Harvard University Has More Money Than GDP of All Sub-Saharan Countries Combined....

[SIZE=7]Harvard University will divest itself from fossil fuels[/SIZE]

The university in the United States with the largest endowment market value in 2020 was Harvard University, with an endowment fund value of about 40.58 billion U.S. dollars.

KEY POINTS
[li]Harvard University will divest itself from holdings in fossil fuels, President Lawrence Bacow said Thursday.[/li][li]Harvard Management Company, which oversees the university’s nearly $42 billion endowments, has already been reducing its exposure to fossil fuels and has no direct investments in companies that explore for or develop further reserves of fossil fuels, Bacow said in a message posted on the university’s website.[/li][li]The decision follows years of protests from students who have pressed Harvard to divest from fossil fuel companies.[/li][/ul]
https://image.cnbcfm.com/api/v1/image/106604493-1594057373282harvarduniversitysdunsterhouseincambridgema.jpg?v=1594057738&w=929&h=523
Harvard University’s Dunster House in Cambridge, MA Blake Nissen for The Boston Globe via Getty Images

Harvard University will divest itself from holdings in fossil fuels, President Lawrence Bacow said Thursday.

Harvard Management Company, which oversees the university’s nearly $42 billion endowments, has already been reducing its exposure to fossil fuels and has no direct investments in companies that explore for or develop further reserves of fossil fuels, Bacow said in a message posted on the university’s website.

The university has legacy investments in a number of private equity funds with holdings in the fossil fuel industry. Those indirect investments constitute less than 2% of the endowment, according to Bacow.
The school has not made any new commitments to these limited partnerships since 2019 and has no intention to do so going forward, he added.
Bacow said the legacy investments are in “runoff mode” and will end as these partnerships are liquidated. Harvard has already committed to achieving net-zero greenhouse gas emissions across the entire investment portfolio by 2050, he said.
“Given the need to decarbonize the economy and our responsibility as fiduciaries to make long-term investment decisions that support our teaching and research mission, we do not believe such investments are prudent,” he wrote.
The decision follows years of protests from students who have pressed Harvard to divest from fossil fuel companies.

Harvard is building a portfolio of investments in funds that support the transition to a green economy, Bacow wrote. He said the university has made investments along with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in The Engine, a fund that, among other things, “seeks to accelerate the development of technologies that promise to address the challenges posed by climate change.”
The university will also work to achieve “greater transparency in the greenhouse gas footprint of all of our investment managers, along with the development of protocols for assessing and reducing the footprint for entire investment portfolios.” he wrote.
“We must continue to work with our investment managers and with industry if we are to bring about the transformation of our economy that climate change demands,” he added.

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/09/10/harvard-university-will-divest-itself-from-fossil-fuels.html

Other Rich Universities:

Harvard University, MA $40.58B

The University of Texas System, TX $31.96B

Yale University, CT $31.2B

Stanford University, CA $28.95B

more:

https://www.statista.com/statistics/221147/the-20-richest-colleges-in-the-us/

But Kenya’s GDP is $106 billion so what are you going on about ‘Sub-Saharan countries combined’?

Kenya’s annual budget is a cool $30 billion.

Ukisha Nyonya mboro ya mzungu unakua akili pungwani I swear my brother. For example Ona vile patco hupenda kuwasifu. Infact patco can sell his mother to get a chance to work as a latrine cleaner in donald trumps residence

Bonobo logic is hard to decipher :D:D:D

Basement level IQ. Yaani basic counting inakushinda.

Honestly I don’t see anything surprising about it, it should be sponsored as much as possible because it brings together people of high intelligence who become scientists, politicians, talented businessmen, etc. in the future. Of course this is all and creating some projects within this institution requires a lot of money, I don’t know, we may not understand this inequality, on the other hand it is already established and it should not be judged just because it does not meet your expectations. It is actually quite a complicated issue that can be looked at and studied from different perspectives. It is good that there are, after all, educational institutions that are able to provide knowledge and open up new perspectives.

Such comparisons seem strange to say the least. Let’s start comparing the quality of cheap and expensive things, vegetables and fast food, high fashion and clothes from ordinary shops. These are different things that should not be conflated or anything like that, one part will always lose out and that’s obvious.
Of course this is a world famous university with a huge number of rich people studying at it. Obviously, it has the money and sufficient financial resources to realise lofty and challenging goals.
It’s a shame that this is how money is distributed in our world, but is this something that can somehow be logically explained and some kind of logical chain constructed? I don’t think so, so don’t waste your time either, the truth here is different for everyone.