Have you ever heard of the Angulia?

A little-known community that I would refer to as a sub-tribe of the Akamba known as the Angulia are found mainly in Kikumbulyu in Kibwezi District of Makueni County. Kibwezi is a cosmopolitan area that is half-way between Nairobi and Mombasa. Due to its rich soils, people from different parts of Kenya settled there to farm using irrigation.
Though the Angulia are now regarded as part the Akamba, they retain distinct dialects and physical characteristics that set them apart from their neighbours. While it is possible to identify a Ngulia from their pronunciation of Kamba words, many are loath to be called by that name. The reason for this is that the name Ngulia is taken to be derogatory implying low intelligence and backwardness.
They can however be regarded as being advanced in traditional sciences and the art of hunting. One of the darker aspects of the Angulia way of life is expertise in magic. Apart from the better known black magic referred to as wooi by the Akamba, the Angulia are adept in a trance inducing variety known as ngeevu. This type is reputedly used to tame wild animals making them easy hunting prey. The use of magic in hunting is incremental to the Ngulia reputation for tracking. They are said to have a good understanding of animal habits and an acute sense of sight and smell.

Though there are multiple accounts of their origin, two hunter-gatherer groups may be credited with this. The first group of hunters and gatherers is known as the Aliangulu/Aliangulia that dwelt in the Kikumbulyu area of Kibwezi. An alternative name was Akikumbulyu which roughly translates to people of the wilderness (bushmen).
Little is known about this community except that they were sparsely clothed, had straight hair that reached down to their shoulders, and subsisted on berries (known as nduva in Kamba), honey and game meat. Mention of a community similar to this one is made by Ng’ang’a (2006) referring to a race of wild-looking hunters and gatherers in the region around Mt Kenya. The Angulia may therefore be a variation of the Agumba. The Angulia were very shy and avoided contact with incoming European (sisal farmers) and African settlers. When game retreated from human habitation it is likely that the Angulia moved on probably to follow their main food source to a place unknown till now.
The second possible origin of the Angulia is a migratory hunter and gatherer community whose origins may be in the southern slopes of the Kilimanjaro. They moved to new hunting grounds that straddled south-western Kenya in what is now known as Ngulia Hills in the Tsavo West National Park. This was until 1937 when they were moved by the colonial government after their hunting lands were converted into Crown Lands – the precursor to the national park status of the area.
As a minority, they still exist on the periphery of the modern economy whereby many are still very poor. Most Angulia of Kikumbulyu serve as manual labourers in sisal plantations in Kibwezi The poverty cycle is perpetuated by the low education standards among the Angulia. Many children lack motivation to proceed beyond primary school, and end up eking the same subsistence life as their parents.

As with other indigenous communities in Kenya, there are a number of characteristics of the Angulia that are unknown and unpublished. Very careful and focused research is required to reveal more about the ancient Ngulia language, culture and history.

[ATTACH=full]185799[/ATTACH]
cc: @Chloe @kingolonde @culture

nilikua nimesahau mwisi wa highway @vuja de
he is an original Ngulia.
Wasiata mwa?

Nilidhani utataja momos, lakini naona nime-Angulia patupu…

Kuna kijiji inaitwa ‘ungulia/ungulya’ pale karibu ya shamba ya kenyatta huko taveta. Kweli ata their hair is different ata their speech and way of life. Kwa kila nyumba tano hautakosa mchawi, mganga, mtu wa kuchukua misukule/chumaulete, hadi wale wenye usiku ikifika eti wanageuka fisi. Sijui kwa nini mteso hapendi kuitwa mteso but the same way ata mngulia is offended ukimuita mngulia

are there ladies sweet like the kambas though?

Umeelezewa hapo juu meaning ya ngulia ni dimwit

Naulisa aje Meria Magadalene, hii ndio tribe ya Mwende Mutheu

Could be coz nywele yake nikaa ya mhindi mzungu. Inafika just below the boobs. Futhi ni za nywele ya kimira

You mean ako na hairy boobs, scary

Are questions allowed?

Shoot

asi,ici ti stoi cia maimo musub county?

Avandochi, this is not a story of giant

Yes,I didn’t know waliangula are affiliated to the kamba but more to the mijikenda notably the wagiriama in north coast. If you read some good history books, you will know the bantus are newcomers to kenya and generally sub Saharan Africa and have been displacing these hunter gatherer tribes as recently as the fifties. The kiambu area and nairobi karura forest belonged to the ngumba as recently as the 40s

Na ndorobo hawa wako Mau walitoka wapi

Ni ambulia patupu, si angulia patupu:meffi:…:rolleyes:…:saitan:

With the picture kalembe ndile comes to mind.

This is quite an impressive review. I am actually Ngulya, perhaps one of the few proud Ngulyas. I have taken upon myself to research further and document the untold stories of my people; the Ngulya people. Very soon I am re-establishing the Ngulya kingdom in the heart of Tsavo National park to help repatriate the scattered knowledge about my people. We are the true Bushmen of the great Tsavo,we are the kings of African magic (Not Witchcraft), Yes,we are the Ngulya and I am the self-proclaimed king of the Ngulya kingdom.

Kwata vinya king of kikumbulyu

did you finalize this research my brother?