mmpkvV
The RAM prices and GPU prices (if you can find one) do not help. I’m shipping parts on a monthly basis using Kentex and no issues thus far.
Ask me anything!

Ram no 40k…fuck! Iko sida for real

Yeah, it’s no joke man, things are facked up. The Chinese government is looking into price fixing for this, though I don’t see much coming from it.
Best bet is to wait for Samsun, Micron etc to start producing more DRAM to meet deamnd
Funny enough, when I was starting, one RAM stick was $159. Kentex facked up and took a week to buy. The following week RAM is now as it is.
And the worst part, local shops have started gouging the prices too. And they bough at MSRP (I’m pretty sure).