Have I been conned?

I just received a call from a woman who inadvertently mpesad me some Kshs 400. Listened to her, told her I would check and send back the money if what she claims is true. I checked and confirmed that that I indeed received the 400 from her. I immediately refunded the money. About an hour later, I checked my balance and the maths did not just make sense…
Given that I refunded the lady her 400, I expected my account to revert to my original balance. Instead, I have I am short of my original balance by 400. …It is as if I sent her 800!
How did this happen. Is it possible she already called safaricom for a reversal and then also asked me to send her money back? (I have so far not received a notification regarding any reversal from safcom). Could this be a con?
I could probably call safcom but I am not in the mood of being put on hold forever given that I am currently out of the country…
Anyone experienced anything like this?

I don’t know how they do it but it happens. To be safe, anytime you receive such a call tell the caller to deal with Safaricom. Never resend.

The amount is being held by Safcom after the lady requested for reversal but will only revert back to her after they (Saf) contact you.So when they do call just say you sent back the account and your money shall be reimbursed

Wow so the cons have gratuated from sending fake mpesa messages to sending real cash. I think Safaricom needs to take reserval of mpesa cash more seriously. They should put the money on hold then consult both parties.

400?

MMNN:
Safaricom has introduced a service where you can reverse money sent to another person in error. Simply send the wrong M-PESA transaction… Simply send the wrong M-PESA transaction message to 456

Shiny eyes tendency!

Thanks for updating kijiji

Nakupromote kabisaaa, siunaelewa

400 na hii jua yote

Businesses are there to make money and not baby sit. Do you know how much this will cost the business in the long run when they could use those employees in bettering their products and making more money in other avenues?

FEMINAZI NAOMBA NIKUNYONYE KUMA

hapo inakaa umechapwa maji bruh. ukirudi go to any notice board in town and buy a lost and found ID for 200 bob. register simcard na io, then open a social media account with the same details. ukipata likes kadhaa download the branch app or any other online money lending app. wakope 2000 and ditch the simcard and the account. that should be enough profit for your trouble

Looks like alot of trouble for ksh. 2000… Why not grow your balance to like 50,000. Then ditch the line…

You make us believe that your brain is somehow programmed like a bar computerized bill board, where same prices keep on repeating. yako ni COOMER

Let me get this straight, you get a reply for the transaction from safaricom, then you send the whole text to 456? How good is this information?

Kumbe ile kc tylukunywa ilikuwa pesa yako pole but thanks anyway

it may take long. and that’s not good for business.