HANDLING STOLEN PROPERTY

conoiseur

Village Elder
Two years ago, one of my workmates once bought a flashy phone whose owner was deceased. Apparently, the phone in question was part of evidence that was needed in a court case. All was well until he received that call from CID asking him surrender himself in.

What happens is, they(CID) get a stolen phone... Then sell it.. Itapitia wateja kama tano hivi.. Then wana anza msako.. You are all arrested.. And you part with ksh. 50,000 each..

The phone is confiscated and resold again.. And the cycle continues...

I know cops who've built houses using these schemes..

kooob

Village Elder
What happens is, they(CID) get a stolen phone... Then sell it.. Itapitia wateja kama tano hivi.. Then wana anza msako.. You are all arrested.. And you part with ksh. 50,000 each..

whaat? enyewe wacha 2nd hand zikae

conoiseur

Village Elder

To what end? Then it means they are just out to victimize unsuspecting buyers. Hii Kenya ni ngori

Unfortunately the same plot happens with stolen vehicles. My pal had spotted an extremely clean toyota 103 at a yard on kangundo road. The yard is owned by some lady and the vehicle had been parked strategically on the front row. This guy, finally decided to talk to the yard owner. The deal was soo good that he just paid and picked it. Everything was perfect with the car. He drove it all the way from Nairobi to Isiolo only to be stopped by flying squad guys as he entered Isiolo. They said that the car was stolen. Apparently a tape lift showed tampered chassis numbers. In short he parted with around 100k courtesy of a few connections. Luckily he got his cash back but the cops still ate a little from his refund. Sad state of affairs

L

Luther12

Now you guys don't know that Kawangware is the Hotspot for stolen second hand handsets sale.....?? It's like all stole phones end up there... My dad lost a phone and it ended up there.... He also went with some cops.... Another friend of mine bought one and ended up being arrested too akapart with 30k... I can give you along list...

Can someone explain to me why one would buy a second hand phone when brand new ones are affordable???
One answer: greed.

L

Luther12

Unfortunately the same plot happens with stolen vehicles. My pal had spotted an extremely clean toyota 103 at a yard on kangundo road. The yard is owned by some lady and the vehicle had been parked strategically on the front row. This guy, finally decided to talk to the yard owner. The deal was soo good that he just paid and picked it. Everything was perfect with the car. He drove it all the way from Nairobi to Isiolo only to be stopped by flying squad guys as he entered Isiolo. They said that the car was stolen. Apparently a tape lift showed tampered chassis numbers. In short he parted with around 100k courtesy of a few connections. Luckily he got his cash back but the cops still ate a little from his refund. Sad state of affairs
:eek: Ouch! :mad: